Playing/Experimenting with my Steem Power

in #steemph5 years ago

image

These past few days I have been doing a lot of experiments with my SP. I am trying to understand how it works and how it will work for me. When I joined steemit, the convincing factor that reallh called my attention was that I will earn through blogging. Now I am already aware that people can indeed earn through their blogs but I also know that they has to establish themselves first in the blogging realm before they can see any returns.

image

But in steemit, it seems that even bloggers that are unsure of their niche - like me- could still earn. When I posted my introduceyourself post, I was shocked that there was some dollar amounts in the upvotes I received. I was told I could withdraw or invest those earnings. Making a withdrawal seemed an attractive choice but I didn't. I didn't invest it either. I didn't know what to do with it.

I learned that you have to have an SP of at least 60 so that your upvote would amount to 0.001. I'm not sure if thus si still true though. But I saved up until I reached that goal. Then I exceeded the target. That's the thing about saving up, once you start doing so, you ger addicted to it and then you increase your target again and again and again. I aimed for 100SP. Then for 150. Now, I'm aiming for 1000 SP.

image

Now that I have 150SP, I started playing with it. I started with the basic. I started following people on steemauto. This is one way to earn more SP. Through curation rewards. It is a given that we need to create quality content so we can earn SBD and SP through the upvotes but we could add more SP earnings if we vote for high caliber articles within the first 30 minutes of the post.

It will take a lot of time for you to see wich author writes amazing articles that earn big rewards but once you see that pattern in a steemian, follow them. To learn from them. And to earn from them. But I also use steemauto to support friends' posts. I earn from their posts too but I follow them because I love them. It's not all about the money, you know.

This has been my set up for quite some time. But with my 1000 SP goal, I need to do something a bit more aggressive. But not too aggressive. I don't want to lose the main reasons why I joined the patform. To learn how to blog and to gain new friends.

I asked around about delegation. I heard this is one way to earn more here. It's sort of like an investment. I would sacrifice some voting power so that I could earn some more. It's more like a bank actually. At first I didn't know which accountd to delegate to. I didn't knownhow it works.

image

This is a funny story actually, I looked for a community post that has a delegation link in it. And I delegated 20 SP (that was the lowest option in the post.) I didn't know if I would earn or what I would get from it but I wanted to give it a try. So I gave it a try. It looks like there was no harm done. So I tried it again. Then I found this delegation website. Now I am literally playing with my SP and my delegation.

I am more of a trial and error kind of person. I like to learn as I go. But before I try to break something, I make sure I know how to fix it. Most of the time I just go back from the start. Sort of like an undo or ctrl+z.

I am having fun while doing this. If I approached you during this whole experiment, I'd like to thank you so much for your patience in answering all of my questions. Please don't hate me for throwing more of my stupid questions at you. And be warned that there'll be more coming your way. Know that in my books, you will hold the record of Patiently answering all of Rome's silly and stupid inquiries.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥


image




Discord link

romeskie.png

Sort:  

wow..such an informative blog.. for me I am aiming for a 500sp when i decided to exchange my bitcoin savings into steempower. i have now around 190sp (hehehe still small). 100 of which i delegated it to smartsteem for an automatic upvoting.

and yes, as you have said...it's addicting especially if you are seeing a positive result, no matter how small it is.
=)

Posted using Partiko Android

You know what they say, every little bit counts. :-) Buti ka pa, you have bitcoin savings. I tried buying steem, for experiment purposes again, but I wasn't able to buy thay much. Hehe... Well, I guess I'll have to power up the long and tedious way. That's still fine with me. I love writing anyway. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76