I Sold my Entire Collection of Steem Monsters CardssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

If you play Steem Monsters you may have noticed that I was selling a lot of cards in the market over the past week. In fact I sold so many cards that I'm down to zero cards in my account. I played Steem Monsters everyday for nearly 5 months, never ever missing a daily challenge. So why did I suddenly make the decision to end it all eight days ago.


(photo for the sake of a photo)

Obsession


Over the months I became increasingly obsessed with my Steem Monsters collection. I became addicted to building my collection as cheaply as possible. If you’ve played the game you know that this means checking the market frequently to snatch up great deals before someone else does. Once you start checking the market repeatedly throughout the day, you realize that people unload cards for cheap pretty frequently. This just fuels the addiction and thrill of checking. It became the first thing I would do when I turned my computer on and the last thing I would do before I turned it off. Towards the end I was actually spending as much time building my collection as actually playing.

The introduction of Dark Energy Crystals(DEC) token currency became the last straw for me even though I think it is good for the game. You can earn DEC for every win that you get. DEC can be converted to Steem or several other coins and tokens on the Steem Engine DEX. Prior to the introduction of DEC, most of the time I just completed my daily quest and then quit. This would usually take me anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour. However, earning DEC creates an incentive to play even more which I did. I realized that this whole thing was becoming increasingly unhealthy for me.

Uncertainty and Change

An issue nagging in the back of my mind was uncertainly of the future. I would ponder which cards would be the most useful and valuable in the future. I wondered if more advanced cards would be released in the future which would make older cards dated. A dragon splinter card with 2 attacks was recently released and obviously in the future, monsters with several attacks could exist. As a small account I also had concerns about competing. For example, the new Gold Summoners have ended up being affordable only to larger accounts.

Dealing with changes can be frustrating even if they are good for the game. A lot of players were annoyed with the change from receiving Beta packs to getting Rewards cards instead. I couldn’t complain about this since it happened before I started playing. The change with the introduction of DEC affected some of the dynamic of card pricing in that it made rarer cards especially Gold foils worth a lot. I and some others ended up selling out of Gold Foils too soon by not predicting that their value would ultimately be protected.

Conclusions

The gameplay to me is just complex enough to keep things interesting. I never really got tired of playing it. The look and feel of the game to me is solid though I wish there were a few less glitches. Sometimes I wonder if it is really the game or my slow internet speed that causes the issues.

As a beginner in the Steem platform for most people it will be easier to get some Steem playing Steem Monsters than posting on Stemmit. You can get cards everyday by completing daily quests and sooner or later you are going to get lucky and receive a card that is worth several dollars or more. And now with the addition of DEC you get Steem simply by winning games.

I took in about 230 Steem in total from selling the cards over the past week and powered it up. I'm now at about 270 SP and I was at about 60 SP when I started Steem Monsters in early January. So Steem Monsters made me a little over 200 Steem in about 5 months. That includes the game itself as well as earnings from Steem Monsters related posts.

Thanks to the creators of Steem Monsters, @rentmoney for introducing me to the game, my fellow players, and all the people who purchased cards from me. It was a fun journey and I look forward to seeing more applications which can harness the power of the Steem blockchain like Steem Monsters.

Sort:  

I have a funny feeling we will see you back in the game at some point.

As you said the game can be time consuming. I myself has taken a break for days as its certainly needed at times.

I've had the same feeling a few times this week as well. So perhaps I may get back in at some point.

I realized that this whole thing was becoming increasingly unhealthy for me.

I'm happy for you that you were able to break an un-healthy habit while profiting from it at the same time.

Thanks I think it has worked out well for me. I've been using the extra time to work on stuff I have putting off. And my one cent upvote is nice. I haven't had that since Steem was worth several dollars.

And my one cent upvote is nice. I haven't had that since Steem was worth several dollars.

Yeah, and you had a one cent upvote back then even with a lot less SP too :~)

Sorry to see you go, glad you at least enjoyed your time with us ;)

Thank you :)

Very interesting. I have had this same thought numerous times, but as I have written about in my weekly series on SteemMonsters and Drugs Wars I have INTENTIONALLY used my Drug Wars and Steem Monsters activity as BOTH a gaming experience AND (more importantly) as a "blockchain gaming" case study The SECOND aspect of the project is what prevents me from burning out (as you seem to have). So your post is also valuable to me in showing that the initial strategy I set up for MY effort has indeed been effective in warding off such burnout. Thanks a lot for sharing this. I agree with you that, considering your reasoning, it is probably best that you pulled out and took your gains (in the form of both Steem and EXPERIENCE). I would suggest finding a SUBSTITUTE for your SteemMonsters activity; perhaps something which is like likely to become (as) addictive. Good luck...

Yes, I gained a lot of experience and knowledge of what a decentralized blockchain game can be with the game itself, marketplace, and in game currency. I feel Iike I know the Steem Monsters ecosystem as well as anyone. If blockchain gaming ever becomes mainstream I'll be able to say I played one of the first ones.

I'm trying to spend time doing more important things as well as have more time for rest and relaxation. I stopped doing crypto faucets months ago and now decided blockchain gaming needed to go as well.

At some point I'm thinking of seeing what the fuss is all about with Fortnite. I usually suck at those types of games so I think its unlikely to be too addictive for me even though supposedly its the most addictive game on the planet. Interestingly, I think there are rumors that Fortnite could make use of a blockchain in the future

Yeah, the simple reality is that there are a limited number of hours in the day, and days in a lifetime. Plus, there exponentially more things we can potentially pay attention to. This is why I try taking the "meta" approach whenever possible. It's a constant challenge to find an effective "method" for dealing with #BigData, but I can attest that you CAN get better at it with practice and experience. I think that living in the moment also helps - that is enjoying things in real-time, regardless of the benefits. I will just link my new post from my series that I made today, since I think the readers of your/this post would find some additional insight in my post as well. Let me know if you have any objection to me posting this link :

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@transcript-junky/steem-monsters-drug-wars-power-strategy-tips-16

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 238 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @ninjamike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Good on ya mate. I just play em all lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87