Steemjetpoetry: My Second Angel — a poem

in #steemjet6 years ago



Do you want to come in?
Take a deep breath.
The repo man is gone.
All I had to do was show him
My favorite gun
And tell him about
My conviction
That a shame-faced galaxy
Mutters a homily of return.
The repo man will return
With back-up
So I promoted the orphan
To vagabond.
Why do you think they call it
The chain of command?
Writing out of fear—
That razzle-dazzle
Of shackles and manacles
Makes angels cry,
And, admit it,
That’s what you wanted.
My first angel came
In a haze of Alice blue
That emanated
From a dulcimer she cradled
But did not play.
She did a little angel jig
And turned away.
I guess all angels are sad-eyed,
Like you.
Do you want to come in?
Take a deep breath.
Everything is about to happen.

About This Poem

“The poem appears to have two memories and one hesitation. One memory is of the first time I saw a girl and instantly fell in love with her. I am still in love with her. Another memory is having been sent, as a child, to meet the repo man at the door and give him the car keys. This happened more than once. The hesitation has to do with taking on more life near the end of one’s life, knowing what one knows by now.”


(image by dcfranz)



Sort:  

why didn't you put @wafrica in the tag? You are a wonderful writer my friend.

Hash-tag

Thank you my friend maybe next time I'll use the tag.

sure.. Are you in @poetsunited group?
Join here, This is the best platforms for genuine poets like us. I wish to see you on the top :-)

Yes I am but retired

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by udezee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80