My First Steem Investment "Failure" was Not That Bad!

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

grizzly-210996_1920.jpg

Source

Excited to give SteemLEO a try!

Things move fast in normal life and when we add the complexity of being digital, its move exponentially faster. Steem has been a cornerstone of my investment strategy for over a year now and while it has not brought me the appreciation or income I want, the plan was never for it to do so in the short term. I have always looked at it as a long term play in capturing the value of the evolving technologies of blockchain and social media. In the meantime, there have been a number of opportunities created within the ecosystem to leverage our stakes to assist in broadening the reach of the community and content provided. My favorite, Splinterlands, has been an innovative way to engage the community while providing assets we can leverage to invest and earn while enjoying the journey.

One of the great benefits of the great Steem protocol is that it runs on a Delegated Proof of Stake (DPOS) which allows us to allocate our stakes as we deem to participate on a number of projects. One of the most common uses is to delegate our Steem Power for projects that are developing to add value to the ecosystem. In exchange, many offer returns based on performance, tokens or just the participation of a community. However, despite the delegation, the stake remains our own with no obligation to be tied up other than the five day lockup after deciding to eliminate the delegation.

One of the delegations that I made a couple of months ago was that of the game of chance called Magic Dice. It initially took the Steem community by storm as it was the first broad based dice game on the protocol. We had previously seen these on other protocols like EOS and Ethereum but with Steem, it brought a number of benefits like free and fast transactions. I never participated as I handle Steem like an investment and not gambling but it was impressive to see the traction it gained as it quickly reached to be the top transactional Dapp on the protocol for a short period of time.

The Magic Dice team quickly took advantage of the momentum and offered an interesting incentive system for those that would not only play the game but also those who would delegate. They started to issue tokens (not on a blockchain which should have been the first red flag) to those who played and delegated to the Dapp. They also took it a step farther and committed to providing a profit share type structure where holders of the MAGIC token would share in the performance of the Dapp based on their share of token. It soon became a race to who accumulated the most tokens to build a great stake for future distributions.

As I saw the model, I decided to delegate some Steem Power as a way to participate in the momentum they have achieved as I continue to see how this type of Dapp has become very popular among the popular blockchain platforms. In fact, I recall that in the first quarter of 2019, these type of Apps accounted for the highest percentage of transactions of the most popular blockchains like EOS, Ethereum, and Steem. In my head, there was very little to lose. Unfortunately for many, that was not true as one day, without notice, the team behind Magic Dice decided to pick up and leave; taking all of the liquid Steem and SBD held with them. This included liquid crypto that was held on the part of players at that point in time.

However, like I mentioned, delegated Steem Power is only of the stakeholder so I immediately withdrew my delegation and got it back in five days. Out of pure luck, I had withdrawn my share of the distributions from their site days before them leaving which provided 4.033 Steem and 0.32 SBD. Only because of that luck, am I able to say today that despite it being a scam and a poor investment decision. I still made a 3.84% annualized return in the 74 days I had 500 Steem Power delegated to it! This is still better that what I would have gotten in the bank or in “risk free” assets from the Treasury.

Treasury Rates.png

Source

This experience has served as a great experience for me and probably for many more in the community. However, it was also able to highlight for me the strength in potential of the DPOS protocol in that we control on stakes as long as we adequately secure our private keys with proper risk management. It is also a great way for projects to continue to attract resources to develop their ideas although it may become more challenging to prove their trust because of these experiences from those that are dishonest. We have never heard again from Magic Dice but it will surely have implications in the future of the ecosystem for time to come!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Greetings @newageinv

I did not know the situation with Magic Dice. Every day you learn something new in Steemit, even from other people's experiences.

That is the strength of building relationships and networking. Learning is improving!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lessons learned. If you want a good investment opportunity for your stake, delegate it to me and every day you will be rewarded onchain with a quality comment such as this one:

nice post!

LOL! Why haven’t I thought about that?!?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Magic dice was a shocker. You win and you learn, right?

Great to have you here and making some killer investment content. This is advice that every aspiring and seasoned investor alike should consume and internalize at some point. 🧡

Thanks! Love to have a great community to share with and get perspectives from! Awesome job on your part!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome to the club!

Unfortunately, it’s a large club!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.770 which ranks you at #456 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 457).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 151 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11