Opening 100 Steem Monster Packs + 10 packs giveaway + General blockchain gaming opinion

in #steemmosters6 years ago (edited)


Cool, isn't it!!

Hi Steemians

So from past few days (maybe more), I was seeing this hyper craze about Steem Monsters. Every other post in my feed was about Steem Monsters. So out of curiosity, I decided to see what the hell this "noise" was all about. 

As I expected, Steem Monsters is a card battle blockchain game. Collect, battle, trade, level up; those sort of things on a blockchain. And not any other blockchain, but on Steem blockchain. Well, the advantage is clear; speed and free transactions. Something we can't enjoy on ETH blockchain. The catch here is that game is not as decentralized as say, Cryptokitties. Steem blockchain doesn't allow smart contracts, so some sort of alternatives have been implemented which bring a bit of centralization to the game. Nonetheless, the transactions will still be on Steem blockchain, making things as transparent as possible. 

Personally, I am not a big fan of card games, table top games etc. I would even say, I kinda hate them. They are just too static and repetitive. I prefer playing those open world exploration games, where you can run your cute little character, interact with NPCs, monsters and maybe even pet them. I think you call them RPG games. Also I like survival games, base building games, indie games with out of the box thinking. But card games, "Meh"!

Currently I am addicted to this game. Secrets of Grindea. Nice casual, story rich game with a ton of interesting content.

My character looks like some form of Super Saiyan! And these cute pets!!

Blockchain Gaming:

The first blockchain game I played is the same as what most people had played. Of course, it was Cryptokitties. Even though it was (is) also a sort of card game, you can say breedable cards, but I think it had a charm of it's own. And that charm was the network effect. The exponential growth of Cryptokitties proved that people had lot to spend on blockchain games. And this is the reason we can see countless new blockchain games popping up daily, like wild mushrooms in the woods. 99% of them are just breedable cards, although some of them are trying hard to come out of that shell. We can say this is the era 1.0 of blockchain games. 

But then there are games like Cryptopets, which promise to add a new dimension to the blockchain gaming. High quality graphics, animations, training, battles and a pet connection is what makes it different. Check out their marketplace teaser. In case you are interested you can sign up for the whitelist to receive a free pet and Beta invitation. The best thing is that unlike most other blockchain games, the Beta will be held on the test network; saving you transaction fees and easier for devs to make updates to the game.



But there is one blockchain game, that is not in competition with any other blockchain game. It is on another level altogether. The game is a bit under the radar as they are not doing any sort of marketing and just into the development from past several months. They do post updates on Steemit @hashrushgame. Hashrush is basically a RTS game where you build and upgrade your base by collecting resources from your planet. But it's not click and build thing. It's a proper 3D exploration game. Not only that, but they have also built a massive mining farm in Estonia. The earnings from this farm will be distributed to the players based on their progress in the game. Also they are developing their own side chain on ETH, so that players don't have to pay for transactions and wait for confirmations. It was very important as the game is very complex and not just a game with few repeatable actions. I have been following Hashrush since pre-ICO and all I can say is that this game will certainly be praised not only by blockchain gamers but also by mainstream gamers. They are soon going to launch a restricted alpha with limited participants. And it will be an alpha as it should be. So you don't have to worry about purchasing anything or spending even a cent. Join their discord to be in loop. Just have a look at this small teaser.


So, coming back to Steem Monsters. Where do I see it? Well, the game is certainly much better (as per the info available) than the Cryptokitties. You can trade, battle, level up your cards. You can make strategies. Most importantly you can win bags full of SBD and Steem. What more can a Steemian wish for!! Another thing worth noting is that the game already has build a passionate community around it. This, as I earlier said is evident from the flood of articles related to Steem Monsters. People making paintings, videos, stories, art, memes, lore and what not. A big part of this is due to the fact that @aggroed is the man behind Steem Monsters. He is a trusted, respected and well known Steemian. Also a  Steem witness and "self-proclaimed Mayor" of Minnowsupport project! He is the sole reason that I decided to give Steem Monsters a try. After all you have to input your private posting keys!! But knowing that @aggroed is behind the project, I felt safe enough to proceed. 

