Steem Monsters by the numbers: $1.3M marketcap, 2000 players, 350k played games and more

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

So, I think I'm likely the person that scours this data more than just about anyone. I can think of 1-2 others that might be as maniacal about is as me... but regardless I watch it pretty closely. I have a few numbers that I personally care about more than any others as I'm evaluating the overall financial success of the project for people staking cards.

The first number I watch is the marketcap. We have 79 cards in the game that are available as alpha, beta, or promotional editions. If you total up the last card price that the card sold at, multiply by the number of those types of cards in existence, lastly sum them all together, and you get what we're calling the Monster Market Cap. You don't have to do any math. The bot that @danielsaori made for Steem Monsters does this for you. Simply go into the sm-voters_hut room and type $marketcap. Right now it's $1.3M. Two days ago was $1.24M. That's a 5% gain in 2 days. If this pace remains by this time next year we'll have a $10M marketcap.

To put our current position in perspective I like to visit coinmarketcap. As you can see if we were a standard coin we would be in position 845 right now.

This would put us in the top 40% of all coins that exist. We have a ways to go for sure, but that's not bad considering we've been here since May.

People are the Value

The number 1 thing in my eyes to watch is the number of people playing the game. @holger80 has a number of charts on beempy.com/steemmonsters that track useful information about the game.

As you can see we just crossed the 2000 player mark. That's a different number than the number of people with accounts. We have just under 3k accounts now who have purchased the starter pack, but only 2000 of them are playing, which means the other 1000 either don't take it seriously at all, or really only view this as an investment rather than a playable thing.

Matt had some ethereum game devs bragging to him about how many people were playing their game. They were near the most played game. They had 12 people. By grand theft auto standards Steem Monsters is still nothing. Not even a spec. By crypto it's the biggest game going by number of daily players as far as I know.

Actual value of muh cards

Lastly I like to track how much my personal holdings are worth

No, I haven't spent $70k buying cards, but I have seen my investment steadily going up. I see new players, a higher marketcap, passionate fans, tournaments haven't been put in place, we crossed 350k games played, and marketing efforts haven't kicked into gear yet and won't until tournaments are here. I think this game has a ton of potential and even just where we are at it's already showing a good time and great great returns. This is why I have $74k in the cards already and plan on buying more.

Card delegation will be a thing. I see investors renting cards to players who are going after tournament rewards and the investors will get steady passive rewards from doing it. It's gonna be a beautiful thing for HODLers.

Anyway, this isn't financial advice, do your own due diligence, it's for entertainment and information purposes only, I don't know you or your finanicial situation well enough to give the advice that you should SODL HOUSE AND HOLD MONSTERS, and even if I did give that advice you'd have to vet it through your own process and be responsible for your own decisions.

I'm happy with the returns I'm getting. I think they are some of the best in crypto. If I give any advice it's that this game, community, and opportunity are worth investigating.

Sort:  

Card delegation will be a thing. I see investors renting cards to players who are going after tournament rewards and the investors will get steady passive rewards from doing it. It's gonna be a beautiful thing for HODLers.

Waiting is so hard

Any Idea of how such a system should work? If I delegate my cards to somebody else how do we "create a smart contract" that defines how much profit I will get and how much the "Player" will get? Some Players will do better than others and so they want a higher profit share. All of this factors needs to be in consideration, if we want to have a transparent and effective market for card delegations. It seems pretty complex to me to achieve this, because there is also no other project on Steem that allows of any other kind of delegations except from Steem.
So this feature by itself is going to be a big thing, because maybe other projects also want to implement other forms of delegations!
I would love to hear more hard facts about such a system?
Anyways Steemmonsters is a great success already and it has so much more potential...come on SODL House for HODL Monsters is a great deal :-)

My guess is it will be like MinnowBooster's Lease Delegation Market.

It's not a true smart contract, but it's a trusted, market-based administrator.

So just like people are offering cards for sale on the SteemMonsters market, cards will be offered for lease on the SteemMonsters market. Probably on a per-day leasing basis.

Lessee puts the payment in escrow through SteemMonsters. Lessor grants leasing delegation authority to SteemMonsters. SteemMonsters administers the transactions with the agreed-upon timing.

That's how I would do it anyways. @aggroed and @yabapmatt might have something different in mind.

I would like to present other SM stats made by me - https://steemweb.pl/statistics/steem-monsters

Source: steemsql, only data verifiable by blockchain

Also there is big concern of mine @aggroed :

When making stats, I was scraping a data related to SM from blockchain sql by custom jsons and I didnt find any data which register cards to players. I could only find transaction related to gifts, sells, combines, battles also purchase are recorded only from 10.10.2018.

So basically my concern is this game is not a full dapp, and it is a big problem, it is centralised to @yabapmatt server.

yes, battles are on blockchain but it is not enough when it comes to cards and rareness.

Or I don't understand something?

we're working on getting the node for this game public. You're right for now, but that's not permanent.

image.png

Goddammit McAfee, stop claiming you're gonna eat things you'll never ever eat.

Ripple - not even once

Gif from Giphy

Card delegations is a great idea! Might have to go card hunting again today.

This is amazing and makes me very excited! I’m happy to be a part of the active 2k! I can’t believe the stat that it ranks in the top 1k as far as market cap. Absolutely incredible... and it’s so new! Onward 🦁

Congrats so far! I think the potential to bring this mainstream and take Steem along for the ride is great! I continue to be amazed about how this is changing the way we think about engaging and the potential is will bring forward!

Steem Monsters to the MOON! Yes! Steem Monsters is the best crypto game I have ever played! It is an amazing fun- action packed strategic game as it is right here on the STEEM blockchain. I adore the whole Steem Monsters community and am so happy and excited to be here with you all!
Serpentine Soldier (803px, 12fps).gif

I concur Chris... AND You certainly do an Excellent Job in creating unique, moving GIFs for the SM Cards AND You're a pretty Great Player... also !!

Cheers Chris !!

Not really much of a game player myself... but good to hear that these cards are doing well for you. :D

I'm basically just stopping by now to express my great appreciation for your recent strong support for @dreemsteem.

I've known her for many years, and I have tremendous confidence in her ability to do amazing things. Thank you for helping make that possible!

- @creatr

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you so much for STEEMMONSTERS



Now I feel greater knowing that my level 4 cards have managed me to get top 500. Keep the great work mates. This game has a bright future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75