Cooking With Futuremind - Ghost Pepper Fried Rice

in #steempeak5 years ago

Greetings Steemians,

I've been itching to cook with the ghost peppers mother nature has blessed me with, so today I have done just that. Since it's a special occasion for me to cook with a pepper that has taken me years to obtain, I decided to share the experience and recipe.

Disclaimer:

Please exercise caution while cooking with hot peppers such as the bhut jolokia.


IMG_20190907_173238.jpg

It's important to note that this is not a ripe ghost pepper. Ripe ghost peppers are usually red/orange. Because of the fact that it is not ripe, I expected it to not be as hot as a ripe one. I was correct, and this ghost pepper was more comparable to a jalapeno pepper. It was still hot nonetheless. I will not be harvesting any more of these until they are ripe.

Ingredients used:

  • White Basmati Rice
  • Couscous
  • Half an onion
  • A few Portobello musrooms
  • 1/3 Bulb of garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Bhut Jolokia pepper

Pepper harvested from this plant


image.png

First we need to brown up the rice. I do this by stirring dry at a high heat until the rice is visibly turning brown. About one cup should do it.


image.png


image.png

Looking good, now we'll add a cup of water, and a about 3 tablespoons of olive oil.


image.png


image.png

The rice should absorb the water relatively quickly on medium heat, uncovered.


image.png

Chop up the mushrooms, onion, and garlic .Add them to the rice, also with some couscous. I eyeballed about a half cup.


image.png


image.png

Looking great. Now we'll need to add another cup of water, still it up and cover.


image.png

Time to dice up that ghost pepper. This will be the last ingredient, after the rice is done cooking. I don't want to lose the heat!


image.png


image.png

The rice should be simmering on very low heat for about 10-15 minutes. It will absorb all of the water, and the vegetables will cook down.

Now we'll add the ghost pepper and stir it in, turning off the burner.


image.png


image.png

Add salt and pepper as preferred, and enjoy!


image.png

I was very happy with how this turned out. I wish the pepper was a little hotter, but the rest that are growing will need to ripen up, then we will have some fun :)

Thanks for stopping by!


Much love,
@futuremind



Get some good karma into your life, vote good-karma for witness!
Witness link


Sort:  

Reading this whilst I'm doing my morning walk at the park… and decided let's end the walk 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

😅 Haha, who doesn't like some spicy fried rice!
Thanks for stopping by man, always a pleasure to see you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much c-squared!!!

Hello @futuremind, how are you doing? It turns out you are a good chef, sir. And I am even more surprised when you cook rice as your main meal. You also like to eat spicy cayenne pepper. Are you an immigrant from the Middle East or from Pakistan, sir. Your rice looks really good. Maybe I can practice it. Thank you for the recipe. Have a nice day.

.

Talk to @papa-pepper to have him send you some of his peppers for a taste test challenge.

I'm planning to do a ghost pepper challenge with the peppers I'm growing. The hottest pepper I've ever consumed is 10x less hot than this one, so I'll go easy first. If this doesn't send me to the ER, maybe I'll try the chocolate bhutla next, but idk... The chocolate bhutla is pretty insane.

Thanks for putting me on to @papa-pepper's blog bro. I like doing things that defy any semblance of logic, such as painful challenges. Let's do it, these things need to hurry up and ripen! lol.

Fried rice with a difference. 😊 Are you a vegetarian, Jake?

I was for a while Vince, but lately I am eating meat again.

I see. Thanks for the reply. 😊

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 31.76% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 14.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @futuremind!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82