How To Wrap a Dragon Eye Pebble - Steampunk Jewelry

in #steemmakers6 years ago

I would like to show you how to make an easy wrap, steampunk style. I use this technique for my dragon-eyes pebbles, and after wrapping, I incorporate them in jewelry, like pendants and bracelets.

This is how an eye will look like, after wrapping it. The wrapping is absolutely necessary, because it holds the eye in place. In wire wrapped jewelry the artist never relies on glue, only on wire.

1.jpg

The materials you need are: dragon eye pebble, crafts wire (I used copper wire 24 ga), metal gear (from crafts store or Amazon). As you can see, my pebble is not calibrated (not perfectly round), but that's ok, it will be covered in wire.

2.jpg

I usually work with the wire from the spool, as I never know how much I need, and the last thing I want is to have a short wire!!!

As you can see below, you must start wrapping the pebble by holding the end of the wire in the back of it and bringing the spool wire on top of the pebble, towards the opposite "tooth" of the gear.

TIP - Make sure you don't come straight across the eye, because you don't want to cover it in wires! Just go a little on the side, enough to cover the edge of the pebble.

Continue with the next "tooth" up, go over the pebble, down to the opposite "tooth", until you complete a full rotation. Make sure the eye is centered. When all teeth are covered, go ahead for the second rotation. Now the eye is fully wrapped.

3.jpg

Cut the spool wire. Now you have two wires in the back of the eye. Twist them and secure them. Make sure you have a flat back, as you will need to attach this wire wrapped eye to another surface in the future.

4.jpg

At this point the eye is fully wrapped, but it doesn't look too good. All you have to do is to gently push the wrap towards the sides to uncover that beautiful hand painted iris! Use your finger nail and be gentle.

5.jpg

I like to make a bunch of wire wrapped eyes in advance, so I have them handy when the inspiration strikes!

6.jpg

Here is an example of a piece of jewelry featuring a wire wrapped eye pebble.

end.jpg

I hope you liked my little tutorial. If you want to learn how to paint dragon eyes on dollar store glass pebbles, here is the tutorial --- How To Paint Dragon Eyes on Glass Pebbles

2divider.png

Follow me and my stories starjewel.gif

StarjewelsmQ.jpg

Sort:  

That green dragon eye looks stunning!

I love it too, I can’t believe it came out so pretty only by painting a glass marble with nail polish!

Hello, Lady @starjewel.
Beautifully executed. :)
100/100 professional.

Thanks, I like to make many eyes in advance, so I have them handy for bigger projects.

Congratulations @starjewel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm a craft lover, I love this, it looks super easy and different, I'll try it.

Try it, it’s easy, the secret is to keep the pebble centered. 😊

Congrats on being a shooting star @starjewel. I enjoyed your tutorial. U & R.

Congrats on being
A shooting star. I enjoyed
Your tutorial.

                 - redheadpei


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Than you, I appreciate your comment!

I'm a steempunk fan myself. I really want one of those.

It’s easy to make and inexpensive, make them!!!

Amazing! Thanks for sharing this. I have a daughter who would love to do this.

Oh, yeah, kids love these crafts! Not very young kids though 😊

Congratulations @stawjewel, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 90

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

That is a lot more simplistic than I thought. I guess that's what I get for overthinking things LOL. They came out fantastic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78