My first time having Alligator: An Alligator Sauce Piquant over RIce

34609563_793274087533962_511161989385420800_n.jpg

My Father In Law came to visit this weekend! He is in town to help care for the new goat kids we had earlier this week and he brought us a gift!

Alligator Meat!!

I have been wanting to try Alligator for years, but never had the chance to. I had heard that it was a really good meat, but if you dont cook it correctly, it may get tough. I didnt have any Alligator recipes on hand, so after searching the internet, I settled on a recipe that I could tweak (like I do with everything I cook haha!) yet hold true to the classic flavors I felt should go great with Alligator. I decided to try my hand at Sauce Piquante.

Sauce Piquante is a classic New Orleans Style of cooking that goes well with just about any protein you add to it., including seafood. Its a rich, spicy tomato based sauce that uses a classic roux for thickening. Here is the List of ingredients I used:

  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 Medium onion - diced
  • 1 Large Bell Pepper - diced
  • 3-4 stalks of Celery - diced
  • 1 tlbs chopped garlic
  • 2 tlbs tomato paste
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (do not drain)
  • 1-2 bay leaves
  • 1 tlbs hot sauce ( I use Louisiana Style Hot Sauce)
  • 1 tlbs dried oregano
  • 2 Cups Chicken Stock
  • 1-2 Cups of Beer (Lite Beers are best, as to not over power the sauce)
  • Salt, Cayenne (For more or less heat) , and Black Pepper to taste
    About 6 Cups of Cooked Rice

34928738_793274277533943_7178806211972694016_n.jpg

To begin, we make the roux. Melt your butter in a dutch oven over medium heat, and when the butter melts completley and starts to bubble, sprinkle in your flour. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until it starts to turn a rich, dark brown. Your roux can burn VERY EASILY so do not turn your eyes away from it! Once it starts to smell nutty, you know youre close!

34599713_793274077533963_6964206727919042560_n.jpg

Next, add the onion, pepper, celery, garlic, and a pinch of salt. The salt will start to pull out moisture and the roux will start to take on a gravy like texture. Cook on meduim high for 3-4 minutes, until the onions turn transparent.

34841721_793274157533955_4077732501617901568_n.jpg

After your aromatics are nice and happy, reduce heat to medium, add the tomato paste, oregano, bay leaves and hot sauce, and mix well. Cook for 2-3 minutes to help caramelize the sugars in the tomato sauce.

34790652_793274057533965_9068166543140978688_n.jpg

Add the can of tomatoes, stirring well, then the stock, and then the beer. Stir well and bring to a boil. At this point, I will add my salt, pepper, and cayenne. I will add a little at a time and taste as I go until I feel its right. Cook on medium low, 30-45 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are tender.

34729747_793274320867272_8353563042549596160_n.jpg

Lastly, cut the alligator into 1 inch pieces and add to the mix. Stir well and cook for another 60-75 minutes on medium low heat, stirring occasionally.

34703349_793274310867273_6612127509678915584_n.jpg

Serve hot over rice and enjoy! This was a truly tasty and fun dish to make. The alligator was moist, with the texture similar to chicken, but with a slight fishy/river taste. The sauce was the perfect combination of savory and spicy. The beer was the perfect touch of flavor that I feel made it very unique. You can use Sauce Piquant with any meat you choose. If using chicken, pork, or beef, brown the meat first. If using seafood or freshwater fish, add last like we did with the Alligator.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe today! Thank you so much for stopping by my corner of the internet and reading my story. Steem on Steemians!

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

We have crocodile farms here that offer crocodile meat never tried it before. The recipe looks like gumbo maybe I could do it with a different type of meat. Your post was quite interesting I enjoyed it. Cheers!

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading! I hope you give it a try, it was a really tasty dinner and I agree, other meat would be great in this too!

Taste like chicken? Been to a few places serving crocodile tail and have never given it go. That looks real tasty and think next time I will pass on the ostrich and give it a try.

Oh man Ostrich!?!? I would LOVE to try that! Defiantly give it a try, I was pleasantly surprised!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArmadilloCreek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I was so skeptical at first reading this but that looks completely tasty and now I want to try that sauce!

It was really good! I hope you give alligator a try, it was much tastier than I expected!

That looks tasty. I might have to try that Rue sauce out. I have always been keen to try different foods but I have never had the opportunity to try alligator.

It was so tasty! I would give it a try if you ever come across it.

oh my gosh.. and the only meat i had is goat , beef , chicken and fish.. felt like i missed a lot of meat.

If you ever get the chance to try it, I would recommend it! I have only had goat once before, but I would love to cook more with it!

Goat or Mutton is really delicious! but the smell is stronger than beef so it required more marination. I love mutton curry and mutton soup. 😍

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post has been featured in my The Kitchen Table Edition 14: Recipes, Cooking & Food Curation Day post! All proceeds and earnings are divided among the three featured authors!

Its always an honor to be recognized by you, thank you so much for your support!

Alligator is delicious! That simple rue is always good for things like this. Noodles are good with this too. The alligator jerky is great also, try it if you get the chance.

Yum! Alligator Jerky sounds awesome!

interesting! still have yet to try gator, but will definitely not let the chance go by if it ever pops up

I highly recommend it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75