Steem Monsters Sunday: End of Season 1 and Getting Free Booster Packs!

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Source

This was another great week for not only the @steemmonsters community but also my experience with the game as battles intensified given the end of the inaugural season this past week. It seemed that the changes to the settings of the game made it more competitive as changing the way abilities impact battles makes for great strategies along the way. The development team continues to work hard in providing a great experience to the community and more incentives to play and strengthen your collection and cards with changes to rewards as well.

First Quest Completion 10-26-18.png

Screenshot is from SteemMonsters.com

The @steemmonsters team released daily quests this week which provide an opportunity to get one free beta booster pack every 24 hours upon completion. So far, the quests are randomly assigned to everyone and require 10 wins with a specific Splinter team to achieve the reward of one beta booster pack. These sometimes can be challenging as we have seen that some conflicts chosen clearly has an optimal team for certain splinters whereas others can also be sever underdogs. For example, I got the Life splinter quest when abilities were turned off. This was a severe punishment to that splinter given its dependence on certain abilities. Luckily, I was able to wait for a new conflict to begin in order to finally achieve the 10 wins. The addition of quests is a great way to incentivize players to continue playing and also allows players ways to acquire more cards for their collection. It also demonstrates the flexibility the game has to add features that reward strategy rather than sheer strength in cards.

Leagues.png

Screenshot is from SteemMonsters.com

The development team also broadened the rewards for season one this week as they opened various leagues within the ones originally established. This allowed them to expand and improve distribution of the rewards based on the rank points players achieved. For example, instead of just getting 5 packs for Gold league, they broadened each division into three and increased the rewards as players went up in those ranks. I was able to finish in Diamond II league which rewarded me with 13 beta booster packs! This incentivized players to continue playing despite achieving a certain division in order to stretch for better rewards. When these two features were added, transactions (games played) clearly increased as players saw great benefits and limited risks in playing. The lowest reward was a pack for achieving 200 points in Bronze III division. I saw large number of players achieved that minimum with just starter packs. This is great as it expands the player base as they gain experience and add to their collection.

Season 1 Results.png

Screenshot is from SteemMonsters.com

My Diamond Division II (3,103 points) success was achieved with over 400 battles which is not bad considering I was out a week due to travel this season. I finished ranked 373 which is not bad consider over 1,500 played during the season. I also played without any maxed out cards as I held the last cards received from my kickstart Alpha and Beta booster packs to determine the best next steps. However, I was able to achieve all of my quests this week which was a great way to add to my collection which I may very well need due to the intense competition being seen leading into Season 2.

Season 1 Rewards.png

Screenshot is from SteemMonsters.com

The demand for cards has continued to rise as combining cards continues to be the only way to level them up and the only way to get into the higher leveled division or rewards is to have maxed out cards which still take hundreds in some cases to combine. However, they are worth it as the top division received 30 booster packs and the top ten spots received a good amount of SBD, including 100 SBD for the first position. So cards are being picked up in masses with a preference on Alpha cards given that they take less cards to combine in order to level up. This has increased the value on most cards so we have many buying them on speculation of their increase in value. However, I have been happy holding on and accumulating these cards. I was happy with me picking up an additional 13 packs for the seasonal rewards.

Gold Lord of Darkness Beta from Season 1 Rewards.png

Screenshot is from SteemMonsters.com

Yes, this really did happen from those 13 booster packs! I was barely expecting a legendary so imagine my reaction when it turned gold! Interestingly, it is my second Gold Legendary Lord of Darkness. My other is an Alpha which means I cannot combine them so I now find myself thinking about what I can do with this extra one. I am thinking of selling it to buy another Gold Legendary or to load up on a whole bunch of Alpha cards to max out some teams that have been found to be powerful among most of the battles to improve my ability to compete at the Champions Division.

How did the season go for you? Have the latest quests and division rewards gotten you and good packs to open? What are you doing with the additional cards? Do you think maxing out cards is a must to be competitive in battle? I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments below.

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I also got some free packs from Season 1 and I only had a starters pack so I think it is great that they are opening it up to get more packs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like a really cool game, I'm glad I'm not into it because they it would compete with family and stuff and I can get a bit out of control sometimes...which is why I stopped playing fantasy sports:)

I thought the same but games are fairly quick and I normally play while I am browsing my feed here on STEEM so probably play a dozen or two games at a time now that the quest system was released. In only two weeks, they have had over 300k games played so it shows they have something that can be interesting for the blockchain in terms of engagement and growth.

I didn’t have much of anything couldn’t really grind it out because of RC issues but I got to bronze and got a couple packs form it and I got a gold foil goblin shaman

Bronze is pretty good! It gives you a flavor and lets you slowly build better teams as you continue to get packs from seasons and quests. If I am not mistaken, the game developers are providing small SP delegations if you confront RC issues. Head to their Discord for more information.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89