You might ask that why I am even trying to play Steem Monsters when I don't like card games. Good question. Personally my opinion hasn't changed. And this game won't even have a proper gameplay like other mainstream card games. For example, Hearthstone. In @aggroed's own words it will be a simulated fight. So not much animations and all to witness. 

 I just want to stress that this game does not play like MTG or  Hearthstone.  It's a drafting game.  Those games are beyond the scope  for the moment.  This is a game where you pick the team and the computer  will simulate the fights in the tournament and spit out winners.

But still I purchased 100 packs. Each pack worth $2, plus the starter pack costs $5. So total $205 spent on the type of game I don't like. Why?

1) The game is the first major game on Steem blockchain. The potential is huge. Just like Cryptokitties brought a new wave of crypto users for ETH, Steem Monsters will do that for Steem. So supporting Steem Monsters is basically supporting Steem itself and hence helping in "to the moon" thing!!

2) Strong network effect. As I mentioned earlier, network effect plays a strong role in adoption. The very reason that Bitcoin is valued at $7500 and ETH at $598, in spite of ETH being more useful with all Dapps and smart contract things is that Bitcoin has a much much stronger network effect compared to any coin out there. The more people believe in Bitcoin's success, the more people it attracts. So yes, I had to surrender before this network effect of Steem Monsters!!

3) Big bags of Steem and SBD to be won. As per the site, the game will feature PVP and PVE competitions where players can win Steem, SBD, card packs or cards. I personally believe that there will be a lot more different prizes as this game will certainly attract sponsors, especially from SMT ecosystem. Appics could be the first one!

4) Collectible cards. There is already an unofficial market in existence for Steem Monsters. Legendary cards are selling for as low as $20 and as high as $6o+.  When the game actually launches (right now it's pre-sale of card packs), I think rarer cards will fetch even higher prices. So these cards, especially the legendary ones do act as a good investment. 

100 Steem Monster Card packs Opening Video

And here is my small video of opening up 100 Steem Monsters card packs. I have opened them in 2 batches of 50 card packs each. Each card pack has 5 cards. So total 500 cards opened for this video. Damn, my fingers still hurt!!

I know many people are using these videos for research purpose also. Like how many legendaries, epics, rares and commons per set number of packs. So compiled some basic info below. Do the Maths part yourself!

Batch 1: 50 packs

Legendary: 3, Epic: 10, Rare: 66, Common: 171

Batch 2: 50 packs

Legendary: 3, Epic: 14, Rare: 68, Common: 165

Total: 100 packs

Legendary: 6, Epic: 24, Rare: 134, Common: 336

Giveaway

What good is a blockchain game article without any giveaway! So I am doing a small giveaway of 10 card packs. First I was thinking about doing a giveaway of 10 Epics, but by the time I decided to do a giveaway, I had already combined my cards. Also, I though it would be better if winners open the packs themselves. Who knows they might get Legendary cards also! It is said that opening gifts not only bring happiness to the receiver, but also it unlocks their good luck! So good luck to all the winners who will receive these packs.

Rules are simple. I don't like making things complex. 

1)  Just make sure you have logged in Steem Monsters with Private Posting key. Otherwise you won't be able to receive these cards.
2) Just post a genuine comment in the comment section if you want to receive a pack. Please don't post generic comments like "good post", "I followed you", "nice article" and all that.

Vote, follow or resteem are not at all necessary, but if you do, then I appreciate with all my heart. Nonetheless, only the above two rules will decide the winners.

I hope you liked the article. It was a bit different from my usual ones. I tried to cover a lot of things in one article. Hope you didn't got bored!! See ya guys and gals around.

Regards

Siddartha

Image Courtesy: Title image. Secrets of Grindea screenshot from in-game.
Page dividers by @aleister

The Only Crypto Exchange You Will Ever Need

██ 7,000,000 Members ▶ Most Trusted Exchange ▶ Trade Steem + 110 Popular Coins ██

Sort:  

I saw this post on facebook as we are still friends, and i was thinking about another cryptokitties game, but no.. this instead is a card game, and i liked so much card games when i was younger.. so damn, you made me spend 5$ for my first pack lol
Well, now i'm in it, let's see if it could bring me some nice hours of play in the future ;P
Ps. Very nice post and people should always appreciate giveaways also if they don't win.

