What is your favorite Monster? (COM 36)

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

monster 1.PNG

steem monster.PNG

This is today's English talk tip.

"What's your favorite monster?" I bought these Steem monsters a couple months ago for 4 SBD and wasn’t sure what I would use them for. Now I found the perfect use. I would bring @steemmonsters into the ESL classroom. I used these guys to teach English. Yes they make such lovely teaching companions. Wouldn’t you love to have these guys hanging around your classroom?

The answer is: YES!!

They are so much more the motivator for class. One of the biggest reasons for not learning English is a lack of motivation. Everything in the classroom seems so mechanical and predictable. The talk tip I am supposed to teach fifth graders this week is: “What is your favorite subject?”

I asked this question to more than 200 fifth grade elementary students in Korea and got the same answer, “PE.”

It’s not that PE is really their favorite subject, but it is the easiest to pronounce and the easiest to spell. It is also the only class they don’t have to sit in a desk to participate. IT is literally torture to teach Korean kids to say, “My favorite subject is Social Studies.” I got this answer when I pointed to the Social studies picture in the book: “My February subject is Sha- sha- sha- sha.”

There is a speaking test coming up in two weeks and I’ve got to do better than this.

I checked the national curriculum objective for the speaking part of this lesson. It is for students to speak about their favorite things such as sports, food, subjects, etc… My hunch that the textbook was biased was right. I immediately took advantage of the etc loophole adding Steem Monsters.

Steem Monsters.png

When I asked, “What is your favorite subject?”

I had one or two students participating out of twenty six. When I asked, “What is your favorite monster?” I got 100 % participation. Students were jumping around playing rocks-scissors-paper and asking, “What’s your favorite monster?” It’s Monday too. I never saw students so alive as when they were talking about dead things.

You can see what these kids made:

The class was different from other classes because students wanted to talk about their monsters.

I showed students a power point of varies monsters and students chose one monster they liked. Then they completed the sentence on the pumpkin and drew a picture. They had only ten minutes to finished the picture but they came up with some fantastic drawings.

monster 2.PNG

I was surprised to find that fifth graders still had creativity in their bones.

Actually my favorite monster is the skeleton in the second row on the left. I would never think of changing the original outline of the pumpkin to make it something unique, a pumpkin skeleton.

monster 3.PNG

My second favorite is the one with the bite out of it.

This is really creative. Another student turned the pumpkin into a watermelon dripping red watermelon juice. They just need a blank slate to work with and then their imaginations run wild. Get them walking and talking then they are beginning to become the owner's of English instead of the publishers. We thank @steemmonsters for making this class possible.

Monster 4.PNG

As long as I'm at it I will give you a bonus.

This is a phonetic chart to Romanize the Korean alphabet. Kinds learn how to write their names in English letters. They could also write their Korean monster's names using English letters.

Monster 5.PNG

After all these monsters I needed a break.

My youngest son and I went for a hike in the mountain. My older son refuses to go with us these days. He said he is too old for things like that. He just hangs out in his room and reads "Lord of the Rings". I don't know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.

My youngest son and I found the most amazing purple color.

I don't know what these things are but they stand out in the woods when everything else is almost all brown or green. I hope you enjoy the purple color as much as I did. Colors are beginning to fade and I don't think autumn will stay very long.

purple beads.PNG

At the end of the hike my son found the most incredible monster of them all. It was the leaf monster.

I remembered when I was seven years old and used to rake the yard. I would spend more time playing in the leaves then anything. Strangely I loved the smell of the rotten leaves. Seoul is a little different. It doesn't rain much in the fall and the acid rain slows down the decay process so the smell is not as good, but it still smells like fall around here. Hey, imagine being swallowed up by one of these leaf piles. Not a bad way to spend an autumn afternoon.

leaf monster.PNG

calvin leaf monster.PNG

Calvin Source

All the images here are from my cell phone except Calvin. That is definitely as symbol of Autumn. Thank you Bill Watterson.

I heard some of you miss my verse of the day so I got one especially for Halloween.

I looked, and there before me was a pale horse! Its rider was named Death, and Hades was following close behind him. They were given power over a fourth of the earth to kill by sword, famine and plague, and by the wild beasts of the earth.
(Revelation 6:8)

OK. I admit it. Today was hard for me to laugh. One of my best friends has been in ICU all weekend for what seems like cerebral meningitis. He has two teenage sons. I want him to live.

Let's hope for a Halloween miracle.

I nominate @steemmonsters to do something funny for Halloween. It would be an honor if you used the tag #comedyopenmic. Thank you.

I nominate @pumpkinnetwork to make an entry in @comedyopenmic because your project is so cute.

And dear @dreemsteem you are the best vampire writer. Please write me a funny vampire story for Halloween. I'm not the only one that wants to read it. I loved your old story:

https://steemit.com/ulog/@dreemsteem/my-life-as-a-vampire-ulog-23

I wouldn't mind hearing a part 2 and this time with a punchline.

Happy Halloween,

@mineopoly

As I was looking through the pumpkins I found one that said, "My favorite monster is Mommy."

