Winter Scene and Aurora Borealis

in #steempeak5 years ago (edited)

If you had asked me a few years ago if I would ever fret at the idea of a little bit of snow, I would have said no without hesitation but having lived in Vancouver for a while it is a bit less usual for me now. Public transportation has been slow at best in the past few days and people are impressed every time I come to work with my bike. Although some of my jobs were cancelled which allowed for a late start, I braved the storm in order to get to my Painting and Drawing class. My new phone takes excellent night shots and I wanted to test it on my way there.

IMG_20190212_212133.jpg
This is Sun Yat Sen Garden, this shot was actually taken on the way back.

IMG_20190212_174144.jpg
Coal Harbour as the storm was in full swing. I wanted to capture the atmospheric effect with Stanley Park off in the distance.

IMG_20190212_174618.jpg
It’s just a whole different feel. The beauty justifies the hardship. I can understand why drivers feel less confident, it is prudent to drive slowly in the snow with summer tires but the streets didn’t freeze. I wonder if we’ll be so lucky tomorrow Morning.

It’s nice to have less cars out on the streets too!

IMG_20190212_204809.jpg

For the art lesson, I used a watercolor tutorial from Untamed Little Wolf on YouTube. It’s funny because the video for this project has under 800 views and others have over a million. This first one is mine I ran across some issues but it was a lot of fun!

I brought a tooth brush and some acrylics for the star effect. We sprayed it on the sky once we were happy with it. I encouraged my students to make the sky pretty dark so that the stars would stand out more.

I had brought iridescent paint to mix with a more liquid one but the effects were a no show, the liquid paint was too opaque. The highlights in the sky are from that interference paint. When you move it around, the highlights shine. You can put acrylic on watercolour no problem but as you can see, there are some stars visible through the trees hence watercolour cannot cover acrylics very well.

IMG_20190212_201831.jpg
The design for the trees is exceptional here with some quick and decisive brush strokes. They have movement and refinement.

IMG_20190212_215859.jpg

I am obviously very proud of the work of my students, they all made tree studies to perfect their style before going on the final painting.

IMG_20190212_215923.jpg
This is one of those studies, much stronger than the starry sky ones actually. This is one of the ways practice makes perfect; bringing the effortless look of the study on the more involved composition.

IMG_20190212_215753.jpg
This guy I helped by re-wetting the whole sky without disturbing the layer by insisting with the brush in any way and then we added the black to contrast a lot more. I showed him a video of Lotte Reineger because his style reminds me of her.

IMG_20190212_215820.jpg

I was teasing a student pretending to coin how the star splattering brings the sky together when in fact she said it first. We had lots of fun with some great Brazilian music.

Thanks for watching everyone, I will see you soon!

Sort:  

I drove once in deep, fresh snow and it was no fun. The car was going from one side to another and we all were driving around 20km per hour. You couldn't go any faster as you would not be able to control the car otherwise. This much snow on your photos is nothing in comparison to that :) But any reason for having less cars on the road is a good reason :)

Your students did a great job with painting but I like your sky the most :) It is distinctive, colorful and your stars are just so bright and shiny! Well done!

I am sure that your students were happy with the lesson and this study.

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

I feel frustrated at all the commotion, honestly the day before I waited of a bus for an hour on a bigger street. I mean what the heck, it really doesn’t take much because people are just spoiled here. It’s true that wired street cars are very vulnerable. They are super long and I don’t even think they have 4 season tires. Honestly I’m terrified of getting an accident with my bike. Just earlier today someone opened a car door right in front of me as I was going downhill. I had decided to take my road bike because all the snow was melting. Fortunately I was far enough from the curb.

Thanks a bunch for complementing my students, they work really hard. I’m also glad you recognize my years experience painting! Colours are really fun to look at. Every painting has a different balance giving them the potential to evoke a different array of emotions!

I am in Southern California and only have seen snow a few times. I'm not sure about riding a bike in it!

What a nice project to showcase your student's art like this. It's interesting to see "same yet different" work from them.

Even though it was an error, I like how the stars show up on the trees. It seems to give some action to the scene and stars might peak though the trees anyway.

I like your insight on my happy accident. It is important to break up a composition and seeing the stars through the trees does that indeed, you are right. It really warms my heart that you spend some time to observe my piece!

yes of course :) wonderful post!

