Posting with Steempeak vs Steemit

in #steempeak6 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians,

So I've been using steempeak for the last few days and find I like the layout, look and generally everything else about it better than steemit. So my last couple of posts have been done using that editor rather than steemit.

Now for the most part they are very similar editors (although I do LOVE the side preview that scrolls with you that steempeak uses) but one problem I am having is that the finished product in steempeak displays differently then when I load it under steemit. This has to do with images mostly and captions. It can throw the rest of the paragraph out of aligment, "squish" the article text if I have pictures on both the left and right sides.

The captions in steempeak always seem to run longer than the picture itself which causes some weird wrap effects.

Now I'm still new to both steemit and steempeak editors so maybe I just need a lot more practice with one or both before I can master these but I currently find myself skimping on pictures or captions, trying to force them to 1 lines in order to avoid this problem.

I'm hoping however that there are some steempeak gurus out there willing to share some tips and tricks and general advice on what I can do to correct these formatting issues I keep running into.

Right now I might spend 30 mins writing an article and another hour adding 2-3 pictures and I still mess them up LOL.

Anyone else have this problem when they switched over? Any other recommended editors I could use and then cut/paste into steempeak and have it correctly formatted?

Any help or advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Join BOID and use your computing power to help solve cancer!!!

Sort:  

I don't know much about steempeak. Try https://busy.org

Thanks, I've heard of busy not never really checked it out
Time to remedy that

hmm. I don't know what I am doing so special but it seems to work on my articles?

I use steempeak to write because it is so much more convenient. But when adding pictures I just drag them in in the place I want them? Unless you wanna get advanced and pull them or size them.

When you say caption do you mean like headers like this?


I love you


Or something else? Maybe I don't comprehend in English what captions actually is.

By captions I mean the wording and source usually directly beneath the picture itself

This is a grab from one my of my recent articles when viewed in steempeak
image.png

And the same image when viewed in steemit
image.png

The steempeak only uses 2 lines but extends past the picture itself. The steemit view is 3 lines but aligns perfectly with the picture itself.

This is causing me issues with the text of the article itself and how it wraps or flows around the pictures.
If I align everything on steempeak, it doesn't look right on steemit at times and vice versa.

Yeah the steempeak editor is so much more convenient for me as well. Really want to keep using it but also don't want the articles to look off depending on where they are viewed.

Glad to hear its working for you, that means its probably just me and if I can figure out what to change I should be able to get this to work as well

Actually, I think I am just not using this at all? I didn't know what it was a thing usually I made it myself but I guess even I still learn lol

Hi @ancientknowled3!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 0.000 which ranks you at #1121496 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #336.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77