My Most Common Questions On Steemit

in #steemleo4 years ago

If you are anything like me your first experience on Steemit was pretty overwhelming.

I frequently had questions and couldn't really find a satisfying answer to a lot of them.
I'll explain my most common problems on Steem and how I solved them.

First, you need to make a Steemit account. If you are still on the fence I recommend making one anyway because the sign-up time can take a while to be processed. It took a week for me.

These are the most frequent questions I had when starting. If you could find an answer here please leave an upvote! It will be appreciated.

Why am I not allowed to comment or vote anymore?

This is an issue I had for a while and suddenly the problem magically went away. After a bit of Googling I solved it. Turned out that commenting, voting and posting cost Steempower. As a newbie, you are only allowed to post a certain amount of times before you run out of Steempower. When you run out you dont have to panic, the Steempower comes back gradually over days and you will be able to use Steem again. It takes around 4 days to fully fill up.
If you want to see your total Steempower, and how long you have to wait visit this website: https://steemd.com/@username. Instead of username put your own username in there (the name you have when visiting your profile or commenting). It will show your total amount of Steempower and how many upvotes, comments and posts you can still make. Pretty nifty if you ask me.

What is Steempower?

Steempower is used for voting, commenting and posting. Whenever you complete one of those actions your Steempower runs out. By waiting it fills back up. If you use Steem properly you will get more Steempower over time and you won't run out as often.

How do I get rewards?

Every action can net you rewards. If people upvote your comments you get a reward, if you upvote new content you can get rewards and by making content that gets upvotes you get rewards.

These are the most common questions I had when starting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75