Review: Mortgage Payoff Calculator - Yay or Nay?

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! How's midweek treating you?

emojijess-beatdamortgage.png

For those who have been following my blogs in Steemit, you would realise, during the BIG MOON if SBD and STEEM a year earlier I started to write about possibility of getting a place of my own after renting (and helping other people pay off rent) for more than a decade.

emojijess-ownhome.png

And if they have read through the whole last year's posts, would have known that I had quite a bit of a bumpy ride getting my own crib as well.

Feel free to read my full compilation of my own journey at My Steemit Challenge: When You Think You Paid Up Everything... And why Banks Will Never Make Bankrupt Business if you are thinking of mortgage home owning

And you would have known, once you signed up with a mortgage loan, you are most likely going to pay DOUBLE the price of your home.

And most of the time, a lot of you would treat it like a hire-purchase

(in the thought of maybe selling it off later for a better home)

But what if you really love the place and you want to keep it?

Or you relatively can't afford another one, especially with the big urban lifestyle and bad crypto market?

One of my good brother's best friend who's into insurance business has once advised me, along with many other people...

Pay off your home loan as fast as you can

But most of the time a lot of us would have thought that we save up and pay off a large chunk once a blue moon...

But there is actually a BETTER way for average (or low) wages to clear off that HUGE DEBT faster than you can think of

Besides, doing trading business / sales commissions....

And I even found a website that can relatively show you how fast you can pay off your loan

Mortgage Payoff Calculator from Calculator.net

It also has other types of really cool calculators you may find it of good use.

So for my case scenario, I had a 29 years mortgage (the younger you are the longer you can loan with the maximum of 35 years for Malaysia) of a 340,000 MYR loan and I have started paying off my first month; if you are using the calculator without mining the fiat currency dollar sign, I would have this:

I will only be paying off my interest at the approximately 17th year...

After I paid off to the bank 241,789.12 MYR...

emojijess-mortgagequelms.png

So far I have already paid approximately 14,500 MYR worth of interest to the bank, and that's a lot.

emojijess-1yearinterest.png

I can any time take 10% out for #steemfest ticket... haha...

BUT

There's a turn of a tide today (for the next 6 months) where the bank has lowered its interest by 28 MYR a month...

Wait a minute... it's only 28 MYR.... I can treat myself 2 cups of Starbucks a day....

Not that I take starbucks as a habit.

Yeah right...

But what if the next 6 months of MYR 28 I have decided to pay it to the principal loan?

(Which means you are paying not the interest, but to lower your mortgage)

The website says:

That's 113.5% profited with that tiny bit of sacrifice (from using it for personal leisure)

And if you play around with the calculator for your own leisure, like me, doing some approximate calculation and see if I keep paying 28 MYR every month religiously into my principle account on top of my loan... this is what the site gives the result:

Another cool thing from the website is that it shows the more you decide to pump into your principle on top of your loan, you can actually see the timeline shifts as it goes.

This is too complicated... what if I just want to calculate how many years more to pay if I pay off a little more to the principle monthly?

Fear not, the web page actually has a second section where you can just look at the estimation of your mortgage and how it effects the timeline.

It still shows you the comparison and tells you the difference you could save compared if you keep paying off the instructed amount.

My verdict?

Yay

  • Definitely could give a basic calculation and estimation for anyone who is under mortgage loan for budgeting and planning ahead.
  • *it's free.

中文翻解

击败抵押贷款!

哈咯大家好!

如果你们近一年有一直跟随着我的博客你们就会发现到我刚买到了自己的温软被窝;但是也同一时间那段路程当中也遇到不少挑战。

如果还未曾阅读过欢迎拜访我之前的英文版博客来得更了解我的路程。

已经过了一年的还债路程,也了解我白白送了英航一万多块马币。但是也是没办法;暂时性还不能吐出一大笔金钱把银行的债都给还了;更吐气的是还得白白还17年利息...

不过这并非如此。你们有买屋子的经验的人就知道越快还本金贷款, 利息也会越省下来。但是很多工薪人民就会以“没那么容易啦!”的错误想法吞下接受还债困苦的现实以接口;却没想到其实每个月只要能够还偿一点点,利息和还债的年数也可以大大减少。

以上的英文网站可以帮助抵押贷款偿还者算算如何能够大大降低累赘的利息,也可以更了解还债的时间线。

对我来说,就是因为正好利息有6个月的调整而有多余的债费可以每个月还入抵押贷款,我可以乘这个机会算一下如何可以更快完成还债。

挺不错的啦。有图形可以让你更了解,还有你可以一直调理到你满意的时线。

最重要的是,这个网站是免费的!你不用花钱在财务顾问身上了解这简单的预算。

(当然,如果你是不能自己预算的话,还是得专业人士帮助你比较好)

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

Sort:  

I hope you pay this mortgage off FAST.

Maybe in the next steem moon :)

I and also hoping for the moon @metzli!

Hoping for more economics for steem in the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello, @littlenewthings

I think the others must to know this app. Well done for very informative review.

Regards,

[RealityHubs Curator]

Thank you @anggreklesta 😊

Honestly a lot of us who are doing mortgage loans / hire purchase have often overlooked the consequences as not everyone are well educated for property management.

I do hope more people will have a conscious idea what they're up against and prep early the moment they start earning in or order to see their dream come true.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @littlenewthings!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.041 which ranks you at #3808 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 124 contributions, your post is ranked at #88.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @littlenewthings, it was nice reading your post. Thank you for your contribution.

Mortgages can be cumbersome to pay off for some people but I'm happy that you have made steps to start paying off yours and have actually paid off some in the real sense.

The mortgage payoff calculator is a useful tool for all indications which is really great. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

How to make your own unique review? Check Here

Do you have any questions? Chat with us on Discord

RealityHubs Moderator

Hi @gotgame I am glad the site I found has proven useful for readers. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Here's a !shop token for you

Posted using Partiko Android

I have used similar calculators for mortgages, but I did not feel that they were very effective. After five months of using them, I decided that the more positive results method would be much more effective. I started looking for a way out and found Mortgage Advisor Newcastle. I read the reviews and realized that this was the solution I could use right now. I did this, which helped me deal with my mortgage situation successfully. I am sure it will work great for other people as well.

  • 태그 작성 가이드라인 준수는 콘텐츠 관리와 글에 대한 접근성을 높이기 위해 반드시 필요한 절차입니다. ( It is an essential step to adhere tags guideline, manage content and make access better to your postings.)

  • 스팀코인판에서 활용 가능한 태그는 크게 [보상태그 / 언어태그/ 주제태그]로 구분할 수 있습니다. 보상태그와 언어태그는 필수입니다.(Tags that can be largely grouped into [Main Community / Language / Topic] in community. The language and topic tags are required.)

(예) 한국어로 작성한 자유 주제 포스팅((E.g) Posting for free topic in English)

20190812_141212.png

  • 태그 작성 가이드라인을 준수하는 것이 태그 사용을 규제하는 정책보다 스팀코인판의 가치를 높이는 길이라고 생각합니다.(We believe that adhering tags guideline is a way to increase the value of SteemCoinpan community than that of forcing tags limitations.)

KakaoTalk_20190607_112035846.png


你好鸭,littlenewthings!

@elizacheng给您叫了一份外卖!

@lovelemon 拧萌 迎着大雪 坐着火箭 给您送来
烤肉

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29