How I picked some of my crypto investments

in #steemleo5 years ago




@Source


Hi,

today I will make it short.

I want to tell you how I picked some of my crypto investments. I have positions in Steem and the tokens coming with it, BTC, BNB, EOS and some others.

The first thing is to split your investments into short, mid and long term ones. It can be also combined, depending on the strategy. I tend now to prefer the mid and long term investments due to the time involved. The return is comparable the same with the short one with much less effort overall. There might be a little more effort at the start for the setup and the checking but it shall be a self runner.

I'm one of the guys who like boring investment and by boring I mean investments where you don't have to do much stuff, not even to much checking. I like to receive on a regular basis the ROI without being active. I love the ultra passive and boring investments as they get me what I want and this is time for the things that matter to me.

Here are the things where I look at first on the long term investments:

  • number of users - if there are less than 50k user I don't touch it
  • can it be left alone for 6 months without needing to do soemthing
  • is there an overall appreciation foreseeable
  • are there passionate geeks involved - I love geeks as they move this crypto world
  • is there an engaged community
  • does it have now a market use or can it be used for things in the future
  • can I contact some of the developers and get feedback?

This are roughly some of the points I watch, behind metrics as running cost, total supply, system structure and some other technical stuff.

If I see that most apply to it I might give it a try. The last decision is based also on emotions, which I think is my weak spot.


How do you invest and how do you pick your cryptos?


discord.gif

Sort:  

Very interesting points of review.

I like the criteria for number of users and I have never really considered the idea of not needing to mess with it for 6 months or so.. that is an interesting point, which I will have to consider.

I like to see the longer pictures, like for example the stakes SP.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am hell noob in the trading of such top coins. I always lose money whenever I tried to trade BTC. I have some BNB, BTC, EOS, TRX, and ADA from the top 10 coins.

Well, only few make money trading, some think they do, but in the end lose it. I like to hold for a while and sell at a good time.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @alexvan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 8.519 which ranks you at #10 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @alexvan!

You just got a 5.68% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88