Steem Monsters revamped gameplay is live!

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

As announced by the Steem Monsters developers, a complete revamp of the Steem Monster battle system just went live. This update fundamentally changed the entire way the game is played, and it has now moved away from being an "idle game" to being a game where you must actively play.

Instead of knowing the Rules and the mana cap before the match, you now go blind into the arena. You will get matched against an opponent, and at this point the rules and mana cap of the game is revealed to both of you. At this point you both have 3 minutes to create a deck to battle with. The battle itself is the same as before, but this change really shakes up the strategy you need for playing.

enemyfound.jpg

The new "Enemy found" screen where you can see the rules for the battle.

Some of my first impressions

I played a few matches of the revamped Steem Monsters, and here are some of my first impression:

  • The game is a whole lot slower to play. You can't really spam matches anymore, which I believe was the intention of this change. You now need to actively think and interact with the game. Gone are the days where you could spend a certain amount of time and craft a few good decks, and now you will need to think and craft decks for every single battle. You will not be able to play anywhere near the same amount of battles per hour, so the daily quest requirement has been cut in half, and you now only need to win 5 matches to get your daily quest complete.

  • The game is now (probably) a lot more expensive to play at a higher level. You used to be able to get to a good Rating by focusing on upgrading your cards for a certain splinter. While this might get you into a place where you had to wait 48 hours for a bad Rule set to go away, you still had the chance to climb relatively high without a huge investment. With today's changes you will need at least a few different decks to be able to get to the same semi-high Rating (or at least that's my prediction).

  • The Rating reset makes for lots of unfair matches. Right now everyone starts at 0 Rating, and while this makes sense, it will be a good mix of newbies with only a handful of cards that might get matched against people with Hydras and other expensive cards that can craft good decks for all type of matches. But this is only a temporarily problem, and it won't be something to worry about anymore after the good players with a big card collection have climbed up the ladder.

Some concerns I have with the revamped gameplay

I used to enjoy playing Steem Monsters on one of my monitors while reading or working on my main monitor, but the new and more complex gameplay will likely make that impossible. For me Steem Monsters just went from being a chill game I can play without thinking too much to becoming a much deeper strategy game. This was obviously their intention as well, but it will likely reduce my playing time by a huge amount since I'm one of the people who like to play video games to relax, not to be intellectually challenged, since I have other arenas for that.

I am also a bit concerned about the entry barrier being very high now that you essentially need a lot more cards to be able to get a decent Rating. But we will need some more time to see how big of an issue this really is.

With that being said, the developers behind Steem Monsters seem to be very bright people with a clear idea of what they want with their game, and I'm sure these changes will be well-received within the community.

I definitely think Steem Monsters will be a very different game from this point out, going from a game you play on your second monitor, to a game where you actively have to play. I think this is great for the long-term health of the game, but at the same time I'm a bit sad, since it won't be my preferred game to pick up when I need to chill out with a podcast and a mindless game after a long day anymore. I guess it's back to doing World Quests on WoW, or running maps in Path of Exile again!

Sort:  

hmm yea the main purpose of a game was to stop spam so well no more spam yup game is bit slow now comparatively before and the most important thing now its even more hard to achieve high rank without good cards you have to power up ur cards more n more if you wanna be in:p XD

Yep, exactly. I think we will see lots of people buying more cards in order to get better ratings now.

I hope everyone is playing a lot today so the Novice rank becomes less crowded. Right now my lvl 1 deck gets beaten to pulp :P I thought that the amount of time a day I get to spend on steemmonsters gets shorter, now that you only need 5 wins for the daily quest, but at this paste it'll take me all day -.-

I think the second week of the season will be much more relaxed and fun.

Hehe, me too! Novice is extremely crowded, or at least it was yesterday. I had some trouble playing on my second account with less cards. I do think it should take a reasonable level to get 5 wins after things have settled down a bit, but it will probably take longer than how it was before the revamp.

Things got so much better today. Two random encounters with lvl 4 players, but the rest were people with similar decks like me. Glad that it happened this quick. Much more fun when it's your deck-building skills that cause the loss, instead of being completely overpowered.
I hope I encounter your account soon :)

Yeah, I agree. Things are feeling much better already. I haven't really played a lot sine the change other than doing two daily quests, so I'm still at around 100 Rating :P

Well I just spent the last 2 hours on it so I'm guessing it must be good?? It definitely requires more thought now like you say. Looking forward to getting further up the rank where the game play gets a little more varied.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that's a good sign. It seems like more fun now, so it is definitely a very good improvement for the game.

Those are my initial impressions as well.

I definitely think Steem Monsters will be a very different game from this point out, going from a game you play on your second monitor, to a game where you actively have to play.

With change comes new advantages as well as disadvantages.

Yes, that's definitely true!

Congratulations @valth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 comments. Your next target is to reach 12000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 323 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.179 which ranks you at #859 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi! @valth
I drew you(^^)v
valth-500.png

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Thank you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87