Are @Steem-Monster Alpha Booster Packs Truly Sold Out ? ( 2 Steem Giveaway )

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Source

All the Alpha Booster packs on steemmonter.com are sold out or are they ? ( More on that later ) On top of that the @steemmonsters kickstarter has surpassed its goal. Over-all it's been an exciting day for the @steem-monster community and I don't want to be the one to burst that bubble but I have this lingering question that perhaps you more knowledgeable monster maniacs can answer or possibly the creators themselves, @aggroed and @yabapmatt.

Now looking at the Kickstarter page some of the packages still contain Alpha Packs. For example look at the $25 Kickstarter package below As you see it contains 10 Alpha booster packs.

So there are still more Alpha cards to be found and if your quick you can head on over to the kickstarter pageand get some before its too late. So once the kickstarter is over and those Aplha packs are all sold then there is no more chance to get any .... Right ? Well from memory alone I remember an announcement stating that we will be allowed to have a one time purchase of 100 Alpha packs for $500 at some point ( with all the sales money going towards tournaments ).

This leads me to the quetion....

Are Alpha booster packs truly sold out ?

  • If all accounts can have a one time purchase of 100 packs for $500 then there is essentially unlimited packs as we would just need a second / third account to keep buying the 100 packs. Unless there is a time limit or the creators decide to not offer the one time purchase anymore this means there is an unlimited supply of Alpha cards for those willing to make multiple accounts and spend $500 a pop. Which would only hurt the value of the current cards in circulation.

# Lets hear your opinions on the subject below in the comment section. I have placed a 2 steem bounty on this topic.

What is @steem-bounty

@steem-bounty is a reward placed on a topic that is distributed to the participants in the topic. 95% of the bounty is distributed according to the votes from the bounty creator. 5% or the rest of the bounty is determined by votes of everyone else that voted on the comments. This initiative was started by @knircky.

Sort:  

@rentmoney so if 300k packs have been sold , some have been put aside for the kickstarter. And if you can pull open data from the sm db it would show number of alpha cards in existence? Yes still confused for backers with higher pledges generating alpha cards over the years. I know this isn't your answer but I guess we will both wait and see

Posted using Partiko Android

Are Alpha booster packs truly sold out ?

Not yet. As you mentioned, the Kickstarter still got some tiers with alpha packs in them. Here you should note, though, that no new packs are being created for the Kickstarter purchases. The SteemMonsters developers/founders reserved some Boosters for the KickStarter.

After that, however, it should be sold out. I also remember hearing something about the possibility of buying 100 packs for $500, but I got no idea where I did and all information I got elsewhere seems to counter it.

On the SteemMonsters Discord server, the founders (aggroed & yabapmatt) said that they are trying to keep the total amount of alpha packs at 300k. If they're going to keep selling them as 100 packs for $500, that's obviously not going to work.

There is one thing, however... As mentioned earlier in this comment, there are quite some booster packs that are reserved to be purchased through KickStarter. However, it's a possibility, of course, that not all tiers sell out. This would leave some booster packs remaining. Where will they go?

Now I wouldn't mind them being burned, but I'd very well understand it if they're instead sold for $500 per 100 packs. It'd make sense in some way. This would mean the supply is still finite though and limited to 300k.


I feel like they shouldn't be sold further. Once all the 300k packs are sold and belong to their rightful owners, alpha packs should be over. People are currently keeping some of the booster packs unopened, willing to sell them later on for a profit. That'll hopefully be the only way to get Alpha Packs in the future.

I believe the 100 packs for $500 was listed on the kickstarter page but has since been removed.

I never thought about the Alpha packs that might be left over from the kickstarter. I bet they sell them or offer them in giveaways. I think a burn is unlikely but possible.

Giveaways would also be a good option, yeah.

They removed the Alpha Artifact tier, but I can't remember seeing 100 packs for $500 on there. I suppose it's possible I missed it though :P

I think at 1 point we won't be able to get alpha cards anymore.

I think so to but at what point ? If the 100 packs for $500 is a go ahead with no time limit then that changes the dynamics of the SteemMonsters cards value. Some are heavily invested ( not me ) so I think its an important question.

Well I am invested in with about 150 packs, so I care alot :)

But I don't really understand it that well.

As should everyone from game players to investors. I purchased 30 total and invested $50 into the kickstarter. Not much compared to what others have but still I think I raise a good point about the 100 packs for $500.

I recall they were deducted from the total and the alpha relic removed so these cards are likely accounted in that metric.
Not sure on the 100 conversion think they changed that, however maybe they are reserved packs good question.

Hopefully one of the creators sees this topic and can shine some light on my question. Perhaps those who are more involved in the game or the ones that are more heavily invested know the answer .. @clove71 / @davemccoy / @o07 / @dosdudes / @steemmonsters / @steem-monsters / @peakmonsters

Cool.This Steem monsters product has really taken off.
I hope you are doing well with this.

