Why would I buy 1000 monsters I'm not going to battle with, giveaway or sell?

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Because they're bait, that's why.

Its shaping up to be a fantastic game, and I have a heap of confidence in the guys building it, but I already have an all consuming passion here - Adelaide.


Source

Ben Folds liked it so much he wrote a song about it.

It has a population of 1.3 million people; and 18 of them came to our last monthly meetup.


Thanks to @izzydawn for the photo


I've been doing whatever I can to build the Adelaide scene, including last year's Christmas promotion, with 20 locals finding presents under the big tree; 500 SP for 12 months, to kickstart their accounts and support each other.

twinkly.png


Since I've started seriously recruiting, I've heard 3 burning questions raised consistently.

  • How can I buy some STEEM?
  • How can I turn it into money?
  • Where can I go to learn more?

...and I give the same answer to all three.


Thanks to dksart for the dividers

'Last Thursday of the month at The Jade from 6pm'


Thanks to @minismallholding for the photo


It's ironic that we love to meet in person to grow an online community; but I see it like skimming a stone across a pond.
Sure it spends most of it's time in the air, but the brief moments where it glances off the water give it the upward momentum to continue the journey.
It also makes big ripples on the surface.



Thanks to @exploreadelaide for the photo

From the start, we've tried to build into the culture the expectation that the meetup is the best way to buy and sell STEEM/SBD.
Why jump through KYC/AML hoops and wait days just to pay fees to move between AUD and real money?
At the meetups it's instant, public and fun.

We talk about strategies, hangups, pitfalls and dreams. The veterans are always on hand to help answer questions from newcomers and any curious friends they bring along.


Others are no longer blinking pixels, they're actual people, not just a digital abstraction.
The meetups make it real, and they fly past.
We'll meet at 6 and half an hour later it's 9:30.
Nobody feels like they got to talk to all the people they wanted to, but everybody makes a new friend or two and leaves with a renewed sense of purpose.
I love it, and we're already setting the pace for the rest of the country, but I want more.

That's where @steemmonsters come in.

Just before tournaments launch and the game begins properly, I'm going to find 3 or 4 groups of gamers; guys who love games like this but know nothing of the joys of the steem blockchain, and make them an offer.

I'll open a new account for each group, and we'll meet to distribute my cards between them.
I'll give them the posting key and they'll play with my cards for a year.
At the end of the year they'll keep any winnings, and I'll get my cards back, thoroughly battle tested.
I'll either pay out their winnings in Aussie dollars, or give them the STEEM/SBD, whichever they prefer.


Now this works on a lot of levels.


It's not going to be difficult to find strategy card game fans who are keen to learn a new game and compete for prize money. They're going to keep learning everything they can, because they'll want to use their 12 months to win lots of crypto.
Without the active key, they won't be able to enter any paid tournaments, which will be a point of frustration, and I imagine at the end of the year at least some of them will be keen to start their own accounts, sink their winnings into buying their own cards, and applying their experience and SBD to charging headlong back into battle under their own banner.

I get teams of people working to build up my deck, adding tournament-won cards and experience; but more importantly I get to further swell the ranks of the Adelaide scene; and there's nothing stopping me from restarting the whole process with a new trio of groups. If the game gets as big as I think it will, maybe I can divide my deck between five or even ten groups next time around.
This is how we win.


Sort:  

Wow. You are a flippin genius! This is soooo cool. You are so cool. In fact....hang on, I'm looking it up....yup. It's confirmed. Your picture is in the dictionary next to "cool".

Without the active key, they won't be able to enter any paid tournaments, which will be a point of frustration, and I imagine at the end of the year at least some of them will be keen to start their own accounts

I'd say that'll happen a lot quicker than 12 months, mate.

Of course, we can now start accounts through steemmonsters.com which will simplify things even further.

Mate, you are one of the most imaginative and innovative people on here, when it comes to leveraging the platform and onboarding people. Bravo. Again.

Thanks, Choo. You're pretty incredible yourself.
If we get a decent price spike, I'll be doing 50 x 200 SP delegations this Christmas.
Then 2020 could be 100 x 100 SP delegations :)
The joy of early adoption.
The #mallsballers will drag Adelaide onto the map; kicking and screaming if we have to.

I'm wondering if we can setup card delegation. Rent a card kinda things... I want to facilitate this.

I've been pretty impressed with @yabapmatt's efforts so far.
Not sure when he sleeps, but every time I log in there's something new.
Only requiring the posting key to play is a big help (assuming that continues).
If this is going to be the recruitment extravaganza we're all looking for we want to keep the learning curve as gentle as possible.

Not only is it unique,

I think it’s great you guys can get first hand feedback from the community buying the packs, to help shape the development as this scales even higher.