Nice to see you old friend. I also used to collect cards, but never play.
I am sure this $5 spent will be a good investment and who knows you might win some good amount of SBD and Steem in competitions!!

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

I just got introduced to this game, and here, my post about introducing my first Steem Monster:
https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@steemmillionaire/my-first-steem-monster

Nice post. I am sure we will both enjoy this game!

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

Your reasons for supporting @steemmonsters are similar to mine. I don't particularly like card games, but the more support this game has, the more incentive people will have to invest in STEEM as new players join. There's a huge card game fan base that are looking for something new, and especially something that rewards! @ironshield

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

My steem monsters account is "ironshield". Woo hoo!

Its good to see that you are involved. I also love that you took the time to both video your pack pulls and also give us the overall stats... These are the things that will slowly but surely get the word out. Once people understand how exciting it is to build their decks, then they too will get involved. I also really like that the rules of game play are still being written... That means we are in even earlier than with any game to ever hit the market!

I love the giveaway, very nice thing you are doing to not only help the game but also steem overall too!

Thank you for your kind words Davemccoy. I believe that from every system from where you want to get some profit, you need to contribute as well. So basically I am only increasing my chances of profits here. Nothing more!

Well, it is still a good thing you are doing to help others. I have seen a lot of people give back and that is what makes steemit a pretty incredible place... While we also have our fair share of people that are only here for profit, it is also nice to see many that also want to grow the pie too!

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

Let me know when you send it so that I can check for it, thank you again!

awesome! Thank you very much that is cool! yes I have a steemmonsters account and it is the same name: davemccoy

I appreciate what you did for everyone and keep up the sharing with others! :)

Sent your gift. Enjoy!!

thank you :)

Wow awesome. I will check out the other games too. I am hoping to be given a pack. I've been very business contributing that I haven't even had time to collect many cards. I'm collecting for myself and my kids at @steemitkids. My kids really want to play :) I probably wont have time to but I still hope to build them a great deck.

It really makes me happy that people like you are selflessly contributing to this project. That's the main reason I bought these cards, even though I don't like cards. I hope you win a pack too!

Thank you :)

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

blockchain based games are increasingly popular. I currently work for one and that in my opinion is a great game. https://chibifighters.io/

steemonster has just been born. but I know that with help you can get to the top

Oh wow you work for Chibifighters! It's fairly popular crypto game. Nice to see you are trying other games also.

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

100 packs is so expensive

wow

Well, it is $2 per pack, so not that expensive when it comes to blockchain games. Plus you can get legendary and epics also, which can sell for quite good prices.

You have picked up a very good thing because our big stars in Bangladesh love to play games, such as cricket games computer games, etc. There are many games, but I do not think any small and big big people like this game because the game is bad It's nothing like playing a game or playing it when I play games, but I think it's a nice thing to pick up a nice thing. I love to play games. Whenever I try to do steemit, I did not play a game anymore, so for myself I'm saying that the game is really good. I am very happy to know that you have such a nice thing I hope you always mention these games because they are very good, so think you did nothing wrong in your place I was doing this but I have to do that. There is no reason because your SP has everything because I do not have it, so I can not leave. I can only do this by encouraging you to comment and I can act like a brother. So I will say no and say no, I just say that you It's a very nice project that shows the money from the game. It is worth millions of crores. More than the way of this game, the people of the rural areas are seen playing a game in their own mobile. You will notice that people in between 80 and 90 people prefer all games because the children are more loved by the children, the more the PEO cartoon games are more Dear CPUs etc. All games are there thanks my dear friends dhanyavad 1809 Aishwarya Abhishek

Your blog always very informative.
Keep it up.

Ui, cryptopets sounds awesome.. I would like to try it out! Thanks for your honest article, it was quite informative. I loved to collect stuff like this as a kid, growing up I was more into Rpgs as well :D

Yes, Cryptopets is an amazing upcoming game. And I am glad you found the article informative.

Hi, the results for this giveaway have been announced here: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@siddartha/announcing-results-for-steem-monsters-10-card-packs-giveaway

Please confirm that you have a Steem Monsters account and provide me the username so I can send your rewards!! 🎁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29