So far so good .... On my first $2 investment I found a card worth $700 +

I think that the alpha packs are sold out and I missed my opportunity to get any :(

Someplace they said that if the alpha packs sell out before the kickstarter is over that they would swap them for beta packs.

If you can muster up $25 there is still some in the kickstarter packages being offered. Have you been checking out all the contest and competing in them for free cards / booster packs ? There are many Steemians that offer cards and packs in various contests.

Edit : Yes I read about the swap also but for the time being they are still advertised with Alpha backs so I am lead to believe that is what comes with them until it says otherwise.

I just sent you a card to add to your collection :)

I see you sent 2 SBD to Steem Bounty for this post. What happens next?

Everyone that I upvote gets a share of the two Steem.

So in addition to your upvote they get bonus Steem.
Sounds good

Correct, paid out at post payout.

I believe there was a finite number of "guaranteed" alpha packs set aside for the Kickstarter early bird packages which were limited in terms of availability. The subsequent kickstarter packages at the same price points will then include Beta packs.

At least that's how I understand it.

I agree about the Kickstarter Alpha packs ...

  • What do you think of the 100 packs for $500 ? If its available as a one time purchase to each account ... to me that essentially means there are unlimited Alpha packs for those willing to spend $500 at a time.

I recall reading (or maybe hearing on a live stream or something) that the alpha packs for the kickstarter bundles would be deducted from the pre-sale "stock" so I suspect that is indeed all that is left.

As for the 100 packs for $500, I can't recall hearing that offer, but given that the commentary has always been only 300K alpha packs in production, I can't really see how that offer could be upheld without losing a bucketload of credibility. Is it possible that it was thrown up as a suggestion in discord or something?

I thought it was announced on the kickstarter page but I am not 100 % certain of that. It could of been on the official steemmonster page or an update post. I am however 100 % sure that It was announced at some point not that long ago.

You're right. I asked about it on the Steem Monsters show this morning

(Here's the dlive link: https://dlive.io/livestream/steemmonstershow/9d7022a1-b6e2-11e8-91a3-0242ac110003).

It was apparently on the kickstarter very briefly, but was pulled due to selling out of the allocated Alpha Packs (sounds like it was a contingency to sell the last of them if there was any left before the beta release).

If I had to guess .... the @steemmonster team decided against the 100 for $500 idea after getting some feed back. From my understanding of the announcement I seen it wasn't just left over packs they intended on selling. Which is likely why they included ... all funds will be used for tournaments.

Here is a quote from another fund raiser they are doing similar to KickStarter which leads me to believe I am correct with my assessment.

Limitations- 300k alpha card packs total

We heard loud and clear from the community to stick to the total number of packs to be issued. Alpha packs are sold out. These are the only remaining options to receive them.

Link : https://fundition.io/#!/@sm-fundition/723t98xv5

I will give the DLive a listen to sometime tomorrow. Thanks for the link.

That certainly supports your assessment. Whatever the reasoning behind pulling the offer, I think it's the right decision for both their credibility and maintaining the integrity of the original alpha release

Agreed, I am happy the offer has been pulled.

I never got in on the steemmonsters but enjoy learning how it is going. My guess is they r telling the truth. I don’t think the creators, who are also witnesses, would lie about the how many are sold.

I don't think they are lying. I was just pointing out to those who want more Alpha packs that if they invest in the kickstarter its still possible to get them.

The 100 Packs for $500 ( if true ) could be a limited amount / time offer with packs that were already removed from the original 300,000 or many other things. The info regarding seems to be removed so maby they decided against doing it due to previously saying there was only 300,000 packs.

Rent, my use of ‘lie’ is too strong. Miscalculation might be better and that is always possible to happen.

all accounts can have a one time purchase of 100 packs for $500

I haven't heard this @rentmoney but then I have only recently got involved.

The thing that puzzles me is how all the cards that are already in circulation will get paid if there's only 10 tournaments a day. But maybe I've got the 10 tournaments bit wrong.

It's all a bit mystifying to me and, although it's been said, there will be games for people just starting out the emphasis seems to be more on the big players who know what they are doing.

For much of it we will have to wait and see how it plays out. I just hope the game designers know what they are doing. There seems to be a lot going on already with the cards. But maybe it seems that way because it's all new to me.

Have you played these types of games before? Or something similar? Pokeman for example.

I have not ... I am as new as new can be when it comes to these type of games.

If you haven't already, check out @davemccoy's tutorial pieces. I've found them helpful so far in getting my head around things.

Yeah. Thanks @sparkesy43 I have been reading those and Dave has very kindly been answering my many questions. 😁

Yeah Dave is definitely a gem. Top Shelf Bloke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13