STEEMPAYCO Project: Can Steem Dollars beat the fiat money in developing/underdeveloped countries?

in #steempayco6 years ago (edited)

STEEMPAYCO is a new brand name of SteemPay (steempay.co) project that is driven by @asbear. As you may know there is an android app called SteemPay as well, which has nothing to do with steempay.co. Because of that the users have been confused quite often and also the project promotion was not very easy. Therefore we’ve decided to go with our unique brand to continue the project with more confident. Again, the website address is https://steempay.co

** If you live in a underdeveloped or developing countries, please read till the end.

STEEMPAYCO Team

Our team has a software engineer(@asbear) and a software graphic designer (@dayoung) onboard, and the majority of the Korean Steemians have been advising and supporting us to make a success.

This is the new main page, designed by @dayoung.
spc.jpeg

We now have a brand name and a symbol image as well. For the last several weeks, @dayoung has been working hard to make STEEMPAYCO look professional.

What is STEEMPAYCO exactly?

STEEMPAYCO is a web app that is invented to dramatically simplify the painful process that sellers and buyers need to take all the time when using Steem Dollars. The ultimate goal of the project is realisation of the Steem Dollars based on/offline commerce.

How does it work?

Sellers register their steem accounts, exchange accounts and also their store into STEEMPAYCO, and then use the pre-configured information for each deal. They are forced to use the fiat price for their items so they do not need to do the painful calculation at all. Choosing the items and showing QR code to the customer are the entire process the sellers need to take.

Buyers do not even do anything in advance. Just pop into a store with a “STEEMPAYCO accepted here” sticker, select the stuff to buy, and then say “I will pay by STEEMPAYCO”. Wait until the seller shows you the QR code, scan it, confirm the transfer via SteemConnect and leave. The entire process takes not much longer than that of using a credit card or cash.

Watch the GIF animations below for a quick look around.

Promotion of STEEMPAYCO in underdeveloped countries and developing countries

I believe STEEMPAYCO can become an alternative payment method in underdeveloped countries and developing countries. Fiat currencies in those countries are not as stable as that of developed countries. Some of those are even more vulnerable and volatile than Bitcoin. Governments and card companies are trying to rip off the people through the unbearable tax rates and the incredibly high commissions. So why would you stick with fiat for what?

Steem Dollars has huge advantages over some of those. Near-realtime transaction, potential to be ultra stable (based on the reverse conversion decesion) and it's on a blockchain! No government, no interceptors interventions. Last but not least, anyone can earn Steem Dollars, and paid in a week.

So, what would you do if you have a supermarket who accepts Steem Dollars in your town. What if a poor person can buy his daily food from there by writing good articles?

What about a garage. What about a food court. What if a pharmacy accepts Steem Dollars. Don't think about developed countries. Think about underdeveloped/developing countries.

It will actually change the world. And we can take the first step now.

Call for STEEMPAYCO Ambassadors

We need more sellers accepting Steem Dollars to find more buyers. We need more buyers paying by Steem Dollars to allure more sellers. This is going to be a really tough game.

I am calling for "STEEMPAYCO ambassadors" who currently live in developed/developing countries. Their mission is encouraging local merchants to accept Steem Dollar for their business. Ambassadors don't need to communicate with me but I want them to be STEEMPAYCO representatives of their countries and towns. New ideas and feedback will be really appreciated of course.

I will support their promotion activities by voting on your posting that are closely related to promoting STEEMPAYCO in developed & developing countries. A short note with a photo of STEEMPAYCO app being used in a real situation will be enough to get my 100% vote. Visiting local stores or a flea market and recommending the sellers to try out STEEMPAYCO would be super nice!

In order to support the ambassadors, I am preparing about 15,000 Steem Power delegated to @steempayco account. This is actually the everything I own for now. But if you live in a country where $1 means something, then hopefully my weak voting power could be excused. Post with #steempayco tag. Then I will read and vote.

