[Steem-Bounty] Steemmonsters' New Reward Cards... What Do You Think?

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

How do you feel about the new reward cards @steemmonsters is adding? Do you like them, or not - and why? Maybe you think there are too many, or not enough... Let me know!

steemmonsters collection.jpg
Source

Variation

In the screenshot above, you see a part of the reward cards I earned today by completing my daily quest. What I like most about it is the variation. No more endless streams of Androids, Vampires and Sea Genies... what a relief. I think I have like 70 of each of those that don't fit in my decks anymore. I know, I can set them up for sale, but selling 70 vampires for $0.03 is just a little over 2 bucks. I think I'd rather give them away, then.

The series above is a nice combination of old and new reward cards. Of course I'm excited there is a Sacred Unicorn in there. The card makes playing with the Life splinter a little more fun.
But the Life splinter was already considerably stronger than the other splinters. This unicorn widens the gap even more...

I also like the Wood Nymph. She makes the Earth team even more powerful: two self-healers and 2 group healers will make it almost invincible. I also like the fact that she's only 4 mana, she can easily fit in a normal team.

I haven't tried playing the Pirate Archer yet, but the blast ability for only 2 mana doesn't seem to be such a bad deal.

And the Creeping Ooze... the fact that he's only 1 mana makes him priceless to me. I think I got my first one 2 days ago, and you can't imagine how many times I used him already. He opens so much more options when you're trying to set up a team and put all the available mana to good use.

I'm not so sure about the Naga Fire Wizard. 8 mana is a lot for a card with speed of 1 and attack of 2...
If you look at her stats, you can see she might become interesting when you level her up to 5. Still, I think 8 mana is a lot.

naga fire warrior.jpg
Source

And with 20 new reward cards coming into play, it is going to take a while before you gather enough cards to level her up.

divider.png

2 More

Two more reward cards have been released:

  • Phantom Soldier for the Death .Splinter
  • Brownie for the Earth Splinter

new reward cards.png
Source

I haven't got the Brownie yet, but he looks quite powerful for a 1 mana card. I just wonder which level he needs to be to have the abilties that are shown on the above image of a maxed card. But I'm sure he will come in handy anyway.

The Phantom Soldier, however... The Death splinter already has the Lord of Darkness as a high mana card, and I think I would prefer him over her. But time will have to tell. I do have the card, but haven't played it yet.

divider.png

20 Cards!

So for now we've got 7, and there are 13 more to come. I assume variation will be guaranteed in the future. Don't get me wrong, this is a good thing. I don't think I could handle to open another 100 vampires and archers. But it will make it harder to get enough cards to level up.

Even before this new series of reward cards was released, I often forgot about the Magic Sphinx and Hydra when assembling a team. They are tucked away down there in the bottom corner. This will get only worse when all 20 new reward cards have come into play.

As you can see, I have mixed feelings about the new reward cards.
And then I'm not even taking the future value of all cards into consideration...

divider.png

Steem-Bounty

I'm adding a 7 Steem @steem-bounty to this post.

I'd like to hear how you feel about the new reward cards. What do you think the pros and cons are? How do you feel about the individual cards we have seen so far?

Let me know in the comments section below.
I will reward all valuable comments with a small upvote. Once this post reaches payout, these comments will receive a share of the @steem-bounty.


signature.png



Want to join Steemmonsters? Click the banner below!


footer.png
Source


Sort:  

@noekie has set 7.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Yeah the more the merrier with the reward cards because we do not get beta cards anymore with rewards so its good now that the people playing the game get better reward cards. You got the sacred unicorn in the pack. Congrats. I got lord whatshisname just there . Happy out

I like all the new reward cards I received so far, but it's only 2. I like that there are some with 1 Mana. Hopefully I score a unicorn soon. I need to level up my summoners cuz I'm getting killed in silver 2

Can't get passed the life bots?

Exactly. 😾

I think the new cards are very cool and some of the better cards in the deck to play at the lower levels.

Why only at the lower levels?

All the rewards card aren't out yet so my statement may not be true but some of the new rewards cards are very powerful at entry level but are weaker in comparison to other cards at higher level. For example the unicorn is currently one of the most powerful cards to play in the lower levels. Its so over-powered at lower levels that its already scheduled to get a debuff.

Congratulations on the Sacred Unicorn! It's my current favorite that I still haven't won.

I'm actually loving the new reward cards. The original 10 was mostly just meh. I only loved few of them like the Dragon summoner and Mushroom Seer. Some other cards get better when leveling up like the magic users.

New cards on the other hand are awesome. Wood Nymph is a must used one along with Flesh Golem. I also got two gold cards from rewards too:


The Pirate Archer is also seriously great for a level 1 rare card that only cost 2 Mana. I assme they'll release 1 more Legendary card and 2 more Epic cards which I'm really looking forward to. I have Level 2 Lord Arianthus and I don't even use that card.

You can see my full collection here: https://peakmonsters.com/@vimukthi/collection

I'm fairly positive about the way new cards were handled. But they could be just starting with the best stuff. Based on the recent posts @steemmonsters will be giving away less cards in the future. So we did well getting in early to the game.

It was indeed smart to get into the game early, with all the free booster packs and the tons of reward cards. People who are starting now have it way more difficult. If you don't have any extra money to spend, you can never get your deck passed level 1...

They are cool. And it is normal that they requires a leveling up to a high level. The game requires creating an artificial scarcity of cards to prevent card inflation and the collapse of the cards marketplace, and one way to do it is forcing leveling up to higher positions.

Yes, you're right, but once again the people with money have the advantage here...

I think the new cards are a great addition to the game although (as you mentioned) it will get harder to level them up. But I am still glad to finally be able to receive some new cards :)

I think the majority of the cards won't be used much, but I do agree with you "Brownie" looks useful. In my point of view, they are using this method to balance the game and make some summoners reliable.

What do you mean with 'making some summoners more reliable'?

I feel like 2-3 of the current summoners are not strong enough, they are "out of meta".

I really like the new cards and the way they are releasing them one at a time, it keeps the game from getting stale it helps the excitement of getting a new card and changing your decks and just injects a fresh life into the game

I also like to see the ablities are now becoming more apparent of each monster and the fights are becoming a lot more unpredictable

I definitely agree on the fact that the battles become more unpredictable...

I really like the official 20 award cards, which add some deficiencies, but I don’t know if I can get them in the future? If can not, will affects her upgrade!

Why wouldn't you be able to get them in the future?

Because office said these 20 are reward cards.
reward card doesn't exist anytime, isn't it?
The next 20 bonus card may will be replaced with another new 20 reward cards.
So the reward card in this group,
After the event, I don’t know them what time will come back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15