Steem Monsters Bot Update ~ Last Season Wrapup

in #steemmonsters4 years ago


And with some delay my report on the last season. My main deck run on Aicu performed as usual and finished at 5288. Aicu-chan performed a lot worse.

Performance Explained

I experimented a lot with the MCTS algorithm this season and tried to add "more intelligence" by encoding game logic within the team selection. Didn't work as intended. So I had some hiccups in the performance and Aicu tumbled through the ranks. After reversing that, I let it run until season end and it reached a ranking of 5288.

The reason why my level one account aicu-chan performed so much worse, is because it got stuck in match searches. I think this was mainly caused by very little players in the lower ranks. I haven't caught this case, and I had to change the code for that. Which took some time, because I was busy at work. But now Aicu-chan runs stable again, and I hope it will reach silver league or higher again.

Future Work

Like I mentioned in the earlier posts, I think the basic Monte Carlo Tree Search (MCTS) has reached it's limits. So I either need to implement a proper neural network and use it to guide the MCTS. I've experimented a bit with bidirectional recurrent networks a bit on past match data, and it showed promises. But I honestly don't want to go down that route. Mostly because I think it's boring. Every major AI paper within the last couple years is: neural network this, neural network that. I do see that they perform very well when data is abundant, that's why I'll try to improve my curator bot with better language models like BERT and GPT-2. But with my Steem Monsters bot I won't be going down the Neural Network path yet.

I've come across a couple of interesting papers from last year describing Online Temporal Difference Learning algorithms as well as a generalized MCTS algorithm, which works on any Markov Decision Process. So essentially Monte Carlo Graph Search. That's what I'm going to implement next. Afterwards, I'll experiment with various neural networks to boost those approaches. If they need boosting.

Gold Legendary Anyone?

With the dwindling supply of Beta Packs, I bought 50 for one last time, along with Brilliant Gold and Legendary potions. The result is rather shiny:

A few legendary summoners along with a gold foil legendary summoner. (and many more gold cards)

Giveaway

This time the giveaway will be more compact. Just two neat little gold cards and something epic.

Comment down below with a valid Steem Monsters username and you will enter the distribution pool!

Sort:  

Alright, giveaway is over.

The winners are:
@taug Gold Silvershield Archers
@hilladigahackles Feral Spirit
@victor-alexander Mermaid Healer

great report as always! @schneegecko

Thanks a lot, glad you like the updates :)

And good luck :)

Posted using Partiko Android

So here is my take on the contest. @victor-alexander. Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome :) good luck with the giveaway!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice pull. My username is @samsemilia7

Thanks, I hope RNG favors you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

My sm username is sm-silva

Well, then good luck :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice pull with the Rennyn :) Maybe I will have some luck as well, let‘s throw my game account @taug in the raffle :)

Thanks, and good luck with the raffle, although it's no GFL :)

Wow, awesome pull I have tried those potions many times but never got an Legendary Goild Foil, good luck everybody!

Well, then keep on trying ;)

I used them thrice by now and pulled 2 GFL in the first, one in the second and none in the third attempt. Maybe I'm just lucky, but others can be too :) good luck in the giveaway!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope I am not too late!!! my Splinterlands name is @hilladigahackles

ooooooooooo shiny!

My game tag is the same as my steem tag.

Ooooh, that Mermaid is on my top 'I want to level up list'. (0_<)
Username is @handtalk5

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, then let's see whether it ends up in your hands or not ;) good luck :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75