The story of when I was briefly a Champion

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

The story of when I was briefly a Champion

tweezer2.gif

I realize sometimes when I'm about to brag about these things that I'm actually just announcing to the world that I spend a lot of time playing an online card game. Well, it's better than all that time I spent playing Mario Kart back in the day, I suppose because at least these cards are worth money. I could probably sell my Mario Kart game to Gamestop and get one booster back.

tweezers1.gif

It's true, though. My rating hit 3700 and I saw this alert:

Screenshot 20190107 16.08.40.png

I didn't stay there for long. When you're in the Champion League, you start to recognize the names of the people you're playing against, because they're powerful Steemians with maxed-out cards. I'm working on my cards, and they're coming along, but it'll be a while until they're maxed out. The rewards cards will most likely get there first since I'll be getting so many of them.

The last quest I completed, I was back in the Diamond League, unfortunately. I hear tales of players receiving even more rewards cards for finished quests when they're in the Champion League. You get 15 in the Diamond League, which is nothing to shake a stick at.

The first ten I got yesterday had some nice surprises, good cards for rewards:

Screenshot 20190107 19.53.45.png

I'd never seen the Creeping Ooze card before, but it's interesting. It only costs 1 mana to use, but it slows the other player down. If you use that along with swiftness or another slowing, you can sometimes defeat their first Melée player before they even get to attack. Obviously, no one strategy works in every scenario, but sometimes speed is a great strategy. If you get someone who just puts a big dumb player up front and tries to attack you from the back, sometimes you can get rid of that big dumb player before they even get to start playing. It's great.

Sort:  

Getting to champion is quite a feat to brag about. I've only been there three or two times and it feels crazy, you almost can't play unless you want to be ranked down to the lower leagues, lol.

But it's okay, at least you manage to get a tooooon of cards at the end of the season!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79