Steem Monsters

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

I finally joined up with Steem Monsters to see what all the fuss is about. I have only sunk about $20 into it right now just to get my feet wet. So far it is interesting. The no action required gameplay surprised me at first, but it makes sense in a blockchain based environment. This gameplay style puts a huge emphasis on card selection and order of said cards. The frequent adjustment of the rules of the game also keeps the meta from getting stale or people just net deckings the best solution. With the queue times, it's really a good game to play while you are doing something else (like writing a Steem post).

I've sold a few cards on the market, most of which I've just pumped back into buying a few more decks. I've kept a little of the profit so I'm probably made back $1 of my initial investment. I don't think I'm quitting my day job yet...

I'm not sure whether it will keep my attention long term or not yet. It still feels a little too heavily weighted toward pay to win, rather than a strategy heavy title. It will take a user a long time to take the initial $10 investment and free play the rest of the way to competitive. My other big complaint is you get to level up some of your monsters, but you can't actually use their new leveled form until you level up the appropriate summoner, which is actually harder to level up than some of the monsters due to card rarity. I wish it was a little easier to level up one's summoner.

That is all for now. I'm going to try and play a few more games before I go to bed.

Sort:  

Nice to hear you're enjoying it.

About your complaints though:

  1. Low-leveled users are at a slight disadvantage currently, but that won't be for too long! Soon there will be tournaments, which will allow all players to participate in them and even equally in some, because there will also be level-capped tournaments. Most tournaments won't have very low level caps, but some will and that is where you can win!

Besides, you can already win quite a lot in comparison to the big guys. If you wish to compete at champion level you may want to have maxed cards, but that's not all that matters. You can still compete at your own level, win and upgrade your team, slowly growing through the ranks. If you look at other blockchain games, this is really not pay to win, it actually puts you at a significant growth advantage over larger players.

  1. Leveling summoners is sometimes annoying, but it's not all that bad, really. If you level for example 7 monsters and 1 summoner, you're probably going to spend twice as much on those monsters as on that summoner. Yup, it may be annoying, but that's how it works. I may be able to trade you some summoners if you wish, since in total, I got about 171 beta summoners I'm not using.

Hi, @rantar!

You just got a 1.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88