"Steem Monsters" (+ "Drug Wars") - Power Strategy Tips #9

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot (1).png

As I have now been playing Steem Monsters for over three months (and recently added Drug Wars to the mix this past month), I have wanted to contribute something of ACTIONABLE value to my fellow players (and FUTURE players) - but NOT just fill my Steemit feed with daily images of quest reward SPAM (no offense to those doing so). Ultimately, Steemit is about ADDING VALUE to the social experience - that is the magic of blockchain technology. So, after some serious pondering, I decided that a weekly "Steem Monster (+ Drugs Wars) player strategy diary" type series, with CONCISE and ACTIONABLE tips, would be of most value to my audience. Please let me know your thoughts (good and/or bad), and I hope that readers (now and into the future) will benefit from this series. If you gain a better understanding of blockchain, gaming, "blockchain gaming", marketing, and/or any other area of knowledge I end up exploring as this series naturally progresses, then I will have done my "good deed" (of providing value) for the week. Also, feel free to hit me up on the battlefield...

@transcript-junky

** [DISCLAIMER : This update is a few days late, mainly because my laptop (and hard drive) melted down earlier in the week, and I had been too busy to backup the original post I had written (shame on me, but "live and learn"). Well, this at least forced me to revise the rather long original post, so you are getting a more refined version).

1 ) Aside from the last three days my computer was down, I was able to complete roughly four (out of seven) of the daily quests in SteemMonsters last week. This was important, because I had set as my goal the desire to MAINTAIN my activity on @steemmonsters while ALSO diverting some attention to getting further up-to-speed with @drugwars. I have also decided that (since sometimes I MISS a daily quest as a result of being busy/overwhelmed/etc.) it is likely best to set an ALTERNATIVE goal of playing enough SteemMonsters each day to move up ONE LEVEL. In this way, I am also able to increase my number of season reward cards, AS WELL AS the number of reward cards I get for each quest.

2 ) As a result of the fact that I simply cannot maintain DAILY play of SteemMonsters AND Drugwars, AND since I am realizing that getting up-to-date information about the game is AS IMPORTANT as actually PLAYING, I have decided to set a more concrete METRIC for my consumption of Steemit posts from the #steemmonsters and #drugwars hashtag pages. I have decided that "reading ONE post from each of the hashtags each day" is a HEALTHY amount of reading to stay informed about what's happening with the game, AND not miss oppoortunities. For example, @drugwars made some major changes in the past two weeks, and I would NOT have know about these, NOR taken advantage of them (for example, the airdrop of FUTURE tokens by @drugwars) had I not been keeping up with their posts. Consuming and upvoting these posts is ALSO an opportunity to support the projects with my upvote $$$.

3 ) In line with #2 (above) I have also started reading the Drug Wars "blackpaper", and following some of the excellent new features they have been rolling out (ex. the new YouTube channel (by @zainenn ) - first episode here :

DrugWars - DrugDose #1 by Zainenn

By consuming content by the community each day I feel MORE CONNECTED with the game(s) and communit(ies), and this is a MAJOR pre-emptive measure to avoid getting bored and losing interest in the daily ACTIVE playing of the games.

4 ) I decided that since my production of ALL THREE assets was growing too slowly I would experiment a little to see IF I could a bit over my "storage capacity" of all assets, and if so HOW MUCH I could push it. The goal is to build my assets faster. Since other players CANNOT see the assets of their "prey's" account when they initiate a battle I figured it would be worth taking a HEALTHY amount of risk, with the goal of simply speeding up the process of building my assets. In fact, I would use some of the additional gains from taking this risk to buy up additional storage capacity for all three assets FASTER, and so the risk actually REDUCES risk while also increasing gain. I have started with pushing over the limit by JUST A LITTLE bit for now. Of course, I am NOT going to expose the actual quantities of risk I am taking (lest you all invade make me a target), but I will say that the strategy (over the past week) has INDEED reached the objectives, and so the growthof my empire is now proceeding at a faster pace. I will continue experimenting with this.

5 ) The meldown of my previous laptop may have been a act of "divine intervention". Firstly, that machine was three years old, and so it was time for a new one ANYWAY. Plus, now I have a new machine with one-year warranty, and so that is good. Secondly, the loss of the first draft of this post made me consider more seriously how much information to include in these the weekly updates to this series which will be MOST DIGESTIBLE and USEFUL to the audience. Please feel free to let me know in the comments if the amount of info in THIS week's update is more manageable/digestible then the past posts. This will provide me a sense of how long and detailed to make this for maximum value to the readers (now and into the future).

Okay. I think that's enough for now, considering that this week has been an especially challenging one for me. Even so, I think the amount of data/analysis above is ADEQUATE for this weekly series post, as I have a TENDENCY to write too much. So maybe this week's challenges has been a blessing. I hope you find some/any of these tips useful in increasing your understanding and/or skill level in the game. More JUICY tips to come with each weekly update, as I become more experienced and successful in the game. All comments welcomed. Although this post is a few days late those few days also allowed me to experiment more with some of the strategies detailed above, so in the grand scheme of things there was no loss, and things are progessing steadily. Sometimes it's "two steps forward, one step back"...

See you on the battlefield...

@transcript-junky


Also, be sure to check out the very helpful two-part "Intro To Drug Wars" series by @timcliff. These two posts helped me get over the learning curve "enough" to begin actively playing the game last month. I strongly recommend these two posts to any/all beginners who want to get up and running with Drug Wars:

Drug Wars on Steem - Ultimate Beginners Game Guide
https://steemit.com/drugwars/@timcliff/drug-wars-on-steem-ultimate-beginners-game-guide

Drug Wars on Steem - Intermediate Game Guide: Battles
https://steemit.com/drugwars/@timcliff/drug-wars-on-steem-intermediate-game-guide-battles

SteemMonsters  Affiliate Banner.gif

Sort:  

Hi, @transcript-junky!

You just got a 6.94% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81