It’s also rare that users have an opportunity in this sort of market to help with artwork etc like you have embraced.

#topeffort #thepeoplesgame

7AAC6736-00B6-4ECD-A735-94AC193C8474.jpeg

Very interesting stuff @mattclarke I love how your brain is ticking on this one. And I do like your intentions. I will be watching from the sideline and may even come across one of these groups in a battle

Thanks. I'll ask them to go easy on you :)

Sounds like some lucky Australians are going have a great opportunity out there. I hope you find some Pro CCG players. I’m half tempted myself to start playing these types of games just to get a little better at them as I suck at them!

I’m really hoping as the steemit scene starts to develop you will start to see bigger enganged from communities like steemmonsters getting involved in get to get together, steemfest, and other social events. A couple of booster packs alone as a random door prize is a great way to start the conversion about steemit or even the game.

I ran my first map last night. You're right, so good. It's so self contained and lucrative and enjoyable.

Indeed if you get very lucky some of the card drops can start to add up.

I'm already finding some insane armour. Second map I got a Unique chestpiece with almost 1000 armour, and 150 odd ES.

Nice, if it drop as a 5 or 6-link it could be worth quite a sum.

I've still not done all the maps myself or the end game content for them. Once you start running into some the mapping mechanics that change up the zone things can star getting real interesting with kind of mods that could end up on gear.

You using Orb Alchemy your maps or least using or Orb Transmute for now till you get into higher level ones?

No, I've used a cartograher's chisel, and I've saved a tonne of stone hammers but not sure how to use them.

If you are going use a chisel on maps its best to use them on white ones before you upgrade them if I recall. I personally don’t unless I know a map has some higher end loot chance it into it. As maps can start to get expensive once you start spending heavy on them with chisel, sextants, upgrades from mapping device and other stuff(which I’ve never used hehe)

The correct hammer and a map can be vendor together for the chisel. I personally don’t like losing a map out of the deal so I just don’t.

Okay, gotcha. Makes sense. I just got my arse kicked around the arena in my first lookout map. Bastard raises four simultaneous ancestral warchiefs and then leaps all over the place. Straight over my skeleton army and onto my head.
Used up all 6 portals, so that map's wasted. Live and learn I guess.

Go team Adelaide! 🤘 sounds like an interesting idea. I just got my first lot of steem monsters tonight😁

It begins...

Hahah! I’m itching to buy more as I type

Itch itch .... errr yeah ....I think I’m gonna grab me some more ... itch itch

Up there for thinking yet again. If you ever approach a box, don't go inside as your best work is done outside. ;-)

You and me both buddy :)
The world has this cool new toolbox, so let's crack that sucker open.

Your making me want to move to Adelaide @mattclarke, between you and @o07.
I'm trying to twist my wife's arm for a trip back to Australia for Christmas time. We are from Brisbane... But the Christmas party looks like it would be an epic event and a chance to meet alot of other Aussie Steemians in person.
My wife was in Adelaide for work this year, but that was in our infant stage of joining steemit and we hadn't found team Australia at that point.

I'm already hooked on steem monsters, hopefully this will entice more people to join Steem Monsters and Steemit!

Team Australia all the way!!!

Cheers, it would be great to see you guys next time your here!

I'm working on it... will give you some advanced warning to make sure we can time it to attend a meet up also!

Christmas party is in Katoomba on the 15th;
Be great to see you there, or at any of the Adelaide meets whenever you're in town :)

Just looked at flights around the 12th... $5,633 is slightly higher than I was expecting.
Might have to try for next year lol.

Dare I say — this sounds bloody brilliant. I don’t believe we’ve met, but I’m immediately impressed by your innovation, your clear commitment to this platform and seemingly tireless efforts to help it grow meaningfully.

Here’s hoping you’re right about the SteemMonster potential — I bought a modest handful the first night Aggy mentioned it on his Minnow Mayor Town Hall show. Since then, they appear to be taking over! Wish I could afford to buy a whoooole lot more. ⭐️

Thanks for the inspiration!

Thanks :)
I recommend to anyone and everyone; build your city.
If there isn't anyone proposing a time and place, then be that person.
If city-building is front and centre in your mind then you're going to notice all sorts of ways to make it happen.
Appreciate your kind words.

It’s great advice, really. I suppose that’s part of why I find your commitment so inspiring — I’m having a hard enough time posting regularly these days; It’s difficult to imagine coordinating meetups. Still — something to ponder.

There's stuff going on near you. :)

finding this a bit late, but your thinking on this is brilliant. i love how you’re thinking long term/empowering others! thank you for this example :)

Thanks :)
We're going to struggle to poach users from facebook as long as facebook offers another layer of interaction with people they know and see regularly; and steemit only offers interaction with distant strangers.
We'll win this thing city by city.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10