Announcing SteemOffice.com - A new alternative editor for Steem

in #steemoffice5 years ago (edited)


Here is my latest creation, it's an online Editor for the Steem Blockchain! Why? Because the regular one just wasn't so great, and now you don't have to login to SteemIt or download any apps just to post your content to the Steem Blockchain.

This is the ideal solution for anyone who doesn't want to browse through a distracting list of other people's posts just to write their own post. SteemOffice works in all modern web browsers, even Android and iOS browsers! It's also highly secure. If you're a programmer feel free to review the source, it's written in html and javascript.

Designed for serious publishers as well as novice bloggers.

Some features at a glance:

  • Built-in spell checking
  • Side by side markdown editing with live preview
  • Saves your work and credentials to secure browser storage
  • The site will never use web-cookies
  • No need to log in, just post with one click
  • 100% Open Source for peer-review
  • Absolutely free, as in everything about it is Free!

The easy-to-use interface is built to be simple and intuitive, once you're there you'll quickly find how productive you can be with the right tools available.

On a personal note, as I'm writing this post from inside SteemOffice, it seems like the only thing it might be missing is a Speech Recognition feature for verbal dictation. But now that I think about it most smart phones already do that naturally, so mobile users won't miss it. If you still really want speech recognition then let me know in the comments and I'll see what I can do.

What does the Future hold for SteemOffice?

Besides the Speech Recognition, I was thinking I might add a feature to Auto-hide the Submit Post bar so that it's not in front of the text. And anything else that folks recommend, of course. I'll just add new features over time.

So check out SteemOffice.com and see for yourself how easy it can be to edit for Steem!

If you like SteemOffice and want to help then you can donate with Bitcoin to 19HjGUr8j7t6kQzBDYxK9zzXnGFJ8XUo3M
Also, please feel free to suggest what I should program next. I'm always open to new ideas.

(Posted with SteemOffice.com)

Sort:  

This in fullscreen is bliss.

stackedit.io

Yes! Cannot wait to try!

No luck. Gives me error when I want to publish something

What did the error say?

I can't recall now, but when I opened the editor later and filled in all the data, it gave me again couple of errors but I managed to fix them and publish. I guess it had to do with latin-2 characters in tags. BTW are you planning to add the possibility to upload images from local storage? The other things which maybe could be implemented as well: an alternative form of authorization as sending posting key to the third party may be not what some people like to do and it would be nice to have the possibility to re-edit published posts. This would make it a great editor, I think.

Your website steemoffice.com is down

nslookup announces SERVFAIL, Chrome DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN
Don't try to fix your DHCP client, browser, VPN configuration... it's down for everyone https://www.isitdownrightnow.com/steemoffice.com.html
The domain is not expired: Registry Expiry Date: 2020-06-22T07:07:57Z

Check your DNS zone, it should be a DNS server misconfiguration.

Hi @droida thank you for letting me know about the issue. It appears to be downtime on the hosts end. That's been happening more than I would like lately so I'll try and switch SteemOffice.com over to my other web host as soon as I can.

You're welcome. I look forward to trying it.

Hey @droida, I will notify you on August 18th 2019, 12:00:00 pm (UTC)
Later! ( read more... )

Hi @droida!
You asked me in this comment to create a reminder.
It seems the time has passed!

This looks great but is there an easier way to post images?

two questions:

Is it open source... and....

Are you using our Steemit-compatible content renderer?

https://github.com/wise-team/steem-content-renderer

1: Yes, it is open source. It's all just one html file, you can right-click and select View Page Source to see the source code. And all of the javascript and css that it references come from open source projects via their official content delivery networks.
2: No, I hadn't heard of that. It's using SimpleMDE instead. But thank you for pointing that out, I'll definitely look into it :) Quick question from my first glance at the demo, does it require JQuery?

That's very cool man, I'll give it a test shortly. I've been using steempeak of late and the editor is awesome too

Greetings from Venezuela, what a good article, deserves my vote and support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28