Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 02 Round 10 - Two Tone Blueberry/ Strawberry Banana Yogurt Popsicles

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

Popsicles, Ice Pops, Ice Lollies,Freezer Pops, call it what you like but it's a sure favourite on a hot summer's day.

I always tell everyone about the lovely mild winters we have here in Durban, South Africa. However, the day I decided to make Popsicles for @progressivechef's Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 Round 10 - Theme Popsicles the weather turned and it became one of the coldest days of the year!

I made two tone Blueberry/ Strawberry Banana Yogurt Popsicles using only three ingredients - Double Cream Strawberry Yogurt blended with a frozen Banana till smooth, half reserved for Strawberry Banana flavour; Blueberries added to the other half and blended till smooth.

IMG_20180810_103811.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Double Cream Strawberry Yogurt
  • Banana - sliced and frozen
  • Blueberries - frozen
  • Molds
  • Popsicle sticks

IMG_20180809_174057.jpg

IMG_20180809_174523.jpg

When my children were little, I had many popsicle molds, but gave them all away so improvised by using large ice trays. I also found a plastic dessert container to make a larger popsicle.

I poured layers of the two flavours into the make-shift molds, covered it with cling wrap and cut slits to hold the popsicle sticks upright. Actually worked like a charm; all thanks to Granny Google :)

IMG_20180809_180613.jpg

IMG_20180809_181045_1.jpg

Left overnight in the freezer, to wake up to another icy cold day in Durban - sorry I had to rub it in @progressivechef ;)

IMG_20180810_103857.jpg

But it was perfect for taking photos - had it been the top of summer, my popsicles would have melted at the speed of lightning during the photo shoot!

IMG_20180810_104247.jpg

I loved these healthy fruity Popsicles despite the cold weather - I'm really like a kid when it comes to treats like these :)

IMG_20180810_113046.jpg

A huge thank you to @progressivechef! You've reminded me of days long gone before my fledglings fled the nest!
I'm really enjoying the weekly challenges and appreciate the interaction with the awesome contestants as well!

A quick look-see at the making of Two Tone Blueberry/ Strawberry Banana Yogurt Popsicles;

IMG_20180809_174057-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

This is posted on steemkitchen.com - Featuring the greatest recipes and food blogs posted by members of SteemKitchen On the STEEM Blockchain
View on Steemkitchen
contact us on Discord

Sort:  

Blueberries and banana -the perfect combination of tastes! Yummylicious!

It is a great combo, thank you for stopping by @pusteblume :)

You are welcome!

Wow, great idea of using the ice cube trays Lizelle! Popsicle mold hacks 👌🏻 & another popsicle healthylicious recipe.
Bets of luck for the contest and would love to see your entry also for this week’s @steemkitchen weekly theme ( snacks )as there is no other qualifiers yet.

1EACFF93-625E-4F79-B360-5EC6E2B5A4A7.gif

Mmm... yum, they look so delicious! Mild winters... we're having a kind of wintery "summer" in Scotland just now, so hot soup might be more appropriate sadly!

LOL so you know how I felt, made soup the next day ;)

They look really good. The photos got a nice background, and you placed them in such an appealing way!

I think mainstream challenges tend to ignore the fact that not the whole world goes through the same seasons at the same time. It's cool you still went ahead with the popsicles :3

Thank you for your feedback @poetrybyjeremy; yep I put this challenge off as it's been exceptionally cold here but still enjoyed the popsicles :)

I love these, so refreshing, (I think even on a cold day? perhaps by the fire? lol) Although I have to tell you, I stepped outside to take a picture of my lolly-pops and they melted in no time....just had to gobble them up :) Great presentation @lizelle!

Thank you for your lovely comments @birdsinparadise, yours were gorgeous! I'll definitely be making these again but in summer! Those popsicles were so tempting even though it's been chillier than normal :):)

Friend, how are you? I wanted to see this when @progressivechef gave the subject and it was palettes I thought about you and I said I want to see what lizelle does and here are some delicious fruit palettes

I congratulate you friend for your talent in the kitchen

Thank you Jenni, it's always so nice reading your comments, you're a great chef yourself :)

That looks delicious lizelle! Thanks for sharing it!

Thank you for your lovely comments:)

yes, I think you have hit another home run here with me, my girls are going to have their work cut out for them in the morning if I have any say in what their Saturday is going to look like.
Best of luck with competition.

Thank you fir your nice comments mr Papper, I do hope the girls make some, one can really experiment nicely with different flavours, I'll be making a batch in summer again :)

Beautiful food photography!! Those look delicious 😋 I’m excited to try it when the weather improves!
I must say, this weather was uncalled for- it’s particularly frosty here in Johannesburg! ⛄️

Durban started off freezing but improved as the sun came out! Thanks for stopping by @wildwanderer :)

Amazing! Blueberries are some of the best things in the world!

Thank you so much @lindahas, really appreciate your lovely comments! I also love blueberries but they're quite pricey here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87