Working on a store locater

Sellers can register their shops but for now that information is not shared to the users (buyers!). I have been working on a store locator that will show the shops that are accepting Steem Dollars on a map. This feature will be a great benefit for both sellers and buyers. Ambassadors can visit the shop and verify that they are really accepting Steem Dollars, and earn rewards.

But again, it's not yet done. I will announce when it is near completion.

Support STEEMPAYCO project

Please support our project by:

  • Delegating Steem Power to @steempayco account
  • Voting and resteeming
  • Approving @asbear as a witness
Sort:  

I'm pretty sure I mentioned that it would be confusing for users in a comment on your announcement post. We have also taken steps to rebrand, and eventually our SteemPay Android wallet will also be renamed. Good luck in your project.

I am sure you did. At that point SteemPay couldnt change the brand as all the Korean called it like that and didnt want a different name. Sorry if I disturbd your project due to the name conflict. Many thanks for your advice, and good luck with your project!

RAC Upvote 3!

Thanks again!!

Thank you Upvote 4! Gimme one more response please!

Sure thing!

This is actually pretty fantastic. It's obviously very early in the game, but where I think this could definitely be implemented almost right away is in countries like venezuela.

I would be interested in seeing someone from Venezuela embrace this idea. Since they actually have to change their SBD's for bolivares to purchase things, and maybe they can skip that second step since a considerable about of Venezuelans are living off their Steem earnings.

@asbear - If you don't mind - I would like to translate this for you - I'll send you the translation via hackmd and you can update this post in both languages.

Let me know and I'll be happy to do the work.

Hey @meno! Thanks for your feedback! Are you from Venezuela? It would be very interesting to see Steem Dollars are used in the country for their daily routine.

I love your suggestion, please do the translation for me! And if you also post it behalf of STEEMPAYCO team then it will have more impact as your voice has the power. I have not many followers outside of Korea and probably zero follower from Venzuela unfortunately. Please help :-)

I will repost your post through @steempayco account. Many thanks for your support!

awesome possum... I'm not from Venezuela, but I have many friends from there and I would love to be able to be involved in projects that could help them.

I will get to work on this.

@meno really appreciate it!

Here you go my new friend... (link deleted)

once you tell me you got the link, i'll delete it from here (edit really)

Used up all my spanish for the week! hahahaha

I have to download it now

This is really great for my country Uganda, have checked out the steempay app on the playstore, the fiat conversions like ugx,kshs for most developing countries is going to be a big step for countries like Uganda.
This is another way for implementing steem promotions in my country, as some shops and supermarkets will allow steem it will be part of the growth of steemit network.

Hey thanks! I am excited to see how STEEMPAYCO will be used in Uganda. Btw Steempayco has no Android app. Maybe you found someting else.

Yes, I found out.. i checked the steempay app first.
Then visted your site.

에즈베어님 번역 페이지도
같이 올려주세요.^^

굳입니다.^^ 기대됩니다.

Wow ~!
Amazing Steempayco :)

bluengel_i_g.jpg Created by : mipha thanks :)항상 행복한 하루 보내셔용^^ 감사합니다 ^^
'스파'시바(Спасибо스빠씨-바)~!

This is great. As an early adopter for this amazing service(I've used steempayco more than 10 times with various sellers and locations), I believe that this could actually help people to increase Steem usage significantly and enhance Steem communitiy activities.

I have been writing Steempayco experience in Korean only - I will consider writing steempayco articles in English as well to promote this awesome project.

I want to write a post about Steempayco to Chinses, may I use your GIF, please?

I am talking about Steem and Steemit when I participate in cryptocurrency and blockchain meetup. At that time I may suggest Steem, Steem dollars payment to the business owners. I have not got results yet, but I'd like to continue to talk like that in the future.

Just I had such an opportunity last week. I thought it would be nice to be able to pay with Steem and Steem dollars using @steempayco at a shop that can pay in cryptocurrency.

I want to be japanese ambassador of @steempayco.

https://steemit.com/ulog/@yasu24/bitcoin-cash-higashi-nagasaki-meetup-ulog-3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00