A hypothetical Steem-Monsters-Backed Coin

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

So I was thinking about Steem Monsters and recursion, because I'm always thinking about recursion a little bit. Once you learn Scheme it never really stops. Anyway, we all know what @steemmonsters is by now, right? I'm going to drop their logo is so the post has an image:

I have 1030 Steem Monsters cards. I honestly have no idea what any of them are; I glanced at the starter pack but did not store any of it in my memory, and I haven't opened the boosters yet. I'm aware you can look at the chain transaction and see my cards, but please don't spoil them for me. If I were actually implementing this idea I'd use the specific cards, but for system design spitballing we can use general averages.

So I was thinking, what about tokenzing my cards? I could issue a Steem-Monsters-Backed-Coin (further SMBC, but not that SMBC) where each coin was exchangeable for one card in the set, picked at random. I'd issue 1030 coins, set up a public list and RNG, and then sell off some or all of the coins for the average price of a card in the set. The average price for a SM card seems to be around 0.33 STEEM at the moment, so let's assume I sell 300 coins for 90 Steem, and keep the rest.

There are clearly some trust issues here. While I don't immediately see anything the coin holders could do to mess with the system, the coin issuer could scam in all sorts of different ways. Some of those are fixable with public transactions, but some are inherent to the system: on the most basic level, while you could see me selling off all the valuable cards in the blockchain transactions, you couldn't do anything to stop me. However, for the purposes of the rest of this post, we're going to assume I can find some people willing to trust that I'm more interested in playing fair with this system that I am in ripping them off. (I think that's a pretty strong trust proposition for me specifically.)

Here's where it gets fun

Hopefully when they get the game running Steem Monsters will have a multi-level security system, so there's one key to access playing the game and one key to buy/sell/trade/gift/combine cards. This seems like it's an essential feature for anyone wanting to let their kids play the game, but it's useful for our purposes, too.

Anyone who owned SMBC would also have the right to play using the deck. Since playing never loses money/resources, playing activity would increase the value of the SMBC at least by the amount of leveling gained by the cards. It's hard to come up with a plan for distributing prizes before we know how they're going to work but likely there would be several methods to choose from, from simply passing on the prize to the player who wins them to collectivizing them within the coin somehow.

Some questions if anybody wants to play around with this idea:

  1. How would you want prizes distributed if you were a player?
  2. How would you want prizes distributed if you were a passive holder of the coin?
  3. If new cards are to enter into the deck via prizes, do they generate new tokens? Who gets them?
  4. Is there a fair way to collectively trade, buy, or make card combination decisions in order to improve the power of the deck?
  5. Is this good or bad for Steem Monsters' business? Should they encourage it? Should they try to prevent it?
  6. Do you have an idea for a game we can implement to run on SMBC? Recursion is fun.

I have no actual plans to do this at the moment, I just though it was a fun thing to think about.

Sort:  

So I was thinking about Steem Monsters and recursion, because I'm always thinking about recursion a little bit.

Is it because you did it that one time?

I did it once, and then I did it again, and all hope was lost.

In college my roommates once got high on shrooms and tried to prove me by induction, because that's the sort of people we are. (They didn't succeed, though, so I'm still not sure if I exist.)

Just take the limit of infinite recursion of thought. Decartes' your uncle!

As I think about it, this is also something a top SM player could do without letting anyone else play, in order to raise some cash based on their playing ability without reducing the power of their deck. You'd need more rules for how a coin-for-card exchange could happen but I don't think that's a problem.

That has a lot of interesting implications for game design outside of just this one game as well.

Congratulations @tcpolymath! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate to the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestockes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 86 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @tcpolymath! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99