KGroup is Playing SteemMonsters, starting with Just a Beta Starter Pack! Part 2

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Defeating My Worst Enemy: My Own Mind

Today I completed the Water Daily Quest but it took Hundreds of Battles! My Water cards are That Bad. I was seriously wondering if i would complete the quest at all, when I started. Finally I won a few and I could estimate my odds of winning any battle at about 1 in 20. Perseverance was the required skill for this mental battle!

A person might become discouraged by losing such a high percentage of battles. I was depressed to see such a large number of losses but then I realized something. My losses were dropping my rank which had previously reached a league level that I was guaranteed to maintain for the End Of Season Booster Pack payout. That is based on your highest league achieved over the season. So by dropping in rank and league, I wasn't really losing anything. I was just making wins easier as I was in a lower league!

My Water Deck

Let's see what Water cards I was using today:

2018-11-05 (1).png

I had two beginner melee cards in the first 2 positions and they were okay for level one cards I guess. I just had mana for one more card and I used a range that did 2 damage and healed itself 2 points each round.

My opponents usually had some cards higher than level 1. Plus they often had 4 cards in their deck, which gave them more opportunity to strike me. We were all working with a mana cap of 16.

One must battle first against their own mind in situations like this! Your own loss aversion is your biggest enemy. You don't want to lose over and over! You need to keep your goal in mind; get that Free Booster Pack! Realize that it's just a matter of time because your win probability is non-zero; you Will Win occasionally.

If the battle looks really bad from the start, click Skip To Results, brush off your loss and move on to the next battle. Invest time and clicks and You Will Get the Daily Quest Booster Pack!

My Reward - A Booster Pack

So let's see what was in that Booster Pack I Finally Won:

2018-11-05.png

I was happy to see the variety of cards here, and that one was Rare. I was able to level up a few of my cards to level 2! However, all my summoners are level 1. Level 1 summoners can't us the ability of level 2 monsters. New goal is to get my summoners to level 2. Then they can use cards up to level 3!

Strategy Going Forward

In their post today, @sm-starter-beta tells of good luck in the Booster Pack from completing the daily quest. A question is asked, what to do when nice cards are obtained? HODL or SELL? One might hold such cards for future utility or sell them now and buy cards they can use now.

My strategy, for now, is to hold on to what I have and assess the Market in the next few days. I haven't been following it closely and I don't know if prices are comparatively "good." I am very open to selling at one of my best cards so I can level some of my summoners to level 2. I think that would be a good middle path. Keep most of my best cards for the future, but sell one to upgrade my decks now.

Join US in Our Challenge

We want YOU to compete with us using your Starter Pack! Use the tag #fromstartertochampion so we can identify you as someone who is doing this challenge. We will welcome you to the club, and if you post your status here, we may give up votes from our Steemit accounts that have more SP than these new accounts.

It's Fun to start from the bottom and work your way up. You too can go from Apprentice to Master!

Get your own Starter Pack at the SteemMonsters website and meet us in Battle!

Sort:  

Good luck with the water deck. As @sm-starter-beta I found that to be quite the challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13