Could Not Resist the Urge to Buy More Steem Monster Packs: My First Beta Packs!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Source

As we are now hours away from the launch of battles on @steemmonsters, I thought it would be a great idea for a special edition Steem Monsters Saturday Blog! After playing some of the Beta battles last week, I realized the importance of increasing the experience levels of the cards in my collection given the abilities that are unlocked on the way upwards. I have taken the stance to wait until battles are launched completely in order to them determines those cards that will need quicker boosts to unlock abilities rather than gaining experience through battles which will also be a fun system to experience. It also made me happy to see that Alpha cards will require less combining to achieve higher levels which is great given that I have surpassed 500 packs in Alpha and am awaiting another 100 from my Kickstarter backing!

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 8.42.59 PM.png

However, as I have waited for battles to launch, I have grown anxious about two issues that I have with my situation. First, despite opening all of those packs, I am still missing the Angel of Light Legendary card to complete my Alpha set. Second, the new Beta packs have also introduced 15 new cards into the collection. Another interesting fact is that the new monster cards will be neutral which will allow them to be played no matter what Splinter Summoner is chosen. That provides great flexibility when creating teams which will be the fundamental strategy for winning battles. Given these two issues and the fact that I tend to be an over-obsessive collector of things I am passionate about, I was conflicted with deciding to wait for my Alpha packs from the Kickstarter, buy my missing cards outright or just buying more Beta packs.

First Beta Packs 10-10-18.png

The other night, I got bored and decided to take the leap and buy my first Beta packs! I thought that nothing is more enjoyable than opening packs and the fact that I will get more to open from the Kickstart campaign is just a great bonus. While I have been looking at the market closely, I am very hesitant on spending any of my STEEM crypto to buy cards I need for the collection although I do not disregard the potential of doing it in the future because I really want to have a complete collection. While I was opening the cards, I started to see new additions for my collection to come in but was ultimately disappointed that I still have not gotten my first Angel of Light! The sad part is that I used it on the beta battle and think it has some great potential on some teams that I put together. So my fingers are crossed that I will get it in my upcoming packs from the Kickstarter (if I can hold out buying more packs). I also did not get 4 of the 15 new cards added to the Beta packs so my collection is still incomplete. However, the collection continues to grow and become more powerful for the upcoming battles and tournaments:

SM Stats 10-13-18.png

I am so excited that battles are being released and have actually taken some time off from work to sit and catch up on some things as well as to sit back, relax and play some @steemmonsters. I look forward to seeing what the communities does with this great project as it continues to evolve and engage users while providing some great ways to earn some interesting prizes to grow either your collection or your Steem power! I expect some fireworks to happen as this launches and the power of the STEEM blockchain is unleashed!

Images are from the Steem Monsters Website

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

is combining cards the only way to level up your cards?

No, you can also level up cards by having them participate in battles.

And here I thought the gold foil cards will be nothing more then for collectors

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am still on the fence about getting involved as I am busy playing console games at the moment. Also, still short of the amount I need...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.895 which ranks you at #11131 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 181 places in the last three days (old rank 11312).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #120.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10