These High Value Steem Monster Cards Are Actually Selling!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

steemmonsters.png


A couple of weeks ago I was watching one of @themarkymark's streams of him opening some Steem Monsters packs. I remember him mentioning that he wasn't completely sure that high value cards were actually selling. Sadly, we can't watch the VOD anymore, since it was published on Dlive, so I can't give an exact reference to where he said it in the video. Suffice to say that he sparked my attention with those words.

I ended up selling a reasonably high value Epic gold card for around 80 Steem in total. Meaning that I got around 70.00 USD for one single card. I honestly didn't expect that these higher value cards would be selling that easily. It had only been on the marketplace for a couple of days before it sold.

Looking at the market over at Peakmonsters, you can see that there are quite a few high-value transactions. Most of them are multiple card purchases, but you do also see single high-value cards being sold. Remember that the actual game hasn't even launched yet, so the value of these cards is purely speculative.

mons.gif

Aside from the purchases on the many different Steem Monsters Marketplaces, you also have to keep in mind that there are custom deals being sone on Discord as well. I've seen entire collections being sold for hundreds of dollars in the Steem Monsters Discord, you'll find evidence of this when you check out the Mt Mox Monster Market channels there.


I'd say that the trading volume for high-value cards is a little bit more than I expected, especially for the alpha cards. If the game itself ends up being really successful, we all might regret that we have sold so early though. On the other hand, if the game doesn't come to meet expectations, selling early might have been our best bet.

Let me know what you think in the comment section!


Image Source: Center image made by @derangedvisions under [CC BY 4.0]; Modified by @daan


Advertisement


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT


Stish Airdrop


Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

I know it's just an automated reply, but cool that you're sending out these notifications! I know some people don't like it, but I personally appreciate the information :)

I only bought and didn't sell - yet :D I'm keeping them, will play with them, and will only sell when even the inhabitants of Mars talk about them ;-) Glad you got into the cards as well!

Wow, maybe I should look at trying my hand at buying some of the packs! I had a few of the lower level common cards and I had put them on the market, not expecting them to sell... but to my surprise, they are selling off... not for 80 STEEM mind you!

I think that the game will be successfull, early sales are going to be seriously punished because the reward pool of the tournaments is big enough to make those cards very profitable, that without thinking in the possible lending of cards or the sellings at higher prices in a near future.

I'm not investing any FIAT money in the cards only my Steemit profits and the cards are helping to me when the steem goes down, making some sales, the cards are valued in dollars so it's a quite safe option, their prices aren't lowering, except in some punctual cases.

Yeah, there will be no more card packs after the game has launched right? Thought I saw that in the video on their Kickstarter.

I really hope the prices will go up even more!

Has your yield from selling this big card eclipsed your total outgoings? Are there any more in your portfolio (is the the correct term) that are sell-able at these big amounts?

The potential profit certainly exceeds the amount of money I've put into it. I think I just about broke even with the large purchase.

It was always a gamble whether to buy some of these or not. I will continue to look over others' shoulders (for now).

I ended up selling a reasonably high value Epic gold card for around 80 Steem in total.

Wow! I never knew about this could be possible. I've always been scared of high value cards because of little or no market.

I prefer hodling but would sell if there's an urgent need for money. That's me though

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.612 which ranks you at #5473 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 33 places in the last three days (old rank 5440).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have bought quite a but not sold any yet, I have a gold legendary that I gather is worth quite a bit, I must check out the options for markets and maybe sell some

That is an awesome return you got on that card! I wish I had some that I could do that sort of thing with. Sadly, I was never able to pick up that many booster packs and the ones I did didn't give me much of anything.

Don't sell your Epic's

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27