What's With Random Downvoting of Steem.leo Posts?

in #steemleo5 years ago

ThumbsDownEmoji.jpg

I received an alert that one of my posts had been downvoted so I went to check it out. It was the post I did yesterday on @steem.leo and you can find it here.

Digging For Steem in The Couch Cushions

I was really concerned about the downvote because for the life of me I couldn't figure out what I did to earn it. I wrote the content myself, the intent was to inform, I didn't use a bid-bot. Heck, I didn't even get a vote from @leo.voter for posting directly on the @steem.leo interface.

Then about 5 hours after my downvote, my post was curated and mentioned by @scaredycatguide who actually seeks out undervalued content to curate. On the their post mentioning me it says

"@minnowsupport project has tasked me with finding undervalued content in the money/crypto tags to curate from the MSP-Curation account"

And by the way, at the time of the downvote, my post had only earned $.24 so it was because of the earnings that it happened. Since then, I was rewarded by @scaredycatguide for being selected by them. I hadn't even heard of them before today so I'm excited to check that out.

So before my stroke of @scaredycatguide luck happened, I went to check out the clown who downvoted me and it was an account who doesn't even publish. I won't point out who it was because that isn't the point here. I left a comment and asked why. And although this person didn't respond, someone else did.

I won't mention that person either but it was a pretty good steemian who told me it was probably a bot and I wouldn't really find that answers I sought. So I ask you, the community, what gives?

This is the second time this has happened to me and last week I had a post downvoted into oblivion because I commented on a post that taught me a lot in that post. I thanked the author and praised the post. The flagger told me that he didn't like me portraying the author in a positive way that got me caught up in a flagging event. He said it had nothing to do with me, it was that he didn't like that author.

I ducked out of that situation and took my losses. I really felt like that wasn't fair. I liked a post and thanked the author for doing. I learned a ton from that post and I got whacked!

When I first heard about the upcoming fork I dreaded the news of downvoting. I felt like the community couldn't handle that responsibility. I understand the need for it but my thought is that the abuse of it would be a problem.

I really want to hear your thoughts in the comments. Is this happening to you and is it right? I see it as a bad thing.

I brought a youtube influencer to steem a few weeks ago. She has 49,000 subscribers . She tried her first post and accidentally published without her pic or video, just text. Rookie mistake. She got a few downvotes and she freaked out and bailed. I don't blame her. I know tons of influencers. Several with over 1million followers on instagram but I don't feel comfortable bringing them here. I'm trying to suffer all the bumps and bruises before I do. I still feel like I can't put my neck on the line just yet. Hopefully in another year or too I will feel comfortable recommending Steemit to influencers.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for posting from the https://steemleo.com interface 🦁

Hi @cflclosers!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.601 which ranks you at #6277 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 105 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Command accepted!



Hey @cflclosers, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01