SteemMonster Card Market Commons

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

I enjoy digging into numbers and looking for trends. Most of the time it's very frustrating, but sometimes it can be very rewarding when you can find some trend or something that starts to makes sense. If nothing else you can look for recurring patterns to gives you a signal to take a particular action.

Right now since I just got done reviewing the SteemMonster market I only have one data point, but thought I would share this data since it took a few hours to put together and dig through. It's a lot of information so if you have an idea how to look at something differently let me know and I'll try and get your answer either in another post or in the comments below.

A Look at Commons

For the charts below, it is all pricing and numbers for common non-foil alpha and beta cards.


Sorted from Least to Most by # of Remaining Alpha Cards

If you're a collector/speculator and looking at the rarity of cards one thing that you need to remember is that all Alpha cards were "reprinted" as Beta cards. I don't know how or if that will affect the pricing long term. I understand the artwork is different, but from a playability standpoint, the cards are identical. From a collector standpoint usually 1st editions always do best and it seems the Alpha commons are rarer than the Beta, so they will carry some premium, but it will be hard to tell how much.


Sorted from Highest to Lowest by Cost of Alpha Card

Neutral cards were first released with the Beta packs making them rarer than the other elemental cards which are somewhat reflected in the pricing (except for the poor Grumpy Dwarf).


Source

The Flesh Golem seems to be carrying a significant mark-up currently so if you have some Flesh Golem's that are lying around not being used, now may be a good time to sell one or two as I don't see any reason for the price to be that high.


Sorted by Least to Most by Total # of Cards for Sale

I'd be interested to hear what the higher level SteemMonster players, high diamond or champion, think of the Crustacean King and Pirate Captain cards. I would think most people are holding on to these cards and not selling them because they think they're stronger cards for the blue deck, but I could be completely wrong. Same would go with Rexxie, is Rexxie that weak of a card, or is no one buying him for some other reason?


A simple rule of thumb for most Gold Common Cards is 10x the price of the regular card. The Gold Card that carries the most premium is surprise surprise the Elven Cutthroat. I want to find out what it will cost to get a max rank card, but need to find some information on how many cards are required to obtain a max rank card.


Sorted by Highest to Lowest for Beta Gold Price

I'm going to break this up so it doesn't become too long, but as I said before if there is anything, in particular, you'd like to see about price, # of cards for sale, or total cards let me know in the comments below. I have the information for all the cards that are currently released, including reward and prime cards.

I plan to make future posts about other editions as well as rare, epic, and legendary cards so be sure to stay tuned for that. I'm hoping to make this as a weekly or at the very least monthly update on information that others find valuable.

Sort:  

Very interesting .... I have quite a few of the Original cards ... as soon as they were issued. Not sure if Beta, Alpha etc etc ... I will be selling them soon. I even have a gold dragon.

To my knowledge the symbol I circled on the Magic card indicates what edition it's from. It would be nice if Steem Monsters added something so you could tell what edition there cards are from (Alpha, Beta, Reward, or Promo). Could be something like a small letter or symbol in the upper or lower right hand corner to make it easy for people to see.

I'm the reason Alpha Flesh Golems are so expensive. I've been buying them obsessively for at least 6 months, and have over 25% of the total. I've always been fascinated by the idea of cornering an asset, and saw an opportunity :)

Assuming you're serious I messaged you on discord. I just had some questions for you and weren't sure if you mind sharing for the whole of steem blockchain or not.

You got a 6.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thanks for the great Data from the Steemmonsters market.
I think most of the Key cards in every Team are the most expensive ones. Plus you have investors that are buying certain cards for reselling purposes and are conering from time to time the market. Like we have seen with Flesh Golem, Fire Demon, Mermaid etc...
I hope in regard to Alpha and Beta Edition that the gameplay will differ more in the future so that it makes sense to collect Alpha cards.
The Golden Elvencutthroat needs 38 to be max. level.
I invested in a couple of them because its a "key card" for any "Sneak Attack Team" the same goes for the Cocatrice in GFL both are very useful and super rare for the future to collect.

Yeah, I noticed Elven Cutthroat is a pretty popular card. What does GFL stand for?

Congratulations @gniksivart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh, you have to know how confusing this is for someone who doesn't play, right?

It makes me want to dive in headfirst, just so I can know what you all are talking about!

Happy Pi Day!!

!tip

I feel like a terrible engineer. I didn't even know it was pi day!

Basically, it's just pricing for the most common cards in the game and how many cards are left. A kind of investor cheat sheet.

Oh, cheat sheets can be good. :) You didn't know it was Pi Day?? I am ashamed of you!

And thanks for the explanation!

🎁 Hi @gniksivart! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12