Steem Kitchen Contest # 2 | Cheap and Cheerful- Butternut Ancho Chili!

DSC_0047 (1) (2).jpg

Who loves Chili?


The Birds certainly do! It’s an all-time family favorite in my home! I really have to laugh when I think about the evolution of this dish over my lifetime. Growing up in a large family chili always included lots of spice, lots of ground beef and lots of pasta!


The first time I made chili for my husband he asked me why we were having spaghetti. Needless to say, pasta left the chili bowl pretty fast! We fast forward to today, and both the pasta and the ground beef are missing!


Now our chili has evolved into a savory soup filled with lots of butternut squash, black beans, tomatoes, onions and spice! (I have to be careful about the spice! I love it but Mr. Bird…not so much.) I think you’ll love it, and it cost just under 5.5 Steem!


todaysjourney.jpg

Cheap and Cheerful Butternut Ancho Chili!


Prep time: ½ hours
Cooking time: 1 hour
Serves: 4


I used

  • Butternut Squash (1/2 of 1)
  • Fresh Tomatoes (2 medium)
  • Fresh Onion (1 medium)
  • Black Beans (3 cups soaked)
  • Bay Leaf (1)
  • Cumin (1 tsp)
  • Small Sweet Peppers (5)
  • Fresh Garlic (4 cloves)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (1tbsp)
  • Ancho Chili Powder (1 tablespoon)
  • Chipotle Powder (1/2 teaspoon)
  • Fresh Avocado (1/2)
  • Vegan Sour Cream (garnish)

Prep

1.We start by washing, peeling and chopping the Butternut squash. (Don’t forget…discard the seeds. Or better yet, dry them and plant them in your garden!). Wash and chop the peppers as well as the onions.

DSC_0005 (1) (2).jpg

2.Sauté these veggies in your favorite saucepan or Dutch oven along with Olive Oil until the onions begin to look a bit translucent. Now add all of the spices except the bay leaf and continue to sauté for another minute or so. The fragrance will be wonderful!

DSC_0015 (1) (2).jpg

3.While the squash is sautéing, chop the tomatoes and mince the garlic. If you’re using canned black beans make sure you wash and drain them before using them. Note: (I like to buy dry black beans and soak them overnight. Then cook them and freeze them for future dishes.)

DSC_0011 (1) (2).jpg

4.Add the black beans, tomatoes, garlic and bay leaf to the squash mixture. Stir and cover. Let this simmer for about an hour. Taste periodically and add salt or additional Chili or Chipotle as desired.

DSC_0018 (1) (2).jpg

Top with a dollop of sour cream and sliced avocado.

DSC_0035 (1) (2).jpg

Such a savory, satisfying bowl of goodness! Enjoy!


DSC_0034 (1) (2).jpg


Even though we live in a warm climate, this soup is always welcome. It’s inexpensive to make, filling and easy to make. I do hope you’ll try it and let me know what you think! Thanks @steemkitchen for hosting this fun contest! Good luck to everyone! Looking forward to seeing amazing recipes from my fellow foodies.


DSC_0030 (1) (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

not a fan of black beans but I think this recipe could be made with navy beans just as effectively ... thank you @birdsinparadise.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Oh yes, I'm sure you could easily sub out the beans! Thank you for your kind words! I will have to get over to the Rambling Radio Show...now that family is gone I'll have a bit of time! :)

Colorful and healthy whats not to love about this dish

It is indeed colorful! All of those beautiful fall colors you capture in your great photos @tatoodjay! Thanks for your kind words today :)

Always a pleasure to visit your posts

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 303 (11/05/18)

Thanks so much! Appreciate being featured!

this looks amaaaazing! can't believe how your "chili" has even evolved since i last saw you ;) this looks delicious!! xoxoxo

I know this soup is right up your alley! I have to tell you it was indeed amazing! I see you're enjoying your shitakes and butternut squash today? love it, and you! ox

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!
you won the contest :D

Wow, what a huge surprise!!!!! Yikes! Thank you so much @snook, unbelievable! Made my day ;)

@crazybgadventure has a cooking show on Wednesdays in the Steemit Ramble that @Shadowspub owns........

He really does a great job on the show and the hour flew by this morning but you leave there hungry LOLL

at the end of the show, they said you were the winner of the contest and :D I screamed............ lucky I was on "push to talk" so no one heard it LOLLL

I love chilis!
That looks so healthyLicious! 😋
Congrats on winning the contest!

Voted & followed

Thank you again, you are so kind! Quite a surprise I must say :) If you try the recipe, let me know your thoughts!

The question should be who doesn't love chili? I sure do. Although funny enough when I was growing up I wouldn't tough it. We always laughed at how often my best friend's grandmother had it on the stove when I was coming over for dinner. She was always sweet enough to make me something else, but now I kick myself for not jumping on the bandwagon sooner! I can definitely get behind this one! I have a few butternuts from the farmers market waiting to be used for something like this. :)

hehehe, I can just picture you refusing to eat the chili! Love it, you were a budding vegan and didn't even know it! I think you would like the spice in this one! Love those butternuts, wow!

I was seriously such a picky eater as a child! Thank goodness I grew out of that!

This is my kind of chili! Chunks of butternut squash cooked in a flavorful tomato and bean base. This is so hearty and comforting on a cold day. Thanks for the tip about freezing the beans. I always cook way too much beans and I end up adding them to my soups. I hope you had a great time visiting your family.

Thank you @loveself. It was hearty but yet not overly-so. The family time was so special. Unbelievable to have a little one in the midst. Truly feel blessed, thank you for asking :) you're so kind!

Families are the best! I can't wait to see all the incredible things you will be whipping up for him.

Oh yum @birdsinparadise, this sure looks and sounds absolutely delicious, good luck with the contest :)

It was really tasty, I do like it better I think. Thank you my friend :)

I like the evolution of this meal :) Chili is a meal that I make when I'm too lazy to do something different. It's always delicious and super easy to make.

Thank you for sharing your recipe. I haven't tried it with squash yet. You have inspired me to give it a go :)

Glad you enjoyed it! I have been pleasantly happy with this one! Very substantial and the flavors mix beautifully :) Meat is not necessary! Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77