An Update From the Bug

in #steempets6 years ago (edited)

526561_10151577894290146_1393713323_n.jpg

I wanted to jump back in the mix today and do a little bit of an update and try to get back into the swing of things. I have honestly enjoyed the platform from the beginning. As with everything there is a balance of pros and cons. For me, the pros outweigh the cons on here by a wide margin. The cons, I just ignore them. Water off a duck’s back.

I am enjoying all the little things I do but it has also taken me a while to feel organized. I am experiencing the upheaval of moving. Uprooting an entire household full of stuff is never easy, and my experience is no exception.

I also have a wide variety of interests that I love to engage in and talk about. What I did find, however, is that my Bug account is suffering because of that. I needed to think of something that would make me happy, and support my main account @TheBugIQ as well as organize my varied interests.

So I’m going to try something a little different and post pretty much everything to @TheBugIQ and then resteem it from there to the appropriate account. So for example, I will simply post my photo work to my Bug account and then resteem it on my @ishot account. Same goes for my @iNomad account etc. I will provide a little list of the accounts that I will be ‘organizing’ my content under so that people can find my content quickly and easily like a filing cabinet.

I love outdoor gear and gadgets and the whole concept of EDC or Every Day Carry for those not into that kind of thing. So I have @EdcLove for that and I will be sharing a lot of gear, gadgets and widgets that make every day life just a little more convenient and easier when we’re away from home. I also love to know what people carry. We all have an EDC even if it’s car keys and a debit card. If that’s your EDC then it is what it is. I like to carry a few extra things with me and I truly appreciate well made and innovative products. In all of this though I like to emphasize to people the concept that YOU are the tool. Which is more true for some than others.

But still, the idea remains that You must be prepared as best you feel to deal with any situation that comes your way when you are out and about. So I will be talking about self defense tools as well and things like flashlights and pocket knives. We will be chatting about awareness, transitional spaces and other security content to help keep you and your family safe when out and about or at home as well.

These things are a passion for me. You could wonder why I feel I have something to offer. I was never a cop and I’m not ex-military. I was, however, head of security for one of Calgary, Canada’s largest hotels which is physically attached to the Calgary International Airport. It was a CP or Canadian Pacific (Railway) Hotel back in the day when I was in charge of security, but today it is a Delta/Marriott Calgary International Airport Hotel. It is a huge hotel and responsibility.

First and foremost my job was talking. Verbal Jiu Jitsu to bring a situation under control before it escalated. Most times that was enough. I’m a people person and I genuinely like humans for the most part. After that, I had extensive training in hand to hand combat, submission skills, firearms proficiency, threat detection, first aid, emergency protocols for fire/bomb or other emergencies, communications etc. And I walked employees out to their vehicles at night when requested to do so. Training was endless and ongoing. I bring all and none of that training into my everyday life. Meaning I don’t think about it all the time but the life I lived then, instructs the life I live now. So a lifestyle of preparedness is second nature to me now, and I don’t sweat most things. I have never been in a near death altercation and hope to never be in one. I’ve been in some scrapes for sure but that’s another story.

All that to say I love that whole life. I’m a peace loving guy but I believe in being prepared and reasonable. If someone can’t be reasonable, I’m prepared for that.

One of the hardest things in my life has been seeing my physical preparedness slip away from me. I sure took my eye off the ball there and I have tried a million things to get back on track. The big thing for me is that I realize that I am not alone. There are others who are struggling also and I get it. I really do. No one’s reasons are exactly the same so I do not pretend to either be able to or have the desire or intent to ‘fix’ people. Not my goal. I think people can fix themselves.

I would like to develop a presence on the Steem blockchain that helps people get healthier, yet is simple enough that it is no strain on people to be involved. More about that in the very near future but I will be working on this idea and resteeming all my posts on this subject to @SteemSteps

I’m looking forward to having some AFK friends getting out of the house and feeling better!

@SteemPets is, of course, one of my favourite things to work on and I’m still chipping away at that. I’m very happy with the early support from people who very simply love a simple idea. I will take that concept as far as I possibly can.

At @EhFar I will be chatting about Everything Happens For A Reason and the experiences that people have that ended up being for the better even if they didn’t see it as a good thing at the time.

In my real life, you should know by now I play music for paychecks. I also do a little light industrial design on the side in addition to everything else. I am very pleased that a company in Norway has begun collaborating with me on a new concept camping fire stove. They are already established with products, packaging and a distribution chain, so I’m pretty stoked (moohaha) to be working with them on this project.

I think that’s more than enough for now. I will compile the list of accounts I will be organizing my content under but it will all be available on @TheBugIQ as well. I’m just organizing it for my own peace of mind and edification.

I would like to thank my partner in crime on pretty much everything I do @poeticsnake. She's always available to bounce things off of, and I'm involved just about every day over on her Discord You Got Snekked if you're stalking me a little and want to hang out and chat. Having been stalked a fair bit in my life I do prefer seasonal stalkers and usually around Christmas time. I like Christmas Stalkings. Join us for some crazy chats HERE

Keep an eye out for @MandelSage and @AnyaEhrim too. They're our kinda trouble.

See you around the block,
EHFAR,
Bug

Sort:  

Finally read that! =)

Going through any big change is always jarring but good to see that you have at least some sort of gameplan for how to keep yourself organised... Out of everything you're doing, iNomad is that one I'm most curious about. I always love to see the "lay of the land" in places I've never been to and probably don't have a hope of getting to any time soon. Google Earth only goes so far... So yes.. Pictures and stories as you move around, please ;)

The other one is SteemPets. I really and truly hope that gets off the ground and I can start taking over the world with my Meerkat, mwahaha..

Hmm... EhFar... I'll just say... EdahFar... ;P

Good to hear from you. Sounds like you're working on a bunch of interesting things! Cool. :) Looking forward to seeing what you come up with! Cheers man.

Thanks buddy, I'm looking forward to being a bit more organized! We'll have to catch up soon :)

I voted your content because you are on my whitelist.

Join our army of good authors, delegate to me to apply: 2000 SP JEDI | 1500 SP **SITH Lord | 1000 SP Skywalker | Less Stormtrooper


Witness: @castellano

Use SteemConnect to delegate safely: 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP
JEDY 2000 SP | SITH lord 1500 SP | SkyWalker 1000 SP |

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77