Preparing for Battle...On the Blockchain!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

As we approach the end of SteemMonsters Alpha, I get more and more excited about this game. I've tried Hearthstone before but I never got into it. This is something that could be ground breaking and bring major game developers to the blockchain.

Steem Monsters Taking Over

Between all the stories being created behind each monster and summoner, the game mechanics being revealed, a certain TA throwing thousands at the SM market, and some game play preview for us to enjoy, there's so much excitement going on! I for one am definitely looking forward to battling against all you Steemians!

As a gamer, I know a thing or two about gaming. I got into cryptokitties for about 2.5 seconds when I first joined steemit. Won myself a free CryptoKitty that still sits there all by himself. It's a lonely world for my CryptoKitty.

Steem Monsters brings something completely knew to the table when it comes to Blockchain Gaming. Many times I kick myself for not having collected MTG cards growing up, but it never suited me. Being a CryptoEnthusiast puts a cardgame like this right in my crosshairs!

Had to make the Plunge

I was feeling the FOMO pretty hard last week so I had this crazy idea to go all out and get me the 100 packs with the 10 bonus packs for free. I wanted more than 1 Gold Card and after much reading on the SteemMonsters discord, I felt like I was guaranteed a few Gold Foil cards if I got 100! It wasn't easy waiting til Sunday to open them so I can do it live when I had them ready last Thursday!

Check out the post! I opened them 1 by 1 on DLive and even gave away 5 cards including a Gold Foil Divine Healer!

My Collection

Certainly not ready to win every battle, but now I have plenty of monsters to battle with! Will I combine them all? I don't think so. At least not until the game launches. I need to HODL for a little bit and see what happens! Main goal is to get one of each but I know that won't be easy (or cheap). For now, I do have a few full pages, but certainly haven't filled up the Gold Pages. I was excited to see how many pages I could fill up after 110 booster packs, and feel that it's well worth it to have an arsenal of monsters at your disposal when it's time for battle!

Commons - All Monsters Acquired

It was very easy to get all the common monsters so having a variety of monsters to play with wouldn't be hard to achieve for anyone. It didn't take very long to have one of each.

Rares - All Monsters Acquired

The drop rate is on par with the rarity in my opinion! This one filled up second, making the stone golem the rarest of rares for me. Definitely happy to have all the monsters, so it'll give me plenty of choices to mix and match to perfect my battles!

Rare Summoners - All Summoners Acquired

After having read the game mechanics, this was huge for me. I know I wanted 2 Gold Foil Selenia Sky's, but wants and needs are different. I definitely needed a variety of summoners to play with, and I got all the rares! If you don't know, Summoners control your monsters, and not all Summoners can summon any monster. (Don't forget that your team is Splinter Specific!) - If you haven't read the game mechanics you should! It'll just excite you further!

Epic Monsters - All Monsters Acquired

It took a while but eventually I did get all the epic monsters! You can see which one was the hardest to get for me! Serpent of the Flame eluded me for most of the stream, but I was extremely happy to get at least one! I really look forward to playing with the more elusive monsters that I got!

Legendaries are Super Rare!

At least in my experience with 111 packs (and the first 5 or so that I opened last month), legendaries are more rare than Gold Foil Commons and Gold Foil Rares! I was hopeful for a Selenia Sky, but still happy that I was able to pull just One Legendary! A Chromatic Dragon! That's Huge in my opinion! There are literally only 8 Dragons to obtain and 4 of them are Gold Foil, so having the Chromatic Dragon for me was a big win! All this excitement makes me wonder how long it'll take to get these guys leveled up. I think the cards are too valuable to combine them, although I have combined a few already.

And Now For The Gold!

Common Gold Foil Cards - 5 Monsters

I was happy to have gotten five Common Gold Foils but I can't say I would have been fully satisfied if I hadn't gotten some better ones! These are still great, and in reality I got 6 of them. (Two were Divine Healers, where I gave away one of them). That's right! I gave away a Gold Foil Divine Healer during the live opening! With proper support, I'd love to keep the giveaways coming! There was a good 2 1/2 days of work involved in getting these, and I feel that even though I didn't get a Selenia Sky Gold Foil, it was still worth it. I definitely plan on slaving for another 100 packs...so stay tuned!
I'm sure there will be another giveaway involved! Did I get over $200 worth of cards? It seems not, but I'm in it for the future battles! (and that Selenia Sky Gold Foil :P)

Rare Gold Foil Cards

2 Monsters

I was pretty happy to get 2 rare gold foils, but I was worried that I might go home empty handed when it comes to a Gold Foil Summoner. Now knowing the importance of the Summoners, I wanted at least one!

1 Summoner

It wasn't until the 4 to last booster pack that I got this guy to pop out and say hello. The Alric StormBringer! I am definitely looking forward to stirring up a storm with this guy! Still plenty more Gold Foils for me to get, I think that 110 Booster Packs is a good way to boost your battle capabilities and be ready for release!

Only 300k Alpha Packs to be Sold

It's my understanding that only 300,000 packs will be sold. That totals 1.5 million cards. With well over 700,000 cards already out, the end is near so if you haven't yet, get in early while you still can!

I think I am prepared for battle! Win or lose, I look forward to playing this game with every passing day. I definitely intend to keep the giveaways going so keep an eye out! I will try to focus on keeping them dedicated for Sundays so it's not so random. I'm going to guess 2 sundays from now unless I get some whale love :)

Regardless, if you plan on enjoying the game, and maybe even profiting from these alpha cards, you might want to get your share!

Some still Don't Know

Steem Monsters is not quite playable yet. I see this question frequently in the Discord. Right now it's in alpha and only cards are being distributed (and leveled if you combine them), and traded. Be sure to stay up to date by following @steemmonsters and don't forget to upvote!

Now I get to stare at these cards with anticipation, trying to refrain from clicking that purchase button, but who am I kidding, @aggroed and @yabapmatt have created something extraordinary here and there's nothing but greatness ahead when it comes to the success of Steem Monsters. I can just feel it! So a big thanks to you two for making this possible! It's only making Steemit that much more valuable.

I can recall when games were first being published on facebook. It was huge and has only gotten bigger, where your smartphone apps and stats are linked with your facebook. This is exactly what steemit needs to bring more value to the platform and it's only just the beginning! Check out Chibera!

Tell your friends, tell your neighbors. Tell everyone...the Blockchain Card game is right here on Steemit! Act now!

@bitfiend

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

Hello my friend, it's been a while. So I'm powering down my steem and want to keep in touch with you somehow although I will of course check back occasionally here. Are you on Twitter or anything? Take it easy!

Im sad to hear this news...howcome? I have been pretty busy with lifes obstacles but I am fairly certain I'll always be here. My twitter is DuluthOC but to be honest i barely ever check it. You leaving steemit altogether? Fill me in! Take care!

A lot of excitement about Steem Monsters. Nice collection so far! @ironshield

Yes indeed! Thanks! I definitely hope to get more golds! Lets go Selenia Sky!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Wow thank you so much! You rock!

That Alric StormBringer you got is a super sweet card. Great post buddy

I was really happy to get a GF summoner! Thank you! I did not realize its value til much later.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 211 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @bitfiend! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13