Am I Catching The Steem Monsters Bug?

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)


Steem Monsters And Shiny Object Syndrome


Some might say I'm not one to stick with much long term without getting a bit bored. And I would have to agree.

I tend to suffer from Shiny Object syndrome and recently I've been looking around for something new to get my teeth into. Today I'm wondering if Steem Monsters might be it.

I have no idea how to play a game such as Steem Monsters. I'm told it's a cross between Hearth Stone and Magic The Gathering. Hmmm. What? No idea what they are either. 😂

But I bought a starter pack in the early days when @exyle started getting excited about them. And then something weird happened with the SBD price and the bonus packs were extra cheap for a couple of hours so I bought 10 of them.

I opened a couple of the packs but then got a bit bored as they didn't mean anything to me.

Fast forward a couple of months and @davemccoy took a look at my cards for me (I can't remember why now 😂) and said he thought I'd be very happy with what I had so I opened them and found a legendary gold card which I think is part of what he was referring to.

Angel of Light.png

Anyway, Steem Monsters recently started a Kick Starter campaign and Dave McCoy wrote another post which led to me poking around my account and the discord channel.

The actual game play hasn't started yet so there's still time to collect more of the alpha cards before they end on October 1st so I'm wondering if I should buy a few more.

However, since I have no idea what's going on I think I'd be wise to read up a bit and see if I can get a better understanding.

These are two links that seem like a good place to start

Steem Monsters Game Play
Steem Monsters Cheat Sheet

I also created a spreadsheet to record the cards I have and their value. If my calculations are correct I'm $10.64 down at the moment.

So . . . I'm wondering . . . are any of my regular Steemit friends involved/planning to get involved in Steem Monsters?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

Well, I tried, but I couldn't get interested.
I thought I should buy a starter pack, but ... it's not really my thing.
I'm unlikely to play (three million other things are more interesting to me) and even if I thought about them as an investment, I know I wouldn't do it, so I would just be spending money.
I'm not sure I agree with @sircork's full comments - lots of people love these things and collect the cards - but if you find it's not really your thing, it would probably be sensible to trade your cards as soon as it's worthwhile for you to do so.

but I couldn't get interested

Yeah. I was the same at first @shanibeer. Hence my not even bothering to open my packs for months.
I watched a game being played recently and had no clue as to what was going on.
One of the things I like about it is, at the moment at least, you can play your cards and, even if they get wiped out in a game you don't lose them. So even if I just pick 10 random cards to put into a game I've got nothing to lose, except a few minutes of my time.
Having put my cards into a spreadsheet yesterday I got interested in trying to get a complete set but that would just be from the collectors perspective. It would be fun to own a complete set.
There is also talk of being able to delegate the cards for return so that interests me.
I can imagine my enjoying the collecting bit but not the game playing, unless, as I say, I can just throw in some random sets. But who knows? I've never played anything like this before so I might find I like it.
My guess is, that since it's strategy based, I won't be very good at it.
Anyway. I have already curbed y excitement from yesterday and will now make a more considered decision as to whether or not I want to buy any more cards.
Thanks for responding. I appreciate it. 😁

Lots of interesting ideas :) Have fun!

yes they do. they loved beanie babies, and even magic and hearthstone and pokemon and u-g-oh or whatever, and pet rocks and .....

Sure, it's a fun little toy, but it's not gonna stay a 2K per card fun little toy. Most minnows can't afford this and the self proclaimed "Peace, abundance and liberty, savior of minnows" is not doing them any favors making hundreds of grand in a couple months by boosting posts a grand at a time to top of trending.
My only hope is that it can bounce the steem price in a hype pump long enough to actually help some plankton and minnows for a minute before it's yesterday's news.

