Steem Monsters Art - My original character "Bloodlust"

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

This time I dared to participate in the SteemMonsters contest. I hope you like it.

bestia11.png

Sketch
Inspired by the creatures of some horror video games, I made this sketch to then scan it and apply color in Illustrator.

Captura.JPG
Drawing made on cardboard with a pencil

Process

1.I inserted the main sketch of the drawing in Illustrator. With the pen I began to create the layers of the body with the base color.

1.png2.png

2.After having made the skin, I began to detail the head of the beast, little by little every detail.

3.png
4.png

3.For more realism I created more layers for the shadows (this gives depth and a 3D effect to the image). Without the shadows the drawing would look poor and without work. For me, shadows are a very important part in any art (painting, drawing, digital art), but it does not look that easy. We have to imagine very well where the shadow should go, this is according to the imaginary illumination of the drawing. Yes, everything is imagination.

5.png
6.JPG

4.After having made a great part of the body with details, the most important thing is missing. The weapon! Remembering the infinities of games I've played in my life, where I always had to kill the bad guys again and again (like Doom for example), I got creative with the weapon, so that this character was agile on his mount.

And of course there was also missing, his "pet".
11.JPG
8.png

5.I was not happy with the sketch I made of the pet, it looked like a harmless bulldog. So, why not add armor?
9.png
10.png

And this was the result of approximately 26 hours of work. I present to you Bloodlust.

bestia.png


SteemMonsters Card

Source


I am a beginner working in Adobe Illustrator, I had no order in the layers and ended up creating too many. But if you do not try you do not learn, I had always worked in Photoshop and I think that Illustrator achieves much better results.

Well, I say goodbye. I hope you have enjoyed this art, although it is a little macabre.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

I congratulate you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94