New Format Matches: Single Splinter (Bronze and Gold)

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

sm logo.gif

Introducing the 1st ever "Single-Splinter" tournaments. Based on the post comments and discord feedback I received after my post (CLICK HERE), I have decided to go forward with the two tournaments. I hope to gauge opinion and find out if the steemmonster community enjoys this format.

red-diamond.gif

The tournaments are set for:

red-diamond.gif

Saturday Feb 16th at 10am EST (bronze level)

Click Here to SIGN UP

red-diamond.gif

Saturday Feb 16th at 10pm EST (gold level)

Click Here to SIGN UP

red-diamond.gif

I Hope to see you there!

red-diamond.gif

Level: Bronze + Gold
Format: Single-Splinter
Matches: Best of 5
Prizes: 10 Steem + post payout + donations (20 Steem for Gold)
Places Paid: 1 Steem to as many spots as we have money for (minimum 10 spots) (2 Steem for Gold)

red-diamond.gif

How Does A Single Splinter Work?

  1. Pick your splinter summoners first and message to @davemccoy on discord:
    a) red- Malric, Talia, Plado
    b) blue- Alric, Xia, Valnamor
    c) green- Lyanna, Xander, Prince Rennyn
    e) white- Tyrus, Kiara, Peakrider
    f) black- Zintar, Jarlax, Crypt
    or
    p) purple- Selenia and Daria

  2. Pick your monster splinter next and message to @davemccoy on discord:
    a) red
    b) blue
    c) green
    d) white
    e) black

NOTE: if you picked purple summoners, you still need to pick a monster splinter to accompany your purple summoners.

3. During the tourney, when playing a challenge, if either of the two players summoners are not enabled, then simply decline the match and go resubmit a challenge until both teams can be filled.

4. Bottom challenges the top

5. Check the list after the tourney has "started" and look for your name on the rules page (below) and make sure your name shows up with your correct summoner and splinter.

red-diamond.gif

FAQs

Q. Can I switch splinters after each match? A. NO. The team you pick BEFORE the tourney starts is the team that you will use for the whole tourney. You can take any of your summoners or monsters in your splinter that are available, but you can not change from what you picked PRE-Tourney.

Q. How will I know what my opponent's summoners and splinter are? A. I will put out a list right after we finish the checkin and post it on this page. I have included my team selection to show how it will look.

red-diamond.gif

Official Tourney Summoner/Splinter List

davemccoy Summoner: green- Lyanna, Xander, Prince Rennyn Splinter: green
heyimsnuffles Summoner: purple-Selenia, Daria Splinter: blue

red-diamond.gif

Sort:  

Love this! :-) 088 - Head in a Jar (772px, 5fps).gif

Awesome @clove71... I hope you sign up and can play at least one of them... You will bring a celeb status to the event :D

What if you always get the rules which does not support your summoner or monsters in that condition?
I think it would be good if people can choose 2 or 3 summoners. or all play the same summoner or you can choose from your and opponent summoner.
the third option (in a match you can choose your own summoner or opponent) seems fairer as both will have the same choice.
But I like the idea overall. Thanks.
Regards,
Dayyan Khan

I think it will work like the quests... I have played many times and rarely do I get more than 3 missed splinters in a row. Hopefully there is a built in button to the new system that allows all teams to be played, but for now I want to try the concept so that people have to think a different way. One of the aspects is that you will have a good idea what will be played against you, so it will require some thought as to what lineup beats that particular team. I don't know if it will be successful or fun, I just thought I'd try it and see what people thought.

I will try other ideas such as you suggested if this doesn't work or we run into that problem you mention more than I expect. So definitely thanks for the feedback and I appreciate it. I hope you play too!

ps... I liked one of the matches you ran last week with the doubles, that looked really cool! Great job there :)

I think it's very interesting, I will soon join

Awesome, I'm glad to hear you say that! and nice to meet you @ustazkarim ... feel free to put your team you are going to play here if you like as well. If you have any questions, just let me know

I may try for the gold/evening round. I don't think I'll be awake for the morning one. I will have to wait and see how the week goes, and may be a last minute sign up.

ok cool @bashadow... It will be great to hear what you think if you do get a chance, but if you can't then no worries of course!

Hi @davemccoy!

drugwars

Received:

  • 66.945 STEEM from daily
  • 3.000 STEEM from heist
  • 2.176 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 133.083 STEEM

Total:

  • -60.448 STEEM

A question: can I submit with black team on bronze and blue team on gold?

yes... for sure... they are 2 separate tourneys, so you can pick 2 completely different teams and strategies if you prefer! :) ... Glad to have you join Cici and hope you invite your teammates to join too ;)

Cool tournament, hope I'm free Saturday night

Glad you like it and I will put out reminders in the @steemmonsters discord page as it gets closer... I hope you can make it too! :)

Sounds fun @davemccoy. Sadly I won't be able to join in this time as I will be away next weekend. I hope you get lots of takers and lot forward to hearing how it when when I get back. 😁

I'm sorry you won't be there @gillianpearce, but I will definitely let you know how it went. I hope you have a wonderful trip and thanks for the luck... I hope we get some takers to find out if its a good format or not ;)

Pretty excited to see how this tourney will go. Is there a deadline submitting the teams? Like 24hrs pre tourney or something?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @anouk.nox... And you only have to have the team in before the tourney starts... Obviously it will be helpful if people get them in sooner rather than later, but I will be reaching out to everyone that signs up in the last 2 or 3 days to see if they've decided yet.

I will post the player and their team under the rules section on challonge (I have mine and snuffles up there right now), but anyone can let me know at any time.. plus it can be changed up til the start too if you decide you want to go with a different team. ;)

The only hard rule on that point is once the tourney has started, you can NOT change it.

Sounds interesting. Sad that I will be away on that date...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for coming by @glory7... Its an honor to have your thoughts on this... While I'm sorry you won't be there (so I can see how you like the format), I hope to have others if its successful. Thanks again for stopping by!

Hi @davemccoy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.142 which ranks you at #925 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 209 contributions, your post is ranked at #94.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86