Are You Kidding Me, Steem Monsters?!steemCreated with Sketch.

image.png

I'm getting more frustrated with the Steem Monsters rewards. Not only are they much less rewards than previous seasons, but the cards that are given are the worst of the bunch.

Nothing like finishing off a rough day with getting FOUR Vampires as half of your rewards.

Ugh.



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Interesting, @themanwithnoname.

I wonder how wide spread a phenomenon this is. I mean, I'm sure you're not the only one, but I'm wondering if it's happening to certain tiers? Have you been asking around to see if others are experiencing similar rewards?

Early today I read a post by wizardave who seemed pretty happy with the way things were going with his game play. I didn't ask him about recent rewards, so that might still be something happening to him, too, just not something he decided to mention for some reason.

What about talking to either of the guys behind this. Is there a discord channel? I mean, I know it's supposed to be random and everything, and a part of random is getting multiple of one card, but after a while, it does seem to reach the point of ridiculousness, and it certainly doesn't seem to help morale.

I hope things get worked out. Sounds like you need a break from stress, not more stress.

I haven't asked per se, but I know they still don't have rules that help discourage getting repeats of terrible cards. Steem Monsters fixes issues faster than most other companies/games, but this is one that I would really like to see changed quickly. It's often tough to complete quests and the main reason for competing is the rewards. When you get a bunch of crappy cards, there's not much incentive to play.

I checked wizardave's account and it looks like he has level 7 summoners. That means he can use cards that are almost maxed out. I mainly have level 4 summoners. It's a whole different world.

There is a discord channel, but they say not to message the creators directly as it takes them away from programming. There isn't a big team running it, so time is in short supply.

Yeah, I play the game as a break from the stress, but recently it's been giving more stress than relieving it. Maybe time to take a break.

after a while, it does seem to reach the point of ridiculousness

Ha ha, you do have a way with words!

My friend, you received a rare that is not a Mushroom Seer or a Flame Imp. Congrats...

Hey, at least there were two rares!

runsandhides

Ha ha, yeah I think they should rename "rares" as what they really are: "uncommon." Most games have common, uncommon, rare, and epic/legendary. I think SM marketed the uncommons as rares to make people more likely to buy packs. It's a smart move. I think fewer people would have bought cards if they were only guaranteed an "uncommon" card.

I can relate. I'm overwhelmed with the amount of Sea Genies I've gotten. My blue summoner is low level enough that it doesn't make any sense for me to combine them, and they're worth basically nothing, so I'm just sitting on them for now.

If you get the summoner high enough, sea genie has strengthen to give your monsters more health. Until then, it's not a great card. Overpriced for what it brings to the table. I wish they would have made more summoners in the reward cards so that you could eventually move up without paying a ton for summoners.

They want you to spend money. The thing I don't think they anticipated was how challenging it would be to get new non-steem users into the game. So booster pack sales have dried up, and the secondary speculator market has a bunch of cards sitting on it. For me, I don't see an incentive to level up, because the reward cards are not worth what it would take me to get them. The only variable in this is if you get really lucky with a valuable card that people are actually buying. But at that point you're not playing a game, you're playing the lottery.

I get that they want people to spend money, but it's generally not worth the investment, in my opinion. Sometimes you get lucky and get a good card, but most of the time you're going to be better off just buying the card on the market. They've been stuck around 500,000 packs for quite a while now. I think the whole "multiple passwords" aspect of Steem adds to some of the confusion for non-Steem users.

I'm struggling to stay interested right now. I've missed multiple quests and don't feel too bad about it. I think switching people away from the Beta cards (where they could get summoners and level up) to reward cards was a poor move.

The reward cards are ok, but many of them are situational cards, they can't be used in any battle. Also, because they are making 400,000!!! of each common, there is a glut of worthless cards on the market.

I think they would have been better off by creating a market where people sell to the game and buy from the game. Then the game always gets a cut. Make it so people can't transfer for free. If you want to sell, you sell at a set price that's lower than the buy price. Then SM makes a profit on every card they exchange. It would make them less dependent on pack sales.

The first thing that made me less interested was when they decided to not let you level up your cards through playing. But it was still OK because at least you could level up with Daily Quests and Season Rewards since they were Betas. Now I'm stuck with Level 4/5 summoners, no desire to sink more money into the game, and no clear path forward for improvement. I'm hoping they've got something up their sleeve, but I'm starting to lose hope.

I'm a big fan of that life link ability. There's gotta be a neat way to use that guy as he levels up. As it sits at the low level he gets destroyed very easy and works in very specific cases.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you can play a levelled vampire he might help in a high mana game. But it's still 50/50 whether he gets killed in the first round or survives.

I'm not a very big fan. "Heal" is much better. With life leech, if the monster misses, you get no extra life. If the monster hits armor, you get no extra life. It's just easier to have a monster with heal. Besides, at that mana cost, it doesn't really make sense to use. That's just my opinion though. If you've found a use for it, then good for you!

Thanks for stopping by!

I don't know anything about them but the posts I see people seem to be happy. Maybe someone will see this post and make you happy.

Aww, such a nice sentiment. Thanks!

There are indeed way too many Vampires. They don't even get sold anymore. So in stead of selling them, I am creating a second line of Vampire to Power up!
Luckily I didn't receive one yesterday! But is has been a long time that they were missing in the reward cards. Not only the Vampire is lot's of time present but also the Rusty Android!
Cheers.
Peter

I guess it's just the state of things right now. I miss when you could actually get cards that would help you level up.

Good luck with your second line of Vampires!

Yesterday's pull was a nightmare. From the 8 cards I did have 3 Vampires and 3 Highland Archers :(
We can level up the reward cards but if you want to grow you will need to upgrade the summoner, which has to be bought directly or with luck via a booster pack!

I've decided to just sell my cards and buy the ones I want... I think vampires don't sell very well though. The worst part is that there are bots using the same cards over and over again and I never get any of those cards! I guess I'll just have to wait for the end of this season for when the bots stop playing to be able to rise in ranks, because until now I've only fallen and falled and fallen..

I know what you mean about waiting. There are a lot of people who wait because as soon as you get too high you can't win at all. That's a problem with the current state of the game. You should be able to challenge at any level and just use those monsters. Oh, well.

Hi @themanwithnoname!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.927 which ranks you at #4066 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 4057).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05