Ranking the New Steem Monsters Reward Cards

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

When I finished my quest today, I got a couple of the new reward cards and that got me thinking about the utility and quality of these 6 new rewards cards that have been introduced thusfar.

Screenshot_20190108-123509~2.png

So, I present my opinion of the new cards, ranked in reverse order.

6-Phantom Soldier

I don't see a lot of situations where this card will be useful. It is nice to see the Silence ability make another appearance, but it's ultimately too expensive to be used in all but the highest mana battles. If the attack was a bit higher, maybe.

5-Naga Fire Wizard

I feel similarly about this one as the last one. The reason I ranked this higher is that there really was not a high powered magic attack in red until now. So it fills that gap, but again, 8 mana is an awful lot.

4-Pirate Archer

This card feels redundant. Blue already had some low cost ranged attacks. But I do like the Blast ability. I try to always include a Blast attacker in Target Practice matches, so I could see this one being used in that situation.

3-Sacred Unicorn

White needed an overpowered tank, and white needed more healing. The obvious downside ( I know I sounds like a broken record) is the high mana cost.

2-Creeping Ooze

Finally, a 1 mana monster for the common man. As someone who will never own a Shin-Lo, I had nothing to do with an extra mana when building my team. Now I can throw this in and not waste that extra point. The Slow ability is nice, but the real selling point here is the 1 mana cost.

1-Wood Nymph

I've been using this one a lot. As I stated previously, I'm not sure green needed more healing, but it's been helping me win matches, so I can't complain too much. I expect a nerf coming in green, but until that happens I'll keep using this card to double heal my Flesh Golem.

So, that's my opinion. Which of the new cards have you found most useful?

Sort:  

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

What's a NERF ?? Go Easy On Me I'm New to Steem.........

Sorry, it's a gaming term. It just mean to take some power away from something. As I understand it, Green was already a popular splinter among the high power players. This card make it even more appealing. I expect they'll do something to green to make it less powerful. They did a similar thing to the Weaken ability a bit back. It used to give -1 to melee and to HP, now it's just HP because it was too powerful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85