Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! | The Haunted Spider

I am but one of the many spawned from the eggs of the Broodmother. My first thoughts were one of hunger or was it the Broodmother, I do not know but it consumed my entire being as I crawled out of the nest in search of prey.

I lay my spiderwebs, partially hidden by shadows, a marvel of mathematical perfection. Beautiful and yet deadly.

I wait patiently as I feel a line tug to signify a prey has fallen into my territory. I rush and see it entangled in my web, its movements hindered. I silently approach and with a quick bite pump my venom in its veins.

The prey was not even able to make a sound as the poison start to paralyze and digest it from inside. If only I can hear its screams but I make do with seeing in their eyes the terror and the pain.

I gently rock the body and start to spin a cocoon of silk. Marvelous in sight, soft and silky to the touch. A thing of beauty wrapping a gift that I will offer the Broodmother.

image.png

I see thousands of me streaming back to the lair of the Broodmother. Each one with an offering, each one with the single consuming thought of hunger.

I stand before the Broodmother as a supplicant, bathed in her pheromones changing the thought from hunger to one of adoration.

I raise my prize to her and she looks at me with her eight eyes and I could see her satisfaction. Her belly swollen with unfertilized eggs, she caresses my face and beckons me to come closer.

I fill a tiny sac with my essence and we lock arms and she receives my sac ready to use it on the next clutch of eggs. I am spent and weakened, delirious with the scent of her pheromones. She bites my neck and I can feel her sucking my fluids, my very soul to be transferred to the next brood.

In a way both body and spirit is shared to the cluster. Makes me think if any of my thoughts were my own or were they fragments of a thousand haunted souls.

All of this in preparation of the great war. We will number in the hundreds of thousands and consume the land. We will be silent death in beauty.

For we are the brood.

PM_line_2.png

Flavor Text

Haunted Spider gains an advantage of first strike.

Immobilizes and poisons prey for 1 turn. Can block flying creatures with its web.

" When you marvel at the beauty of a spider's web, know that you might be seeing the last thing before you die."

PM_line_2.png

This is my entry for the Haunted Spider for @steemmonsters if you are interested to join the contest click on this link [Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 5](https://steemit.com/contest/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-common-card-fantasy-story-contest-week-5]

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

MAVERICKINVICTUS.gif


Centurion Mave.png

helpie.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income
Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Awesome story. Really like the Broodmother.

Thank you so much I really enjoy writing these story lines and I hope that I will win at least one and be added to Steem monster lore.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Very cool story!

My favorite lines:

In a way both body and spirit is shared to the cluster. Makes me think if any of my thoughts were my own or were they fragments of a thousand haunted souls.

Thank you Simgirl! It was a nice story to do make.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hey Mave, I like this story of the haunted spider. That’s cool how you have the spider giving up its essence to pass on to the next generation. Broodmother, she sounds wicked!

hehehe I was thinking of how to make it a bit haunted and I didn't it want to be an undead so I made it this story.

Yes we need boss or epic level versions of the common monsters!

It is nothing close your Selena story line but I try lol hahha

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76