Steem Monsters, Poker Tournaments & Coffee.

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

I've been playing Steem Monsters every day and I am sure of one thing, I'm just as addicted now as I was from day one.

Something about this game just keeps me wanting to play, there are thousands and thousands of other games I could be playing, but I am always playing this one.

Let me tell you a little bit about why, I am so in love with this game.

First off, it's real-time strategy game which I absolutely adore. You have to do your best to out-think your opponent on the spot to gain a victory and move up in the rankings. There are so many variables that make Steem Monsters a fun game, so I'll start off with some of the basics.

There are over 110 cards to choose from when selecting your team so you have to be decisive or you will run out of time and "surrender" the match. Hence, the timer itself can create some tension/anxiety, but I would say that it is a good thing because it also means that the game has a hold of you. In other words, you're able to get very involved in the game while you are playing.

I am personally extremely hooked-in while I am playing. I get so caught up I will completely forget about other semi-important tasks. (like eating/sleeping) I'm sure some of you can relate! :D

Since there are so many summoners and monsters to choose from, with alternating rules and mana caps, there is plenty of room to change things up and try new teams, so if you get bored with one you can just try something new!

Each splinter has it's own strengths and weaknesses which allow you to build a team based on a certain ability, such as speed for example. If you want to have a team that goes first in each round you will want to make sure you use the fastest possible monsters that way when a new round starts you won't get wiped out before you even get to move. But speed isn't always everything.

Once you have a feel for the game and understand the mechanics of it, you will likely start to play at least a little bit based off of what you think your opponent may or may not do. This is sometimes the key to winning your match! It's good to know your opponent!

An example of this is, if you are going against someone who you know will probably use some kind of magic against you, you might consider putting in a couple monsters with void/reflect abilities to keep them from losing life too fast and to reflect some of that magic damage back at your opponent's team.

Lastly,

Before I get to the poker details I'd like to mention one final thing about Steem Monsters that I really just need to let people know about. Our community KICKS ASS! If I'm not busy playing the game, you can likely find me poking around in Discord, making new friends and having conversations with some of the coolest, most trustworthy and friendliest people I've ever met in my life. I mean it, if you aren't already a part of it, come and join us on Discord! Or it's your loss, because we're awesome!

Ready to play some poker?

(It's happening)

If you have been following along then you already know about SMPT (Steem Monsters Poker Token), my newly fashioned tokens that will be used to gain entry into my Steem Monsters Poker Tournaments. If you don't know, you can read all about it, click here.

The purpose behind the SMPT is promotion, in that you will be able to get them free, by simply commenting on, upvoting or resteeming my posts, or making your own posts about Steem Monsters Poker.
Thus, you are spreading the good word, far and wide! That way, you don't have to pay to enter my tournaments, and I don't have to pay for promotion! It's a win/win!

Tomorrow's big game!

(Today's, technically.)

Here's the deal, in order for me to be able to host this tournament (and all that will follow) I need as many people as possible to resteem and upvote this post, that will help me to fund bigger prizes for everyone to enjoy!

Anyone who resteems this and leaves a meaningful comment will receive 10 SMPT and free entry into tomorrow's game! (Better comments = a chance of more free tokens)

You will need an account on NoLimitCoinPoker

And a Steem Monsters Account

The entry fee for this match is 5 SMPT

Please send your entry fee to (@crystalhuman) using your Keychain extension or by going to https://steem-engine.com and sending from your wallet there. If you do not already have SMPT to enter then all you have to do is complete one or more of the tasks I mentioned earlier and you will be rewarded immediately (usually) for your services :)

Once I have received your 5 SMPT entry fee I will send you a private message on Discord with the tournament link and password that you will need to join.

Prizes!

Holy cow! This sure is a lot of frickin' readin'!
There better be some DARN GOOD PRIZES!

Indeed there are.

First place will be receiving this sporty new Cyclops! +50 SMPT

Second place will get this particularly Peaceful GIANT! +25 SMPT!

Third place slowly but surely Creeping in to the leaderboard will receive this Oozing green puddle of danger! +10 SMPT!

Any other details of this game will be announced in my CHILL Discord Server. a few hours prior to start time.

Sign up at NoLimitCoinPoker and get 20 free NLC2!
Join Steem Monsters and get your starter pack today!

This match will start Thursday, Valentine's Day, at 6PM Eastern Standard Time

Be sure to follow me!

Your favorite human.

Sort:  

I might do a post about this if that is okay with you

Not only is it okay, but I encourage you to do so! If it's really nice you might catch some fat upvotes too! I'll definitely toss ya some tokens for it. :) Thanks!

Fantastic way of combining these two combinations!

Hopefully, this also helps grow @SPL

Excellent. We will play poker tomorrow.

Fantastic blog CH!
Look forward to taking your chippies
(or surrendering mine)
w00t

Good luck sir! :) Thank you!

love this POKER nights ....

hope i get the right time to take a seat on a nice table ....

Now its time to say something nice... ahm...

hey its poker no time to be nice....

Glad to see this gaining traction! I'm excited to see the poker tournaments get bigger and better!

Hi @crystalhman , i just signed up on the steem engine site and registered an account at No limit coin poker site , i have not had time to check it all out yet as m busy with valentines day and im trying to level up for more cards on Steem monsters as the season ends today, lol!
So hopefully im all signed up properly, I will just need to figure out how this all works, hahaha, it should be fun and im looking forward to trying it all out! Upped and resteemed for you, good luck!
PS , my son also tried to sign up but it says "Only one account per ip address allowed" per house or something like that!?

Ah dang, yeah it looks like they are probably just trying to prevent people from making accounts for the free NLC2, but you can tell him if he knows how to use a VPN, that should get him around it. Not sure what their protocol is but sometimes that will work out and sometimes it will get you banned. Best to check I suppose.

Ok thanks , I dont even know what NLC2 IS, LOL! these things are always too complicated for me as im new to all of this stuff and not even sure if I want NLC2 Anyways , im just way to busy today of all days.👍😎❤

LOL no worries! It's No Limit Coin :)

Ok , i cant figure out how to go to the tournament now oh well my boyfriends will be here soon, so Once I get more settled and have a chance to figure all this out I will try again next time ! thanks!❤😎👍

You already joined my Discord tho :D Will catch ya next time! :)

Awesome, combining 2 of my loves!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's pretty much exactly why I did it! :D

Cool you are tokenising your tournament. Best of luck buddy

Thank you! :) Come and join us! :D

Sending ya a few tokens ;)

I will try but valentines is not ideal when wifey is sitting beside you! 😂Thanks for the token

Well, it's only maybe an hour and a half (if you win) :D

Depending on how many people join in, which with it being the first time I have done it this way, there may not be too many entrants.

when is competition ?

2.5 hours from now :)

oh its 11pm. I think i will make it !

I am an automatic upvote bot, only for #steemmonsters, #steemmonster. If i liked your post, you will get an upvote. Only for Steemmonsters. Once a day, i published the posts, that have recieved an upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66