but I couldn't get interested

Yeah. I was the same at first @shanibeer. Hence my not even bothering to open my packs for months.
I watched a game being played recently and had no clue as to what was going on.
One of the things I like about it is, at the moment at least, you can play your cards and, even if they get wiped out in a game you don't lose them. So even if I just pick 10 random cards to put into a game I've got nothing to lose, except a few minutes of my time.
Having put my cards into a spreadsheet yesterday I got interested in trying to get a complete set but that would just be from the collectors perspective. It would be fun to own a complete set.
There is also talk of being able to delegate the cards for return so that interests me.
I can imagine my enjoying the collecting bit but not the game playing, unless, as I say, I can just throw in some random sets. But who knows? I've never played anything like this before so I might find I like it.
My guess is, that since it's strategy based, I won't be very good at it.
Anyway. I have already curbed y excitement from yesterday and will now make a more considered decision as to whether or not I want to buy any more cards.
Thanks for responding. I appreciate it. 😁

The whole world seems to be hallucinating over this thing right now. IMHO I am waiting for the blood bath in about 3-6 months when it's forgotten like cryptokitty's already are on ETH, and the only ones who ended up getting out alive are the people who already got rich off crowdsourcing free content and hype, while the card investors will be holding a bunch of beanie babies. Be careful with your money, do it now, and sell while the trend is not yet dead. But we'll see.

Was Cryptokitty's a similar thing then @sircork? I've heard mention of them but never really came across it.

Thanks for your "opposing" view. It's always good to have a balance in these things.

To be honest I was all set to post that I'd already made xxx amount and was surprised to see I'd made a bit of a loss.

sell while the trend is not yet dead

I'm not sure I'll be a very good judge of that but, as you say, we will see. 😁

I get a lot of shit about calling out the truth around here... but so far, most of my predictions keep coming true....

Hmmm. Interesting @sircork.

The peak matches the general crypto peak at the end of last year whereas Steem Monsters is flourishing in a down time so it's perhaps, a reasonable guess, that many of the people involved are more knowledgeable about such things?

I wonder whether people who are interested in collecting and breeding kitties are themselves a quite different breed from those who are interested in combating monsters. 😂

Not that one is more likely than another to continue to play of course.

At the moment it is just a bit of fun for me and hasn't really cost me anything as I paid for the cards I have with a bit of SBD earned from blogging, or I won them.

Also, it's something completely new and I'm enjoying observing a world (via Discord and posts here) that is totally alien to me.

I have yet to decide if I will buy any more cards using fiat. 😁

You make a solid point, to which my knee-jerk is, this platform was looking for a saviour, for sure, in the crunch... but .... so were charles manson's chicks ;)

Good luck! :)

@gillianpearce, I, too, acquired with start-up package and after even a few packages, but my interest as something quite gone missing to these color pictures. I did not get anything worthwhile or somehow having a value, and invest money to pump them to the right levels-well, I think it's too expensive despite the fact that I do not understand the game. I tried to deal with it, but quickly realized that it is not interesting to me.

That's interesting @madlenfox. I'm pretty sure I'm not going to be super interestered in the game but I like the collecting bit of it and think that it might be a good investment. For now, I'm just having a look around.

I'm just watching some videos and finding them pretty boring to be honest. But I'm doodling while I'm watching which is very relaxing and fun. I'm hoping the doodling will contribute to my motivation for getting started with the art again. It's a good first step.

Hi @gillianpearce, I came across your post here because I like to keep a close watch on the #steemmonsters tag ... yes, I've been bitten hard by the SteemMonsters bug, haha.

🙚 ...𝒔𝒐 𝑰 𝒐𝒑𝒆𝒏𝒆𝒅 𝒕𝒉𝒆𝒎 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒇𝒐𝒖𝒏𝒅 𝒂 𝒍𝒆𝒈𝒆𝒏𝒅𝒂𝒓𝒚 𝒈𝒐𝒍𝒅 𝒄𝒂𝒓𝒅... 🙘

I just wanted to clarify this for you. I checked out your collection on PeakMonsters, and found that yes you do have a Legendary  card, and yes, you do have a Gold Foil card, two of them in fact. However, you don't unfortunately have a "𝒍𝒆𝒈𝒆𝒏𝒅𝒂𝒓𝒚 𝒈𝒐𝒍𝒅 𝒄𝒂𝒓𝒅" as such. The Gold Foil Legendaries  can be worth anything up to about $3,000 already, for a Gold Foil  Selenia Sky, for instance! The card I think you are refering to, the Angel of Light Legendary  is actually from the White (Khymian) Splinter, although there is a lot of gold trim on the card, it is actually a White team card. I hope that clarifies things a bit for you.


