Kitchen Witch Thursdays - Slow Cooker Tortellini Soup

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

alt text

Another one found in the recipe box that I can't ever remember my grandmother making but it sounded amazing so I decided I had to try it for myself. Came out really nice, and I'm going to be enjoying this for the next few days for sure!

alt text

You'll need the following;

  • 32oz soup broth
  • 2x 10oz cans of condensed tomato soup
  • 2x 8z bricks of cream cheese
  • 20oz pre-cooked tortellini
  • 1 pound sausage

So for the soup broth you can use whatever, I just like chicken because it has good flavors. I wish we had some bone broth because that would have been great, but we used all of it so that wasn't an option for this recipe.

You'll want your tomato soup to be the condensed kind, because that's the kind of soup that you fill the can with water and add it to the soup to eat it stuff. The broth is a replacement with a little extra to go around becasue you'll need that extra liquid for the cream cheese.

Your tortellini could be cheese filled, but I like meat so I got meat filled. The cream cheese could be flavored, but I prefer plain to keep the flavor balance and let me add my own flavors to this. Same for the sausage - I could have used breakfast or Italian sausage, but plain pork sausage lets me use spices to make it my own.

I didn't show the spices that were used but it was basically garlic salt and some paprika added directly in and a mix of rosemary and thyme in a bag made of cheesecloth so it could steep without getting the loose herbs everywhere.

alt text

Cook your sausage until it's just done - if there's a bit of pink left don't worry, it'll cook more in the slow cooker.

Toss your sausage, the tomato soup and stock into the slow cooker and set it on high for ~3 hours to let the sausage cook and let the soup and stock heat up and integrate together.

Also add your spices at this step, if you're using any.

In the meantime leave your cream cheese out to reach room temp so it'll be easier for the next step.

alt text

Put your tortellini and cream cheese in the slow cooker as well. If you used a cheesecloth sack for herbs like I did remove it at this step as well, as it will have been cooking long enough to properly infuse.

Leave on high for another ~3 hours or until the cream cheese is totally melted and integrated in the soup.

alt text

Ta-da! A nice slowcooker tortellini soup! I'm actually really proud of how this came out since I wasn't sure what to expect having never made it before. It's thick, tasty and filling and I will enjoy this for days to come because the leftovers will keep well in the fridge :)

Banner was made by me in Photoshop. All other pictures here were taken by me specifically for this post. I have been a home cook for over a decade, and any questions or comments about this recipe are encouraged!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


This is posted on steemkitchen.com - Featuring the greatest recipes and food blogs posted by members of SteemKitchen On the STEEM Blockchain
View on Steemkitchen
contact us on Discord

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from cooggerup and all the users that have joined the trail with you that has available upvote power.


Thank you for supporting steemkitchen community that is part of the Coogger Ecosystem.

Contact us on Discord

Congratulations @sigilmancy! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our #steemitbloggers FB Page and Twitter feeds.

Delish! I am so gonna make this with cheese tortellini. I am not a big fan of saugsage so I will swap that out for ground turkey or chicken. This is great. I appreciate your sharing. Much Love #steemitbloggers

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you! I'd suggest turkey because it holds together a little more in my experience than chicken and keeps more of the original texture of sausage but either way I'm sure it'll be amazing :)

Awesomeness :) You are most welcome & Thank you for the tip, I will go with the turkey then <333

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

yummmm! looks and sounds amazing. i love that it was from your grandma and that you consider yourself a kitchen witch :) me too! <3

Thank you! Almost all the recipes I post here are actually from a set of about six boxes my grandmother gave me, some of which are hers and others which belonged to my great-grandmother. I usually shift and in some cases have to 'modernize' them a little, but for the most part they come out decently well.

Nice to meet a fellow kitchen witch! I started there because it was the easiest way to stay incognito in my early years and because I love cooking, and it's just stayed as part of my craft over time :)

I love that! Cooking the same recipes as our ancestors is very cool. :) yes it is a discreet way to start and builds from there... but the kitchen is where so much of the magic can happen! :D

Gosh, that looks creamylicious! Yum yum..

I eat soup every day, but I get the tin soup which is not that healthy for me but is easy to do and quick. One day I hope to have my own home to live in that has a kitchen, and then I can make my own soups

I've been there, I know it's hard. The thing is though it's really easy to make your own soups as long as you have a slow cooker or one of those cheap single burners if you don't have a stove. I make my own soup all the time in large batches that are easy to freeze in single servings if you have the right containers and then it's just a matter of tossing it in the microwave like you do a canned soup and eating. If you'd like to see me do more soups to show you how I can keep that in mind for the future :)

I've always wanted to make my own soups, but first I need a microwave, a freezer, a place to live and etc; but please, keep on doing the recipes so that one day if I win the lotto I'll have a choice of lovely soups to do. I can always dream and drool over your soup recipes

I will try my best then, and hope that you can have those things sooner than you think. I'd also try to shove some through the screen at you, but as I've found that doesn't really work ):

Wow it sounds so yummy!!! Welcome to steemitbloggers @sigilmancy! :)

#steemitbloggers

Thank you! It is quite good, so I'm glad with how it turned out. And thank you for the warm welcome as well :D

I don't eat nearly enough soup as I'd like... I love soup... it may be because I'm braaing (BBQ'ing) every day... but there are still 2 more meals in a day :P

Anyway... like I said, love my soup, and this one sounds yummy.
*high-5 *

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00