VEGAN SUSHI STEEMKITCHEN CONTEST #2

in #steemkitchen5 years ago

image

Kon'nichiwa steemians, cheap and cheerful is on the menu, and this is local just about anywhere. It is cheap because no meat, and cheerful because nothing had to die, unless you one of those veggie activists who think plants have feelings. It costed under 10 dollars and enough for three of us with plenty left over, midnight snacks 😁There is a bit of preparation but with everything minus waiting it takes about an hour to make.

OK so what you need aka ingredients

1 block tofu
5 SUSHI sheets
2 cups sushi rice
2 avocado
1 carrot
Half red pepper
Half cucumber
flax seed
SUSHI ginger
Japanese rice vinigar
Wasabi
Liquid smoke
Soy sause

OK food prep no. 1 is tofu, it is best to do this in the morning. grab a block of tofu.

image

Chop.

image

Place in container to marinate. Squirt some liquid smoke.

image

Then pour some soy sause.

image

Then leave it in the fridge for the day.

Then get some sushi rice, best to read instructions on the box, some vary. Then pour some sushi vinigar when rice is done, I use 50ml, I like the zing.

image

To make the fake smoked salmon grab your tofu out of the fridge, and fry in a pan.

image

Fry till golden brown and crispy.

image

Then prepare the veggies. Some interesting facts, avocado is actually a fruit and belive it or not, it is also a berry. Not all avocado's are vegan, it has to be organic due to bee exploitation for migratory pollonasation, try and say that after a couple drinks. I buy only organic, even the tofu is made from organic Soya beans, because normal Soya beans are GMO and are a cause of deforestation.

OK, enough of the serious tree hugger talk and back to the cooking, Slice everything like so.

image

Then to roll up the the sushi. First sushi sheet.

image

Dump 1 fifth of the rice.

image

Spread it evenly leaving a gap on one side.

image

Add tofu.

image

Then avo.

image

Cucumber.

image

Red pepper.

image

Carrot.

image

Then roll it like a joint, if you never rolled a joint before, you should try, great for stress relief, especially if you light it up at the end.

image

OK, so that is one type, then for the other one with seeds on it, I use flax seeds instead of sesame, it just has more antioxidant and fiber, and more omega.

I use wax paper over my sushi roller for this 1

image

Dump the rice.

image

SUSHI sheet.

image

Tofu.

image

Avo and cucumber.

image

Red pepper.

image

Roll it up.

image

Sprinkle some flaxseed on it and leave it in the fridge for an hour

image

Once out of the fridge you can cut it

image

image

Then grab a bowl, add some ginger and wasabi

image

Then add soy sause

image

Then it is just a matter of dunking sushi in the bowl and munching it.

Sort:  

I need to try this.
thank you ... love me some sushi :)

Awesome, thanks


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks guys, your awesome!

I love that you take the subject of vegetarianism with humor, hopefully many more people did it that way. I've never tried vegan sushi, I could hardly prepare it now (some ingredients here are complicated to get) but it's good to know that it's a possibility in the near future.

Cheers

Yuuummmm!

Not good checking food posts at this hour tho,making me hungry 😁

You need a snack while checking posts, probably why I am so chubby.

Hi there! :)

First of all, it looks brilliant and I'm certain it tastes just as!

Secondly, I am 1 of those maniacs who think plants have feelings, YET their fruits are literally made so as to be eaten, so they can reproduce - most plants rely on animals to carry out their seeds after eating them :)

I'm as crazy as to say everything has feelings, as we are all made of molecules which hold energy and have their own lifespan :)

Ah, I am sorry, if it makes you feel better, they died a humane death.

Hahaha it does :D
We should start making sacrificial rituals before we eat anything hahaha

Hi gguy773,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks you guys are awesome

Great post @gguy773, congrats with the @curie upvote, well deserved!

Thanks, that currie vote really took me by surprise, before work I only had 17 votes. Yeah I have family around Durban and my mother stays in Margate. I haven't been to South Africa in about 8 years, my mother always comes here to Scotland to visit. Your tin fish curry really brings back memories, my dad loves it.

Oh, how tasty it looks)
give me one little bit now)

maybe it will be useful to you https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@espoem/make-your-posts-look-great-in-steemit-and-busy

his vegan sushi seems really tasty, good job!

Some interesting facts, avocado is actually a fruit and believe it or not, it is also a berry

Avocado is a fruit and a berry? That's a new one for me. Okay, the thing is I have never tried to classify it, lol! Its just food and I eat it! But it kinda fits more with being a veggie, I mean, its green, right?

Oh, berry? No way I'm gonna believe that. Lol! How are these things classified anyway? Avocados have pits or are these people classifying it just as confused as I am? Lol!

This is such a great recipe and it looks so yummy and delicious. I loved how you found something to replace the traditional salmon with tofu to fit your preference. Definitely a great one.

I am one of those people that think veggies have feelings too, these days all I take is water...😀😀😂🤣 Just kidding there...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87