I need to post about Steem Monsters to make up for some of the money I'm spending on Steem Monsters.

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

In the last couple of days I've spent about $300 on individual cards on @peakmonsters, focusing on betas that I think are underpriced for the purpose of building up a strong playing repertoire and getting more packs for more development.



I've been focusing on Fire, not because I think it's great but because Fire cards are cheap. Fire seems to be the least-liked faction right now, but it's unlikely the game designers are going to let that go on forever, so picking up cards now seems like a good plan.

In addition, the current rewards are more about persistence than they are about either skill or card quality. There are plateaus it's hard to get past without cards of a certain level, but which cards of a certain level aren't hugely important except for the people competing for spots in the top 10. Fire may be the weakest faction, but its leveled-up cards are still good enough to work your way to good rewards.

I've also been grabbing up some cheap cards in the other factions as they become available, so that I don't have to drop down too far to complete my daily quests. I have a feeling betas are still going to be cheap for another half-million packs or so, and my hope is to build up a complete set of maxed-out first-issue cards (in second-issue) through rewarded packs and patient and persistent buying in the market.

My first shot at the Fire team, around Summoner level six, managed to get me into the 13-pack level during No Legendaries at the beginning of the competition. I've been building it up since then, and should have maxed levels on at least Malric, Phoenix, Serpentine Soldier, and Fire Beetle before it's time to make a run at the end of the period. And working on some of the others - the one hangup is Fire Demon, which hasn't come down in price to somewhere I like it yet. The others have just been a little slow.

Sort:  

150 days to go to recoup your investment through upvotes!

That's actually not a bad ROI

I guess if it gives me something to post about. If I could have posted anyway then that money spent doesn't make any difference.

haha I know the feeling. I find myself spending a lot and doing almost exactly what you have outlined above, except I picked water to focus on. I should write one of these posts to get a little back too...

We're right about the same rating, too. I thought about water, but I have a bunch of alpha golds in water so I can make a half-decent team without buying a bunch just yet.

That's why there have been so many cards getting bought up! Ha ha. Good for you, man!

I FEEL THE TITLE OF THIS POST SO HARD

steemmonsters is gonna be the death of me

I've been enjoying Fire as well for my main. For most of the current season I'm just farming the dailies with lower splinters before I make a push for ranking. I made it into champ III last time with a level 6 summoner and lower cards. I felt a certain combat rule was in my favor and I went for it hard during those 48 hours.

Has been a fun game of waiting for a good opportunity to go for it and holding back so I'm not struggling for those dailies.

Yeah, I should have done that. Once I started getting matched up against the guys with 9000 points all the time, it's really difficult to lose my way down to a level I can win with the medium teams. (And of course those are the teams running bots so they're always available.)

I just tried SM recently and it is fun, but I never thought that it might be profitable. Maybe I'm looking at this all wrong.

The available ROI for buying a minimally-functional team of each element and just completing the daily quests is quite high. Maybe a $10 investment beyond the starter pack for one pack a day in rewards indefinitely, and an extra three or so every two weeks.

Oh. I just started playing with the starter pack plus three extra cards. The first two quests were pretty easy to finish, but I'm apparently not equipped for the higher-mana rules.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Hi @tcpolymath!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.674 which ranks you at #1558 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1555).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 425 contributions, your post is ranked at #95.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Cracking me up with the title of your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09