Steem Monsters Logo Refresh Pt. 2

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)


steem-monsters_logo_alternate_01-500.png


If you haven't seen my latest post where I redesigned the Steem Monsters logo, head over there first so you can see my original concept. You can find that post here.

The purpose of this design is to fit in applications where the full-size logo would otherwise be too large. For example, social media avatars and the like.

steem-monsters_logo_alternate_sketch_01.jpg
Initial rough pencil sketch

As I did before, I started this piece on pencil and paper. From there, I blocked out all of the shapes in Illustrator, and added all of the complex shadows and textures inside of Photoshop. Considering I already had a reference to work from with my original design, this took me under 2 hours to complete.

I saved multiple versions at different sizes to get an idea of what it will look like at different scales. You can preview those below.


steem-monsters_logo_alternate_01-250.png
250x250 px


steem-monsters_logo_alternate_01-100.png
100x100 px

I'm the Lead Graphic Designer and Associate Art Director for the creative team at The Imagination House in Orlando, Florida. I also freelance - living, working, and traveling out of my 1984 Volkswagen Van named Nathan. If you have a project you'd like to talk about, email me at [email protected] or find me on Discord @mrgodby


tog_logo_steem_02.png


Thanks for reading! Follow us on Instagram here.
Learn more about us here.


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Again great work! the green colouring is super friendly and accessible which is great. Am looking forward to seeing a darker side/theme to this game at some point..

What are some of your influences when you're drawing this stuff?? really dig your style..

I'd have to say a lot of my inspiration for a piece like this comes from other game logos. There's a lot of great artwork coming out for different card games, and mobile games. I think someone mentioned Hearthstone as an example in my last post. You don't typically have a lot of room for illustration when designing a logo for a company or brand, but there's a lot more opportunity for illustration in a logo like this.

Your work is great! Good thinking making a small logo, after all we hope to see @steemmonsters even in our phones haha.

@javo1096

Thanks! I might have a mobile app icon in the works, so be on the lookout ;)

I just read your introduction post and I got to say that you have a new follower, the idea of traveling while doing this kind of work has always interested me. How people just pack their lives in a vehicle and hit the road. I wish you the best and hope to see your traveling adventures very soon my friend. Send my regards to Nathan!

@javo1096

Thanks for the follow, man! I'm just trying to go out there and show people that there's more than one way to live. Should open up a lot more free time for me to create more works like this.

🙚 ...as the component part from @mrgodby, as per the ShareAlike terms... 🙘

Just so you know, you don't have to give credit to yourself when you remix your own images. 😄

It is already your own work, you are just making a new version of it, so it becomes a whole new image that you can license individually from the original. As always, IANAL.

Haha, noted! I thought I had it right. Thanks again.

Wow! This is wonderful! Love it! :-)

This is really cool, do you have anything red? :)

A little more purple, not quite red, but here's another color variation. Not sure why I landed on green. I guess it's a bit more friendly compared to the red, which is more intense.

steem-monsters_logo_alternate_01-02.png

Congratulations @mrgodby! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86