Is that mommy you?

Sort:  

Hi mineopoly,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Thank you COM for being the Community Of M------ that you are.

Great work Christopher to find this innovative visual way to stimulate the young children. Loved all the drawings. Happy you are in the Halloween mood. 🎃 U & R

Blessings to you and peace @redheadpei,

We are enjoying the fall still here in Seoul. I remember Halloween to be mostly cold and rainy in Chicago. It is nice here in Korea.

Many blessings to you and your family, Christopher. I remember Halloween night always being rainy when trick or treating as a child. There is something mystical and magical ~still always rain & overcast that evening.

Hey friend... Idk if you need the tip. You are a Steemit vet and know as much as me, but I would have broken the content of this post into two or 3. Anyway, take care and hopefully your friend does start to recover.

Peace

Thank you for the tip @em3,

I know what you mean. It is easier to read a post when the topic is clear. I know I could break this up and I don't post often enough. Then when I do post I write everything I want to say at once. The problem (maybe not problem)... is I am not behind the computer much these days:-)

Yes, to be honest that really is not a problem. I suffer from screen addiction....so less is more. XD

heey! that is a very cool thing to see ! being a teacher myself I also like to challenge my students into various games.. (i'm a music teacher ) but sometimes between classes I'll set up a game just to keep them lured in. One of my favorites is the ''random drawing contest'' .. which we basically ask for a random thing and a random action.. and we might end up drawing stuff like a ''turtle on a motorbike'' or a ''kangaroo eating noodles'' .. whatever .. some very creative drawings are born . Kids are naturally creative in my opinion , you just need to poke the motivation out a bit. :)

I love this comment @pechichemena,

I am very constricted in most classes but work within the constrictions. Thanks for sharing your creativity exercise. Kids are in school so many hours here. For many their after school activity consists of more study academies. Ten minutes with a crayon and paper or a couple minutes to walk around in the middle of class are frowned upon but the ordered chaos does the kids a world of a difference.

Sorry to hear about your friend. Hope he gets well soon!
Did your student mean the Egyptian mummy or maternal mother? XD

Thanks for reading the story @wittywheat,

Actually he is on life support and lost all control of his muscles. He was (is) a successful professional and close friend of mine since he started graduate school about 20 years ago. No one is allowed to visit him now. He can't speak anyway.

I pray that somehow new nerves can be regenerated and somehow come back. It's been difficult especially for his wife and kids.

About the mommy. It was from a fifth grade girl and she said she definitely meant her mother and the spelling was intentional. Thanks for looking out for me.

You're most welcome @mineapoly! Too bad no one can visit your friend. I believe playing nice music or encouraging talk helps. A friend used to tell me she played classical music in the plant cell culture room and that was a reason her plant cells grew well apart from good aseptic technique. My pet dog has genetic problems such as skin disorder and weak joints yet he is happily living at age 13. Other than controlled diet (hydrolyzed protein plus vegan) and daily walking, I told I love him every single day. Korean people live a stressful lifestyle. I've seen people running down the escalator to catch a subway arriving in like a minute. For me, I'll just catch the next one if I miss the train. Have you read the book entitled "The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari?" The big shot attorney in that book collapsed in the courtroom. Lets hope for the best! Take care!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hahahahhahahahaa

Ok!!!! I'll try!!! 😂😂😂

Let's resurrect that vampire story. After all it is almost Halloween.

Thanks @dreemsteem

But I'm a little slow with my feed so put a call out on there and I will find the story faster.

Hehee yes I will!!!
Also ... I need to remember to send you a DM about something!!

Haha... you always have something up your sleeve.

Yes!!!! Lolol I do!

And I just finished the vampire post for you, but I will post it tomorrow since either have another post ready to go for now :)

I liked your story a lot and your new initiative for education. I'm not sure exactly what your new plan is but I think you can reach out to students from around the world. You love to talk and have a heart for people. Looks like you will do great.

By the way, I love your vegetarian vampire.

hehehehe thanks!!!

not vegetarian.... chocolaterian ;)

and I'll keep you updated on how the project progresses!!! :) glad you enjoyed :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 97 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow,

I haven't seen you around for a while.

it's tragic that PE is every korean's favorite class but outdoor activities are virtually nonexistent here.

and the best way to learn eng is to speak eng and stop reading about it in korean 😦

Our school has no gym and a small dirt playing field for 1600 kids. We can't even fit the whole school on the playing field at one time. Considering the dust they eat playing sports you'd think they would choose another subject.

Thank you for your support for true English education. Too much time and money goes into useless stuff. I don't know why the public is so critical of Native Speaking English teachers in the public schools.

Tomorrow is Friday already.

I'm still alive.

sounds like a typical korean school! i remember i used to play soccer in the dirt it was horrible..

eng is treated like mathematics here. it's taught through equations and algorithms lol. i can barely understand what's going on in an eng class here.

but anyways.. nothing like fridays with fried chicken and beer! 🍺

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Thank you @archdruid. I am honored. Please enjoy your weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78