Ha! Going out in storm proved to be real fun. I loved the classroom story.

I'm not much into art, but I can see that the way you have used your hand while holding the brush was spontaneous and very creative. Looks like the trees, sky and everything is in ultimate sync and dancing together joyfully. It was nice to see you and your students having so much fun:)

Thanks for sharing.

It’s true, we are having so much fun, but finding an audience in you makes it so much more worthwhile. Art is meant to be shared with people and it really doesn’t matter how deep one’s knowledge is about art. One doesn’t need to put their encounter with art into words, every person is equal in the face of art.

Thank you for commenting on my technique as well. I feel encouraged that you see the thought that goes into the dark brush strokes for the trees. The untamed little wolf tutorial provided me with a strong idea in making the land yellow.

Hi edouard,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

What a bounty of blessing and also such an honor, thank you @curie bot!

Hello @edouard, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Beautyful images. Thanks for share

Posted using Partiko iOS

You’re welcome, glad you enjoyed!

👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice photos of snowed in city. We've had a cold month here in Toronto, and I can't wait for spring, even tough, based on previous experiences, I don't expect winter to end for another two months.

I also like the artwork you did with your students (I went to watch the original video to see where you get the inspiration from, but also to give some support to the artist). The second one is my favourite.

It's fascinating how simple techniques often give impressive results, especially if you choose your colours and composition right.

A peered down Color palette works best right?
I remember winter on the East coast, brutal! But public transit is very resilient which is what it’s all about! The human body can adapt in wonderful ways and when the nice weather comes back, it’s even more of a treat!

Mój Bog, some of these posts that get that nice BIG @curie deserve more than what they can desperately provide. So adding my pistachio sized 100% Upvote, let's get to the post of many a posts. This at some levels just feels like a dang blog post that culminates what happens, yet each part of the post just deserves their own seperate ones (that get @curie'd as well) for not only the topics mentioned but the content presented here. I must say that I love the snowy æsthetics of where yah took the fotos (photos) and love how beautiful nature collides with the starry-n-colourful night sky of yer Aurora Borealis is. Don't stop posting, good anon!~

{Quick interruption, what kind of Brazilian music; I'm an eclectic when it comes to music and maybe I can have a fun one to listen to when I work out or play a game or make a post. Thank you in advance!}

Upvot'd-n-resteem'd!
Pretty good.gif

I completely hear what your saying but at the same time, I am grateful that there is thought being put around how the money is minted for content creation on Steemit. I want Steem to be around for decades to come so I am humbled and grateful for the reward however small. Thank you so much for your support, I can see that like me, you give this economy a lot of thought so keep supporting original content my friend!

I can and shall salute to that. (Pic semi-related, but it's from a game called PayDay 2.)
Vernon Locke saluting.png

I haven't heard experiences with snow but I can tell that driving in heaps of snow is not the most amazing thing to do... The photos are however really beautiful, your phone's camera must be a really cool one...

Your painting is really beautiful, I love the shape of the leaves and how it blends beautifully to its surroundings, that's the beautiful color and stars of the galaxy... It looks like it was effortlessly done but I am sure it did take skill, effort, talent and time but it did turn out really beautifully....

I have mixed feelings about the Huawei P20 Pro, I was so confident in my purchase and then a month later, the company made headlines with infamy. Whatever, I still have an amazing camera!

I am kind of lucky to be giving instructions between bouts of painting because layers are drying without having to be patient. Sometimes I use the blow dryer to fix a nice wash instead of letting it blend too much on its own.

My students are my muses and I am theirs, that’s how it all works. When they are too shy, I intervene directly on their piece and that gives me ideas on how to proceed.

Hi @edouard
your work is beautiful! And I really like it when you artists show us all the steps that led to the creation of the work. It's a bit like being in your head and seeing with your eyes, because with regard to eyes, you have a special sensitivity. And your students have done some wonderful jobs too. teaching art must be wonderful! pity that I do not have any kind of skills in this! Congratulations and Thanks for sharing with us!

Thank you very much, I am glad that you find something special in the way I see the world, it is very encouraging! I will be sure to pass your comment along to my students, it will make them proud and improve their confidence I am sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09