🙚   SteemMonsters:Site   • Discord   |  Steempunk.net:Site   • Discord   |   Chibera:   • Site   • Discord   🙘

😂 Thanks for the clarification @trisquelwhare. At least I got the value right then because I definitely didn't find anything in my collection worth thousands of dollars!

I didn't know there were any white cards. 😂

Thank for explaining that. I appreciate it. I have updated my spreadsheet accordingly. 😁

If you have any other questions about the game, I'm happy to help. I certainly don't know everything that there is to know about it, but I can find the answers for you, as I have quite an interest in the game, the cards, the gameplay, the lore, and the community surrounding the game.

Thank you @trisquelwhare. I will bear that in mind.

Have a fun weekend. 😊

Thank you. And to you.

Gillian. I am super excited about Steemmonsters and have all the cards and am ready to play. I really like strategy and this has so much strategy!

@monsterworld by @jarvie gives good information and analysis! That might help you see if you will enjoy putting together teams and such.

I'll have a look at @monsterworld @sjarvie5 and see if I can work out how to put a team together. Looking at the first post I'm wishing I saw this earlier and could have gotten in on some of those giveaways!

Strategy games are not my thing. I'm not very good at it at all so I'm likely to find it frustrating I think.

I will enjoy putting together teams I think but trying to work out what's going on will probably be a bit beyond me. I'm a very "in the moment" sort of person. I get very muddled if I try and work out things ahead of time.

It looking more and more like it will be more of an investment thing for me but we shall see. 😁

I won 5 packs last week and opened them. Like you I have no idea how to play and what the cards mean especially all the number on them. I'm going to go through those links in your post to see if it will arouse my interest.

I haven't been through the links myself @livinguktaiwan. When I took a look it all seemed a bit overwhelming.

Like you, I have no idea what the numbers on the cards mean. But it was fun to list the ones I have and see how much they are worth.

I haven't decided if I'm going to buy anymore or not. If I do it will be with fiat and I'd like to understand a bit more before I go down that road.

Please let me know if you get to grips with it. 😊

Beautiful Article....
well done dear friend...

I am in the same boat as you. I have no idea how to play these type of games but I jumped on board anyways.

I was lucky enough to hit a gold foil legendary in the one and only booster pack I have bought.

I was lucky enough to hit a gold foil legendary in the one and only booster pack I have bought.

I saw that in Discord @rentmoney. I alas did not. As @trisquelwhare explained, my legendary was gold coloured but is actually white. So near and yet so far. 😂 😂 😂

I’m not currently involved in Steem Monsters, but I am definitely planning on finding out more about the whole thing. Thank you for the post!

Have you played these types of game before @twocatsncounting?

None of the ones you’ve mentioned in your post. I am familiar with Pokemon, I’m not sure if Steem monsters are going to be similar. I’ll definitely have to do some more research. 😆

Sounds like you will need to do some more research then @twocatsncounting. I'm currently watching a video about it and fast loosing the will to live! 😂

Hopefully I'll find some that are a bit more interesting.

Hahaha oh no, that doesn’t sound very exciting at all 😂. Yes, I definitely need to do some more research.

The first two videos I watched were deadly dull @twocatsncounting. At least to me. 😂 But the third started to get more interesting.

@davemccoy has started putting out a introductory series. This is the first one. But even that is way too much for my brain to think about in one go. however, I took a couple of key points from it which will enable to understand my cards a bit better.

Baby steps! 😁

https://steemit.com/busy/@davemccoy/steem-monster-rules-101-the-beginning

Ohhhh, I shall have a look. Thank you for the recommendation... it probably will go straight over my head. 😂

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I don't think you are getting the bug, no :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17