What's Your Trading Style?

in #steemleo5 years ago

My first exposure to Finance was when I was 13. We spent 30 minutes each day in homerun reading anything we want. After exerting my religious rights by bringing the bible to class every day... I started in on biographies. Martha Washington, Julius Caesar, Warren Buffett... and that was as far as I got. I was hooked and pivoted to reading every popular finance book available at the local library.

I read a lot of personal finance, a lot of high finance, a lot of finance-related drama (Barbarian's at the Gate, Liar's Poker). While I loved all of it, I found myself in the Value camp, reading a lot of Buffett, Ben Graham, Howard Marks... and there I stayed for 20 years.

Now, I don't know if you're aware of this, but factors trend over time, and Value has underperformed in the last 20 years. In fact, the last 20 years have been the absolute worst time period for Value... ever. In all of recorded financial history.Which is only 500 years, and the first 350 have terrible data and record-keeping, but still...

Throughout that period, I was a terrible undisciplined investor and while I occasional had big wins, I inevitably gave it back. My personality is not a good fit for a long-term value-oriented approach. Maybe I will share some of those stories down the road.

A couple of years ago, I finally got around to reading one Jesse Livermore. Now, you may or may not realize that Jesse Livermore is about as opposite to value investing as you can imagine. He follows trends, pyramids his entries, lets profits run, and reverses direction whenever he closes a position. He's a speculator's speculator. It's all very erratic... anathema to a value investor... and extremely effective.

18 months ago, I put together a trend-following strategy that's a blend of Jesse Livermore and Turtles (which I may cover in a future post). I tracked every single paper trade for the past 18 months and it proved extremely effective in some very difficult market conditions. I even did a few actual trades with it, and those have been mostly okay too.

Maybe I will give more detail later, but I don't want to give away the secret sauce, now do I?

image.png
The average position size in this sample is $800, and the average holding period is 15 days. Trading every entry to attain the Total Profit shown would require notional buying power of $150,000, representing an annualized return of roughly 19% This is a long-short strategy and there is slippage in the paper-trades tracking (actual trade execution would likely be different than documented). This strategy has never been properly back-tested.

Honestly, I'm finding that entries are the least important aspect of any trading system, though I'm already getting better win-rates in the more recent portion of the sample by improving my entries.

The holy grail is in risk management and discipline, and that's where the strategy excels.

What's your trading style look like? Does it fit your personality?

(Everything included here is personal opinion. It is not financial advice. It is not legal advice. It is not even advice.)

Sort:  

Love the "fine print" here @josephsavage ...

"(Everything included here is personal opinion. It is not financial advice. It is not legal advice. It is not even advice.)"

[emphasis added mine]

... as it made me smile. It's been a long day, so I appreciated the opportunity to smile ... 😊

Seriously, it was interesting to read a brief bit of history about you and your investing experience. In response to your question, I want to be a long-term, value investor, but ... There seems to be so much going on in the world which undermines this conservative approach and all but forces us all to be much more speculative ... Far too much for this "old war horse," but ... What can we do?

Fundamentally, "the system" appears to me to be systematically destroying the value of our money, hence the commonly referenced phrase in the "cryptosphere" to "fiat money." And with our money's steadily advancing decline, seems we have to "run" faster and faster just to try and break even. Let alone get ahead a little ...

Will this new asset class somehow be the answer? Don't know. But, along with you and many others, I suppose we are all "on board" to find out!

Thanks, I'm glad I could make you laugh. I originally wrote that disclosure in a comment at one point and I really liked it so it stuck with me. I'll use it whenever I write anything that could be construed as advice.

There seems to be so much going on in the world which undermines this conservative approach and all but forces us all to be much more speculative

One of the things I like best about my trading style is it allows complete agnosticism. I'm trading with tight stops and don't have to hold strong opinions. Gold is breaking out? Great. Buy gold. Hold until it stops out. Move on. Now it's oil and Amazon and Pepsi? okay. Oops, pepsi stopped out, but Amazon is on a tear...

From there it's a numbers game. Each win nets many more profits than each loss and allows a decent overall return, although the returns are very lumpy.

What about the strategy helps you manage risk?

Posted using Partiko Android

Gradually revealing more about the strategy as time goes on...

Thanks being awesome NBC holder! Your 3.00 NBC earned you 2% team-cn upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Hi @josephsavage!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.452 which ranks you at #2136 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 2127).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71