MONSTERS! The Rarity of Each Card! (FREE SBI and EPIC Giveaway) #ULog 004

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)


goblins.JPG

Steem Monsters has taken over the platform by storm and are growing consistently everyday. New starter packs are being bought daily and I believe that the trading market on the back end is fully set to have buys and sells ready for when there is an uptick in the amount of players partaking in the game. I am a market guy and a numbers guy so I decided to dive in today just to see what the rarity looked like under the surface!


At the end of this I will explain how I will give away 1 SBI and Multiple Epics!!

Currently the drop rates are per card and they have only gone down in this alpha stage. While I do believe the creators need to begin to release more information about the gameplay regarding stats and power to put more value on the cards and separate them from one another, I want them to do it the right way the first time because this is very important in implementing them during the gameplay.

The below chart shows just "How Rare" each card really is based on the data that is available. This data is currently the total of each card relative to the total cards in the whole system.

sm ranking.JPG
Data is courtesy of: http://steemmonstersdb.com/steemmonsters/cards/overview

This shows some really interesting data. First off it shows just how rare the cards are presently. Considering the Name on the card is random and the categories are also randomly dropped, one would argue that all of these names within the major categories would get closer together. I would argue that starting this game at a certain time and changing and coding the game at a certain time will reflect the outcomes of the randomness in a certain way causing the cards not to be completely random. It is chaos theory. And I believe that is why you have some data here and that it is very possible for this random chaos to continue to become more orderly than would would think.

Let's look a the chart and dive in. A Few things JUMP OUT at me...

  1. I envy those who have the gold legendaries. You can see the top three gold legendaries (Elemental Phoenix, Frost Giant, and Lightning Dragon) there are only 3 of each card in the entire game. Considering Dragons are the best (we think), One could assume that if you hold a Gold Lightning Dragon then you own the most powerful and rare card in the game. the other dragon are not as rare as the Giant and Phoenix because there are 1 less than them which equates to over 30%.

  2. The Defender of Truth is the most common Gold Epic in the game. In fact there is almost 2.5 times more defender of truths than there is Naga Warrior (which is clearly the front runner for the most rare gold foil in the game). Again this is where I believe there is order in the chaos and if there were more market participants the Naga Warrior would go for a higher price than the Defender of Truth.


defender.JPG

  1. Looking at the Commons, one would see that the most rare common in the game is the spineback turtle, one can also see that the regular spineback turtle is one of the bottom 4 most common regular cards in the game. This is interesting and makes the Gold Foil Spineback turtle clearly the hardest gold foil common to get. Going even deeper (calc not shown) in relativeness to the commons, the Spineback Turtle, Haunted Spider, and Crustacean King are the most rare gold foil commons relative to the number of current commons available of that type.

    spine gold.JPG

This of course DOES NOT even take into account the levels and power of each of these monsters as I would need a much larger scale data available to pull from and do that data.

I find this very interesting and looking froward to the creators releasing MOARRRR.

If you have made it this far it is not time for the giveaway! All you have to do is two things!

  1. Leave a Comment.

  2. Follow me.

That is it.

I will be giving away 1 SBI to the person who makes the best COMMENT!!

I will be giving away two EPIC CARDS to two random people at the end of this payout.

#steemmonsters

Follow! Upvote! Resteem!

Follow me on Twitter @heyimsnuffles

Sort:  

A great dive into the stats of cards opened. I would absolutely be interested in seeing you continue to update this as more information comes to light. Excellent!

Upvoted and followed as you request.

Later, I’ll try to write "the best comment", because now I’m walking with “”my” dogs 🐕 🐩 🐶 (I’m a kind of dog-sitter😜)

For now, thanks and congratulations for your very nice contest! 🙏🏻

A big friendly hug from a @amico! 🤗

Nice insight to the numbers of each card currently in circulation.

You touched on the point that I feel is very important. There is no game play yet. Not even stats for the characters. At this point it’s not a game it’s just collectible artwork.
I feel we need gameplay before we can truly evaluate the cards value. So I am holding off purchasing anything Until game mechanics are out.

My fear is by the time gameplay is out the hype is over and the number of users will be lower than it should be.

These feels like Pokémon go to me. Every wants to play but by the time they add what the players want the players have moved on. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Steem on !!

Not sure about that. I play and there is no where near the number of players as during the 1st 3 months after launch.
I like the game. I was just stating how they missed out on their launch hype by not having all features available

It's quite typical really. I don't know of any gaming or software company that comes out of the gate with every feature they intend to include. There are always upgrades.

Congratulations! You are the winner of the best comment and engagement on this Post! I have submitted an SBI to @steembasicincome as you can see in the transfers below!

Thank you so much

This reminds me somewhat of neopets and other card games in the past. I do have to say that the way that they are doing this trumps cryptokitties..Unfortunately, I have not been able to get into steemmonsters as of yet, hoping to be one of the lucky random winners =)

good work!! Always following some of the best stuff on 'the board'..

Congratulations! You are a winner of the Epic Card AIR ELEMENTAL!

Random Number generated in Excel with corresponding numbers next to the names

Wow nice giveaway you are doing here!

Like @simplegame already said since there is no gameplay or stats out it is quite difficult to evaluate card values.

Bought me about 6 or 7 booster packs (trying to buy me some whenever I got a few SBD's to spare) but haven't had any luck yet.

Wish all good luck in the giveaway!

Thanks for hosting this!


Congrats, you made the @steemmonsters NEWS for today!
Click the Image Below to see the Video!

I’ll definitely be reading up on SM, but like @simplegame, worry about it catching on. I’ll try to do my part :)

I would assume that the ID is also the order in which the cards were made, so it may very well be that, perhaps, the gold foil Lightning Dragon could be the best card to hold in the game, or the most powerful, but the gold foil Elemental Phoenix may end up being the most valued due to its prominent position in the line up.

Congratulations! You are a winner of the Epic Card AIR ELEMENTAL!

Random Number generated in Excel with corresponding numbers next to the names

Thanks! My second epic. :-)

Congratulations @heyimsnuffles: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82