SM Kickstarter Boss Fight Art Contest!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

In case you haven't heard, over 27K booster packs sold yesterday! 👏 👏 👏

The @steemmonsters Alpha pre-sale is officially over and with the SM Kickstarter having met it's initial pledge of 50K, we're onto the Beta cards, which are due to be released on October 1st. Not only did the KS campaign CRUSH its initial goal, but at the 150 backers mark, the SM community also defeated the level 1 Boss fight, which unlocked $10 daily SM Tournaments!

One boss down, one to go!

Level 2 Boss Fight - '30 Articles Of SM Themed Clothing' 🤸‍♀️


20180912_105942_HDR-1.jpg

This is my entry; a Lightning Dragon themed bikini top!

image.png

See here for full submission details.

Will we defeat him in time? I sure hope so!


Materials


materials.jpg


Assorted Acrylics & Watercolors

  1. White (initial dragon outline, wings & underbelly)
  2. Yellow (horns, hooves & SM logo)
  3. Navy Blue (main body shadow)
  4. Purple (tongue)
  5. Blue (main body & mixed /w/ #1 for wings)
  6. Burnt Yellow (horns, hooves & SM logo)
  7. WC Orange (pigment addition for SM logo, mixed /w/ #2 & #10)
  8. WC Burnt Yellow (pigment addition for horns & hooves, mixed /w/ #2)
  9. Pearlescent Liquid Acrylic (lightning, mixed /w/ #1 & #5)
  10. Gold Acrylic (SM logo)
    The arrows point to my brushes, of which I used a #4 flat tip & lastly a can of clear acrylic paint sealant to finish the job.

...And one random Bikini top


DSCN0539.JPG


Now that's out of the way, let's see how I made it!

Step 1 - L. Dragon - Outline 🖌

I started off with a plain black bikini top and used white for the base outline, as it provides the perfect primer for layering colors onto.


DSCN0546.JPG

Forgot to stop and take a progress picture before I started painting the horns, whoops...😕 They were done using straight yellow acrylic for the highlights & a mixture of burnt yellows for their cast shadows.


Step 2 - L. Dragon - Color Application 🎨

DSCN0548.JPG

Starting with my darks first (navy blue & purple), I filled out the main body shadows & tongue, before moving to the lighter blue for the highlights.

20180911_232439_HDR.jpg

The wings were done with a mixture of white & light-blue; this mix was also used as the color base for the lightning, with a few drops of the liquid pearlescent for added shimmer.

Step 3 - SM Logo - The Finishing Touch 💪

20180912_110026_HDR-1.jpg

Unlike the dragon, the SM logo was primed using straight yellow acrylic. I then mixed WC orange, WC burnt yellow & acrylic gold, to achieve a subtle transition from dark to light whilst again, adding a slight sheen. ✨

DSCN0561.JPG

And here's the finished product!

What do you guys think?

Let me know in the comments! This will be my official SM & Art posting page, though you can also follow me on my other steemit account @ascendemonkey.

Thanks for viewing & until next time,

PEACE!✌️

Sort:  

Awesome!!

Thanx homie! :P

@clove71 thank you very much! :)

Awesome well played

Wow! That's awesome!

I can't believe you just drew the lightning dragon like that... made it look so simple.

Someone download me some skills

If only it were that simple, man I'd be so many different things. XP

I think that steemmonsters selling so many booster packs is a massive achievement first of all. It's great to see any of the projects on the STEEM blockchain doing well as it bodes well for all of us here in the future.

As for your art, i love it. The painting is amazing and the bikini top in total came out very well. If that's for the competition you should definitely move to the next level.

Thanks a lot for your kind words m8, and I totally agree, the success of any project on here is GREAT for the collective as a whole. When @crystalhuman and I started back it March, it was sink or swim for us and being a complete newb to cryptocurrency was hella scary... There was also a lot of negative media going around due to whales powering down and wot-not, so when we found out about steemmonsters (being avid gamers ourselves) we were hooked!

"Wait, you mean we can play a card game and potentially win STEEM/SBD?! WUTTTTT?!" XP

I love the gaming aspect that it has and the main reason I stuck around here originally was one called steemgar. It was sponsored by cryptoctopus at the time and had a great community around it. There is also super8ballclub which I still play a good bit and has a decent payout.

It can take a while to find your place on here but I think that if you can and if you get involved with that community you're hooked. And the more time you spend here the more addicted you become to steemit and crypo in general.

There was also a lot of negative media going around due to whales powering down and wot-not.

There will always be negatives no matter what you are a part of. When I joined it was the flagging wars that were an issue. But that all stopped. And so will this story too. I just like the site so will be sticking around regardless of any rumours.

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemgar is fun as hell! I haven't played in a while, but those upvotes really helped us out in the early days on my @ascendedmonkey account.

There will always be negatives no matter what you are a part of. When I joined it was the flagging wars that were an issue. But that all stopped. And so will this story too

I concur, regardless of what you're doing someone, somewhere will probably have something fkt to say about it; might as well do what works for you and block out the rest. With anything, good or bad, if you look hard enough you're sure it. :)

I don't remember your other account and I was there through most of steemgar. It's a pity it stopped. Like you said.....

Steemgar is fun as hell! I haven't played in a while, but those upvotes really helped us out in the early days on myaccount.

Absolutly true. If it wasn't for that I might not still be here. Still there are lots of other things developing now to keep us entertained. Some of them are bound to take off.

Posted using Partiko Android

Couldn't agree with you more. I was around april/may this year, that we found out about steemgar and we stopped because the payouts started getting smaller and smaller. :( But! Thankfully there were so many other side projects going on (whaleshares, steemmonsters, etc) that I could see budding potential literally everywhere and so here we are today.lol Time will tell, but I'm definitely optimistic about what the future holds for this platform & crypto in general. :)

If only you were there at the very start when the payouts were $2-$4 for each winner. That was the very beginning though and didn't last for very long. Back the there were only about three players who won pretty much all the games but they made a few hundred in those couple of weeks. Not bad for playing a game. It's a pity it's gone, even just for the fun side of it but as you said there are so many other projects that you can get involved in and some that you can earn a bit too.

My baby at the moment is the engagement and curation league. It charts accounts over a variety of engagement categories and has a weekly league for it. There are some prizes for the best participants and you tend to earn a bit while competing too. I've noticed the difference since i joined it and have seen my account grow a lot more rapidly than it ever had before.

Great job, definitely a cool piece of art!

Thanks homie, I did my best. :)

I'm glad ye' loike eet matey! :3

@munkiioh
Glad to see that you are doing well, nice art, you are very talented!

/FF

Thanks a lot @friendly-fenix!! We wouldn't be here today without all you guys' help in our early days. *HUGGGGSSS****

Thats good to hear!!! Best wishes @munkiioh, looks like you are doing great! Nice to see!!! =)

/FF

You got a 36.71% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @postpromoter!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82